Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-D807 / D806

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

3.54
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1234 5 678...13

Great looking paper weight

 

Feb 19, 2007 by p_dubs

When I first saw the Samsung phone, it was so striking that I just had to get it. The frustration of ownership soon outweighed any of its aesthetic qualities. I'm comparing my experience on this phone with the RAZR from Cingular. I would not dare to go on a road trip on this phone. Reception/signal strength of this phone in any settings is horrible. I estimated that 35% of my calls were dropped or unclear. In the event that I got a clear signal, the volume of the ear piece at it's maximum setting is not loud enough to hold a conversation if there is any background noise. It was extremely difficult to have a conversation while in a moving car even if the windows are up. Battery life is fine, but the display goes from full to 0 without giving much warning. I initially thought the phone was defective and Cingular replaced it with a new unit and the performance was consistent with the first handset.
Now the phone is nice to look at on my desk, the screen is so bright that it comes in handy if you ever need a flashlight, and it even takes great pictures. It does everythign a modern phone should except for making phone calls. I've already switched back to my RAZR until the new Nokia arrives.


Horrible Battery Life

 

Feb 19, 2007 by rhenry00

I really loved this phone when I 1st got it. It has some amazing features but some bad ones as well.

PROS:
-Loud Speakerphone
-Loud Ringtones & Call Volume
-Great mp3 Player (one of the best)
-Sleek look
-Huge Screen

Cons:
-Camera isnt up to par(very hard to use)
-Battery life is absolutely horrible..will not even last a full day and I rarely use the phone that much

If the battery life isnt up to par, then it is not a good phone for me.

AD       reviews continues below...


Great phone better than all my others

 

Jan 22, 2007 by Biggjohnson2k

This is the best phone i have owned so far bluetooth, mp3 player, bright and vibrant screen. Digital camera is great. Best of all the samsung phone suite is free on their web site. If you are looking for an all around good phone for a decent price.

Pros
1.3 MP Camera
Bright Screen
Bluetooth
MP3 Player
Slider (So you can feel like NEO)
Thin and Light

Cons
Battery could do a little better
shows finger prints and scratches bad


Great little phone.

 

Jan 17, 2007 by flapbreaker

This phone really has surprised me. For one the screen size is much larger than it appears at first. The color and clarity is superb. Probably the biggest surprise has been the various voice commands you can do. In the past I've had to record a contacts name and then when voice dialing I had to repeat exactly how I said it, usually with less than stellar results. With this phone you don't pre-record anything it just magically understands what you said with shocking accuracy. Secondly I just like the user interface. It's super easy to program the directional pad for various shortcuts. You can also easily assign various contacts to a speed dial number. The sound clarity seems good. I do agree that the signal strength might be a little on the weak side however I'm not dropping calls like I was on my Motorola V551


I like this phone so far.

 

Jan 17, 2007 by wolfen420

Pros:
-Slim
-Great screen!
-Slider
-Mp3 player
-Games
-Bluetooth (and other options)
-Camera with special effects (like emboss, sketch and so on. Very neat)
-Audio recorder!

Cons
-Slider does seem flimsy once in a while.
-Cap for power and other openings are cheap. You can probably live with out them if they do break off.
-Speaker phone a bit quieter then others.
-The clear key is a bit to close to the down arrow, somethings causing you to hit back by accident.

I just got this phone a couple of days ago and ive been very pleased with it.

I havnt had any of the hearing problems others have had aside from the speaker phone is a bit quiet compared to others ive had.

All in all this phone is very cool imo. If your not a heavy long phone talker and you charge your phone every night this phone shouldnt be a problem for you.


Excellent.... Trust me!

 

Jan 11, 2007 by Paulato26

I recently upgraded my old phone to the D807 and was very excited. I had been reading a lot about this phone on this site and was alittle weary about getting this phone. I was totally blown away by this phone within the first hour. All of the features that this phone offer is amazing. I read up on this phone a lot on this site and a lot of the con's I read have not arose with my phone. I think some people need to check their personal coverage checks through their service because I get perfect service with this phone. The volume could be somewhat louder but it is still very good. I do recommend this phone to anyone looking to upgrade or activate a new phone.


great phone

 

Jan 5, 2007 by becki228

I have had this phone since july of 06. I wasnt a big fan of samsung before this phone. I sell cell phones.i always recommend this one. i use every feature on this phone. I drop this phone all of the time and it hasnt broke yet.


Good looks but disappointed performance

 

Nov 30, 2006 by Mike O

The phone is a joy to hold and use, some querky things about the keyboard and menu but OK. But if you are serious about a cell phone then you would be making a big mistake buying the d807. Reception is lousy, people talk on their cell phones all around me and I can’t even get a signal, walk in any store and you are in trouble and the volume is so very quiet, talking and rings, but most of all is it’s battery life this is just out and out ridiculous. Five one minute calls and two days standby is just too short for any practical purposes. That is just standby time with five calls, did you read that five calls and very little warning that it is about to fail. I will be changing mine for something else not sure what yet. My cell phone company have been very good about trying to help me by changing my battery first then the phone but to no avail while the manufacturer has not given any reason or help.


soso

 

Nov 28, 2006 by hag1418

Well for starters, it is an alright phone. There are some features that could be better and there are some features that are just useless.

Pros:
- Perfect screen
- Slider
- Automatic keypad lock
- Very quick file transfer
- Battery Life is good
- Very slim design (i was shocked)

Cons:
- Keypad tones are very loud even on 1
- Doesn't come with USB cable or Memory
Card.
- Speakerphone is useless past volume 1
- Camera is not that much better than VGA
- Charging port
- Slippery keypad

Overall it is ok but i had to get a new one within one month because the screen went completely black and the speaker wouldn't work, but i think the first one that i bought was just a bad apple my new one is alright now.


Not really for teens...

 

Nov 7, 2006 by akeeela

Ok, So I bought the phone because it looked pretty nice, but for the most part, I wish I had my other phone back (Motorola v551)

PROS
-Nice camera
-Pretty good video (you can zoom)
-Ring tone volume is loud
-Memory is very big for photos, videos and ring tones
-Nice looking

CONS
-volume of the person on the other line SUCKS
You are SOL when you are near any type of noise and trying to talk on the phone
-When your volume is on, there is this annoying beep every time you touch a button. BAD FOR TEXT MESSAGING
-Can't personalize ring tone for incoming text messages
-uses t9 instead of iTAP, meaning you have to spell the WHOLE WORD instead of predictive finishing off
-Bluetooth is off. I can never find my friends when I want to send them pictures and ringtones.. and we will be standing right next to each other.
-Battery life kind of sucks if you plan to use java games and mp3 player, so buy that car charger and bring that portable wall charger

Page 1234 5 678...13

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2019 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.