Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC myTouch 3G / Magic

 

Info Photos News Forum  59 Reviews  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45

OS Upgrade Rendered Useless

 

May 5, 2011 by LaCereza

My husband bought one of these phones for each of us in Oct 2010. Within 3 months, the OS was upgraded to 2.1 and both phone processors couldn't handle it at all. Now, less than a year later, we're looking at spending upwards of a grand to get two new phones that don't crash all the time when asked to do simple tasks.

Epic failure for TMobile, HTC and Google. In the future, minimum hardware specs should be considered when pushing firmware upgrades.


on the wya

 

Dec 10, 2010 by victor15968

i just ordered mine to use on at&t
played with one at a tmobile store and was sold. got it off ebay unlocked via htc.
best 200 bucks ever spent. finally getting rid of my treo 680.

AD       reviews continues below...


Amazing!

 

Oct 5, 2010 by Britbratxxnicole

This phone is nearly perfect for me! I have the T-Mobile version unlocked to AT&T and rooted, so I can't say much about the software. But the hardware is very sturdy and the Camera is pretty good! I love it!


It Stinks!!!

 

Aug 5, 2010 by ilovesmiles02

After a while of debating On June 30th I finally decided to fork out the money for a My Touch. Everyone at the store said "it is the greatest phone you will ever own." I wish I would have walked out. From the moment I started it up, I have had nothing but problems. I can't take pictures, because it keeps asking me for an SD card, even though it is in there, my pictures that I do have I cant see, because they are blacked out and it wont let me send picture messages because my pics get blacked out. I have received 2 replacements and both have done the same thing. CS told me to change the SD card, restart the phone, format the SD card, reset the phone, and other technical support tricks, but finally I told them, "I am done with this phone!" I am getting a Moto Cliq XT as the replacement. I hope it is better than the My Touch....

P.S. The only Pros to this phone is the Apps and WEB.


Better than the rest...

 

Feb 9, 2010 by sammy4455

I have to say with this phone I really do like it more than others. I've had the Behold previously and loved it but this really tops it.

Pros
-Screen
-Apps
-Battery is better than I expected
-ease of use

Cons
-it will lock up on me and that drives me insane but its not that often. Its' made me more patient to be honest.

Apps really make the phone so with that said the only issue is when the phone locks up on me.


Great Battery. No UMA

 

Jan 22, 2010 by bsf

This is not a bad phone.

Pros
Battery time - using push email, wifi and moderate talk, battery easily lasts all day.
Camera - eventhough only 3.2 mega pixel compared to 5 for the behold and clique. the camera actually takes pretty good pics for a phone.
Apps - tons of free apps.
Call clarity is excellent
Reception is good; not great

Cons
No UMA
keyboard orientation slow to switch
slow to load apps but once loaded pretty fast
Native Exchange client only does email. Need to pay extra and download Touchdown for real exchange sync
Contacts cannot be organized by last name; first name only


Underated Phone!

 

Jan 20, 2010 by chazrjr

I got the phone back in October...I was having issues with my service..T-mo practically GAVE me this device to stay with them..I agreed...and I am glad I stayed..Now to the phone; Looks good, feels good, very elaborate packaging that it comes with...I had never used a touch-screen and I was apprehensive if I could get used to it....I downloaded another keyboard and I have no problem and I have big hands and fingers too..The apps are sick and a big majority are FREE...It does sometime lag when it changes screen orientation, but nothing is perfect..call quality is excellent and here in South Florida, the 3G is really fast..overall I think this is a great phone for sure!! I do reccomend it to those who may be on the fence of buying a touch-screen...and lastly the build quality seems really good too..enjoy


amazing!

 

Jan 14, 2010 by kaustic187

Amazing phone, htc scored huge. My roommate has the moto cliq and after really comparing the mytouch is way faster and less buggy.

Pros:
Responsive
Memory, has more internal memory than most android devices, which of course means more apps
Does absolutely everything I could think to use it for, and if it doesn't there's an app for that lol.

Cons:
No camera button.
No flash for the camera.
No headphone Jack, I dig the adapter, turns any headphone to a handsfree device but can't listen to music while charging unless via phone speakers. At least the phone speakers are pretty damn good.

I absolutely love it!


MY TOUCH 3G (THE UNKNOWN)

 

Jan 9, 2010 by Ryan T-MOB

As a Sales Agent for T-Mobile, there are hidden specs about the My Touch 3G the commen person does not know about.
As most people know, the slogan for the phone is: "100% You" Which is pretty true.
Do you (the Consumer) like to shop? Well tell you what, built inside the Camera is a Barcode Scanner. Meaning if you see a Plasa TV at Target you want but are not to sure about the price pull out you're My Touch...scan the Barcode, Google will tell you a different price (which will be lower)at a different location within a 15 mile radius.
You can also program the My Touch to have LIVE Webcam feeds. EX: if you want a Live Image of Wrigley Field during Baseball Season, so be it...if you want a Live Webcam feed of the Eiffel Tower at night time...so be it.
You can program the phone to have Wigets that go along with the busy day you work with. EX: Wake up, with a workout wiget, go to work with an office wiget, go to sleep with a "use your imagination" wiget!
Retail price at T-Mobile will be around 400 not including Equipment taxes, get it for 149.99 with a 24 MO agreement!
IF YOU WANT A GOOD PHONE, GET THE MYTOUCH...NOT THE NEXUS ONE. IF YOU LOOK AT THE SPECS ON EACH PHONE, THE ONLY THING THAT'S REALLY DIFFERENT IS THE NEXUS HAS FULL COLOR AND A 5.0 MP CAM VS. THE MY TOUCHS' 3.0.


myTouch = Nice!

 

Jan 1, 2010 by plrubin

Overal a very nice device...

PROS:
-Droid OS
-Speakers are quality
-Screen is very nice with excellent res
-Google Navigation saves me daily
-lightweight, compact, not bulky

CONS:
-Lots of lag, especially when closing out of apps that use up a lot of memory
-buit in keyboard not that response at times
-no 3.5mm
-cheap case > need to buy a case for your myTouh for sure!

I went from the G1 to the myTouch and I think I actually miss my G1. However, the myTouch is a great device and I love any Android based device.

Page 12 3 45

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2020 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.