Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC myTouch 3G / Magic

 

Info Photos News Forum  59 Reviews  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1234 5 

Satisfied

 

Aug 20, 2009 by Sterling65

I'm coming from a WM5 Wizard.. just wanted to get that in there up front.

Pros:
>Camera.. works great for me.. extras like zoom, white balance and templates are available in the app store.
>Screen.. nice color and responsive to MYtouch. I've got large thumbs and still have no issues.
>Build Quality.. phone feels solid and looks good.
>Phone.. I like the contact lists (there is a faves list as well). The dialer screen is large and easy. I do wish it would pull suggestions from my contact list as I dial (maybe an app for that). Sound quality on both ends of a call are good.
>Service is good.. no dropped calls. 3G is spotty but I don't rely on it much.. mainly WIFI.

Cons:
>Battery.. I get a full day of moderate to heavy usage and its 15% or less remaining charge. I can see extra battery and charging cradle that the WM5 didn't need coming up.
>Ringer.. The sound is very clear but not loud enough.

Uncertain:
>POP3 email is proving to be near impossible to set up. I haven't read enough to say if its just me being difficult yet.

Overall, very nice phone.

Is it the elusive "IPhone Killer"?
Who cares? It's a good phone for keeping connected to the rest of the world.
Use whichever phone suits you and be happy!


MyTouch over G1

 

Apr 28, 2010 by bassitup

i got this phone today after having the G1 and i like it alot better. Great phone. Love the Swype.

AD       reviews continues below...


It Suckes

 

Oct 16, 2009 by lilyane68

I had the phone for 3days now and it sucks
keyboard to small to write and I'm a girl lil fingers cant even load things from my memory card , wallpaper have to crop it ,whats up with the textin send send a text u have to write in the person name or number you cant even look for it.i hate the phone i like my behold


Love it!!

 

Aug 9, 2009 by AngelNDaHvns

I received my myTouch a week and 2 days before it went on national sale. Although I had the G1 before, I instantly fell in love.

Pros:
Battery life is almost 2 as long as with my G1 (I still use it the exact same way)
Screen is more vibrant
it's lighter than my G1
I was able to re-download all of my apps that I had paid for with out having to be charged again

Cons:
No external camera button
that's the only con


what a waste......

 

Aug 10, 2009 by AnthonyQ

this phone has a lot of hype built into it amd nice style but overall quiality is not there.

if you have t mobile and live in the southern areas you do not get any 3g speed so the internet is slow and makes the phone pretty much worthless. it does get 3 points for style though. good job t mobile and your limited network.


mytouch g3 android

 

Nov 14, 2009 by guyjohnson

Yes,, it has bells and whistles,, without a bluetooth,, this phone and like almost all cell phones have ZERO noise canceling. Its pretty amazing how not ONE company "Tmobile-AT&T and so on,, ever mentioning the MOST IMPORTANT aspect of using a mobile phone.... the microphone!!! I wonder if some phones have any kind of adjust ment on background noise? Bottom line folks, you DO use them to talk?? Why is it there is no CHOICE and nothing ever discussed about what type of microphone OR noise canceling these phone have? After purchasing the Mytouch I basically had to apologize to my family to why the background noise was so bad while I drove in my car or if anyone near me was talking, Yes I had to go buy the 130+ dollar Jawbone prime ~ (after 14 days- too late to take the phone back) I didn't know how bad my background noise was. I have wanted to write about this for a long time,, maybe others feel like I do about this ?


Not expected

 

Aug 13, 2009 by casserole

I was very excited to get this phone.
so when i turned it on and did the setup only to find that it froze up multiple times and i would touch a certain area to enter text and it would not respond.

the keyboard is horrible, i had to use my pinky's and i have small hands being a girl.
sometimes i would press delete and it would enter a "c" it did not spell anything i had correctly.

within having it for a day i returned it to get the g1.

would not recommend paying more then 50 for such a bad phone.
some aspects where okay but the Internet, camera and keyboard where horrible.


Yawn

 

Aug 12, 2009 by anubus32

I have the G1, mainly for the development of apps and I like the use of the keyboard at times. But, I bounce between that and my iPhone thats on T-mo's network..

This phone is, for all intense and purposes, the same as the G1 minus the keyboard, upping the memory a bit... Oh, and you get Sherpa... Odd trade off, and not one that I would have personally gone with.....

I used it for a week, and took it back after doing my evaluation.

I really had wished that T-mo USA would have followed with something more impressive such as the HTC Hero, like their European branch had. I think it would have made a larger "splash". But, a Google contract is a google contract I guess.

Pros:

Slimmer design over the G1
Decent virtual keyboard.
Improved onboard storage vs. G1
Pretty colors ! ( sarcasm )
Decent sound quality on phone and BT headset.
Strong 3g reception ( in my area at least. )

Cons:

Battery life still needs some work. Not all that bad though.
Slow processor and low memory made for a bottle-neck when multitasking more than 3 apps.
Lack of bluetooth voice dialing
Only 3mp camera
No 3.5 mil headphone jack

 
Page 1234 5 

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2020 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.