Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola V260 / V262

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

3.09
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 12345 6 7

good phone

 

Jul 22, 2005 by Desman

this is a great phone but i only gave it a 4 because the battery life is to short and when I got the phone i heard a ticking noise that sounds like a clock but i figured out it was the timer on the call which sucks because you have to turn it off to get the annoying ticking noise to stop other then that the screen is a little small but all around a good phone signals great so over all if you don't mind those 3 things the get this phone


Love this phone

 

Jun 16, 2005 by katlong68

I love this phone. I wanted a good flip phone with out a camera, and this one fits the bill.
Con's
The ring tones that come with it are ok, but you can add better ones.
I have had it for just at three months, and the speaker for the ringer and speaker phone has a short in the wire, ie.. Sometimes it rings some times it doesn't.
Pro's
When the speaker was working the rings are loud and easy to hear. Also I love using the speaker phone it gives me the ability to have my husband listen to and participate the conversation while we are together, very important when running your own business.
Love the voice dial/name dial, when you have a large address book this makes calling someone simple.

AD       reviews continues below...


It is what it is

 

Apr 1, 2005 by Jtf727

V260 For Verizon Wireless Southern New England

This phone is a great choice for anyone looking for a Tri-mode phone without a camera. Works with all the standard V series accessories. A more basic phone, but still has great features

Pros
Good Quality Speaker Phone
Obey me moto works great
Reversed outside display looks sharp
Good Build quality
Clean look
Good Reception
Good Ear piece sound quality
Can answer and end calls with flip closed if using a headset
Can restrict incoming calls

Cons
Screen is small and hard to read in bright light
Keypad sensor determines when to light the keypad often turns keypad lights off mixed light (sitting in front of a computer or TV in a dark room)

Everyone has a preference on phones, and carriers, I love LG products, but this MOTO is noteworthy


V262 Alltel

 

Mar 18, 2005 by redpanther

Love it!!
Great reception, good audio.
Battery life pretty good.

Blows away Cingular GSM phone (V551) I tried.


interesting story

 

Mar 17, 2005 by mentul77

I got this phone when radio shack first started carrying it in November. I have loved it. I didn't need the camera so it wasn't worth the extra $50 to me so this phone was a great deal.

Everything worked wonderfully until about the past week.

Last week my phone started having more static than usual, thought it was just where I was (even though I'd never had a problem before and had great signal strength). The problem would come and go. The static wasn't so bad on my end but whoever I was speaking to could only hear every few words.

I called Verizon cust. serv. to see where I could get the phone checked out since the actual Verizon stores only carried the V265. They told me to take it there anyway and if they couldn't fix it they would give me a loaner and send it in. Well, I thought I would see if it got any better before going to that trouble.

It never got better, I called Customer Service one more time to make sure it wasn't a tower issue because I loved this phone and didn't want to have to be without it if possible. They couldn't hear me and asked for a callback number, had them call back on my fiancee's V60s (also VW) and it was crystal clear. She told me it was definitely the phone and to take it in.

Got to the store, the tech had just gone to lunch so the Customer Service guy was doing all the tech work too. He said that since they sent me there even though they don't carry that phone he wasn't going to make me go through the hassle of having a huge brick of a loaner phone while he sent it in so he just traded me for the V265. I haven't had any problems and can now sit on my bed and have a conversation again!

FYI - It is most likely not normal for them to trade up like that, don't go in expecting it if you do have trouble. I just wanted to share my story and let everyone know how pleased I was not only with the phone but with the Customer Service I got from Verizon.

I love the V260 & V265!


Great Phone

 

Jan 17, 2005 by ashley12589

I had this phone for a little over a month and i love it, i think it looks very nice. It has a large phone book and is very easy to use. Many people dont like the itap mode but if you kno how to use it it is very helpful. Also you can buy soft touch covers and change it out from the blue one it comes with. The ringtones are good and easily heard, the speaker phone is also very good. It has a vibrant color screen and it has animations for wallpaper, i would recommend this phone to anyone!


it's okay

 

Jan 10, 2005 by sienna_nebraska

This phone is okay, although i have had problems with mine. sometimes it wont let me recieve messages or will shut itself off randomly, although better that the audiovox phone i had still not the best. that is about the only bad thing about the phone, i admit it is annoying but the signal is great and its easy to customize to fit your individual personality.


Good design but bad OS

 

Sep 28, 2005 by imdylbert

I just received this phone from my insurance company as a replacement for my LG LX5550 which was starting to have problems with sound and screen. I like the design of the v262. It feels physically solid and has great aesthetic design. The screen is fairly vibrant and i must say i like the "inverted color" look of the external display. Unfortunately, Motorola has absolutely no idea how to design a friendly phone operating system. They would do well to take lessons from LG and Nokia on that. I greatly dislike the limited system options and the message viewer. To expound on the "limited system options", it is rather convoluted to change the background picture, and i cannot seem to find a way to turn off the startup and shut down sounds. I just can't wait to get rid of this phone and replace it with the Nokia 6255i, as soon as US Cellular approves it on their network.

If you are thinking of getting this phone and are used to a Nokia or LG phone, i would say look elsewhere because you will be frustrated. If you are new to phones, this might work for you as it is a solid phone.

For some perspective on my judgement of operating systems, I am a computer support professional and the use of electronic devices comes nearly as naturally as breathing to me. If I find something unintuitive and irritating, it's from experience and valid comparison with other things.


Great phone!!

 

Aug 9, 2005 by sy777

This is the very first time I can say that I love my phone. Great reception and it looks cool, too. My only four qualms are: (1) the short time the battery holds the charge,(2) one can't have the date displayed on the external or internal screens, (3) it can't be set to answer after a predetermined number of rings, and (4) the vibration alert could be stronger. That said, I'd recommend it with no reservations.


External Antenna NOT

 

Jul 22, 2005 by jghat5309

I live in a rural area, signal from the tower is some times problematic. I put up an external antenna on the roof long ago. Even though you can buy a cord adapter in the accessories places on line DO NOT use it.

Another user writes about major problems using it well there will be. Seems the port on the back of the phone is NOT for an antenna it's a test port and some how by plugging in the antenna to it things go from worse to bad.

The carrier replaced 2 of the phones for me. I only tried the external antenna recently.

I think the phone is great but not durable.

PROS:
Size
Quality of sound and features

CONS
Weak battery life
No external antenna provision

Page 12345 6 7

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2019 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.