Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola V400

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Average Ratings

3.4
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1...111213 14 15

stupid phone

 

Aug 24, 2004 by bluecivicsi1

this has to be the worst phone ever why?

-because after 1 week i had this phone, one time it turned off by itself!
-also my phone wouldnt even turn on! so i had to buy a new battery...


This phone sucks

 

Apr 20, 2004 by phonesweetie

This phone is a piece of crap just like all of the other motorola's. I know people that have gone through four of these phones in a month. Not just one person, but three different people going through four different phones. I would not recommend this phone to my worst enemy.

AD       reviews continues below...


The Phone that I once loved is falling apart!

 

Apr 8, 2006 by massageboy24

I live in a major us city so I have never had a problem with reception. This particular phone however is a different story. There are only a few certain places in my home that I can make a call, and many weak areas throughout the city. Other people with GSM phones on the same network never have the problems that I do with reception.
Aside from that the earpeice volume is so low all the time. I'm not stupid, I know how to turn the volume up but sometimes its very heard to hear who is at the other end. I also notice that during a call sometimes the volume will drop significantly and I have to turn on the speaker phone to continue the conversation.
Many times I have received a voice mail without the phone ever ringing and again it is not the network.
The outside casing has held up quite well because I am very good to my phone, however, when in the "closed" position the buttons scuff and scratch the screen up pretty good. I know it's the buttons doing it because the marks on the screen are the same shape as the buttons.
The side buttons are very annoying as well. Many times I have unknowingly turned the ringer to silent thus missing phone calls. Plus there is a very loud chirp when ever those buttons are pressed that seems to frighten everyone around me when they hear it.
The camera phone sucks. I know its not intended to be professional quality but I cant even make out who is in the pictures half of the time and I clean out my lens often.
Overall I am not very satisfied with this model and would never again make the mistake of using this phone. I can't wait to replace this phone, 15 months was way too long to deal with this piece of junk. I am replacing it with the Samsung a670. I have heard nothing but good things about that phone and have hopes that it will work out much better for me.


Poop

 

Nov 24, 2005 by kmryan

I have had this phone for almost 2 yrs. The only reason I kept it was I needed to wait until I was able to upgrade (on fixed income due to disability). I had this phone changed out 5 times with the last being given a new one not refurbished. I was offered a different phone but I had purchased a hands free unit worth $60. and wanted to get the most use of it. The signal is horrible. I live in So Florida and travel to PA several times a year. While in PA I have trouble in the house I stay. Before I got this phone I had a Nokia and had no problem with reception. With this one I have to go outside to make or receive calls. The other problem after approx 11 - to 15 minutes on the phone it just dropped me with no warning. Cingular tried many things to try to get the phone to work to no avail. The only reason I am giving this phone a 3.0 is I liked the size and ease of use with menus etc. I too didn't like not able to merge the phone and Sim phone book. I would never recommend this phone nor buy another Motorola simply because I've heard problems with a lot of their other models even though some people this they are great. I just can't take the chance.


SO FAR SO GOOD

 

Nov 20, 2004 by kimmaddie

I've owned this phone for about 2 weeks and so far I really haven't had any problems with it. The only thing that I don't like about this phone is that i can not activate speakerphone until I am connected.(If anyone knows how to do otherwise, please let me know=)....) Overall i am very satisfied with it.


Excited at first but so disappointed!

 

Oct 4, 2004 by cell94

I loved all my previous Nokia phones but finally decided to try a fancy flip phone. I bought all the accessories right away. I have had this phone for 13 days too long. Because I had Nokia before I know that dropped calls and poor signals are not Cingular's fault. I have missed phone calls because the ringer is too low to hear while in my purse. The highest volume setting is probably a 3 on my Nokia phone. So I thought I will just wear the phone. That did not solve the problem. Calls were not coming in but instead going right to voice mail. Calls in locations where I used to get with my Nokia I was not getting with this v400. When I was able to hear someone they kept coming in and out. I am so disappointed. The phone is beautiful with some pretty neat features but I bought the phone to make calls not surf the net.
Pros:
Small
love the camera feature (but not necessary)
love the music ringtones
love the time and caller on outside
easy to figure out without manual
- I was afraid it would take getting used to being that I was so used to Nokia's programming

Cons:
Hate the small buttons on the side that kept getting pushed- I would beep when I was just picking up the phone
Did not hold a charge - had to charge every day/other day
80 % of calls ended in dropped calls- had to call back and apologize just to get dropped again Ugh!
Missed calls while wearing the phone- now that is unacceptable- calls went right to voice mail

I am off to a Cingular store to exchange this phone before the 15 days are up. I wish I had a better story. I had to submit a review for those contemplating this phone.
It is a beautiful phone but beware. Maybe I just got a bad one. Good Luck! I am in Northeast Texas.


PHONE IS TERRIBLE

 

Apr 4, 2006 by Lighthouselvr064

Was stuck in a 2 yr contract with phone and has been changed by insurance company thinking it would get rid of problems. DIDN'T!!!

NO RECEPTION
DROPS CALLS ALOT
SHUTS OFF WHENEVER IT FEELS LIKE IT
SCREEN WOULD SCRAMBLE SO YOU COULDN'T READ ANYTHING SO HAD TO TAKE OUT BATTERY AND SIM CARD TO FIX
VERY LOW CALL VOLUME AND IS ALL THE WAY UP
SAYS EMERGENCY ONLY ALOT
CAN'T GET CALLS TO GO THROUGH EVEN WHEN I DO HAVE SERVICE
SAYS NO SERVICE EVEN WHEN I AM SUPPOSE TO HAVE SERVICE
EVEN WHEN USING THE PHONE IF IT FELT LIKE SHUTTING OFF IT WOULD AND EVEN IF FULLY CHARGED
MORE OF A HEADACHE TRYING TO MAKE CALLS THAN IT'S WORTH

These phones are terrible. Paid alot of money for them and it was definitely NOT worth the money at all. RUN if one is offered to you!


One of the Best

 

Feb 8, 2006 by RobertGp26

I've had this phone for a while. It does what it intends to do plus a little extra.

PROs:
-Solid, well built
-Good camera
-Large screen
-Good games
-Can play MP3 ringtones
-Loud speaker phone
-Holds battery charge well

CONs:
-Bad reception (Cingular - Tampa Bay)
-Can't really hear who is talking to you (a headset usually fixes that though)

I am getting a Morotola Razr V3 soon...I will miss this phone.


Stay away from this phone!

 

Jan 8, 2006 by usagirly78

This is the worst cell phone I've EVER owned! Don't buy it. I don't even think they sell it anymore, but if they do, DON'T. It drops calls every 15 minutes or so. The reception is horrid! Mine dies every time I shut it. I'm going this week to buy the Sony Ericsson z520a. I've heard excellent things about that phone. Those who have had a great experience with the Moto v400 are extremely lucky. I'm not the only one who will tell you that. Blah! I hate it!


I Hate This Phone

 

Nov 20, 2005 by GreggNJ

I got this phone from my carrier Cingular as an upgrade (more like a downgrade). This phone is the worst I've ever had. Before this I've had nothing but Nokias. I'm not the type to get fancy phones, so I always just get whatever phone the carrier gives me for free or cheap. I've never hated a phone as much as this one.

PROS: I've found the camera to be decent as far as cheap/entry model camera phones goes.

CONS: Reception is pretty poor.
Voice clarity is poor.
Volume even at highest setting is not loud at all.
Side button for changing ring style (ring,vibe,silent) gets pressed on its own when in your pocket. So it can change to silent without you knowing and you can miss calls.
Keypad delay is HORRIFFIC. Takes up to 3 seconds for phone to register a key you just pressed. That is very very annoying.
Switching to speaker takes a very long time, probably because of the crappy keypad.
Battery life is HORRIFFIC, this may be due to other factors, such as the external display turning on by itself for no apparent reason.
Long start up. Takes a couple of minutes for phone to be ready after you turn it on.

Needless to say, I really hate this phone. I had it for over a year and can't wait to get rid of it. My brother also has this phone, and he has the same complaints. I think it may have recieved decent reviews from owners who just got it, as both me and my brother were impressed at first. But after a few months, it's all down hill from there. I was much more satisfied with the cheap Nokias I got from cingular in the past, which I got for free ironically.

Page 1...111213 14 15

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2020 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.