Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Glyde U940

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

2.62
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456...10

Decent

 

Jun 30, 2008 by Conorhails

This is an overall good phone with many pros and a few cons.

Pros:
-Excellent display (crisp screen)
-Touchscreen dial pad
-Menu feature
-Hard button to return home
-2.0 megapixel camera
-Screen lock button (so u dont have to wait the 7 seconds)
-Multiple sensitivity levels

Cons:
-Buttons in the bottom right hand portion of the screen tend to be non responsive
-Calendar is not organized according to time of event (organized in order that you enter event)
-!!!!!NOT COMPATIBLE WITH THE AMERICA"S CHOICE PLAN *1

*1- This phone was sold to me under the impression that it would work fine with my current plan. However, I was greatly mislead and later on informed that data could not be transfered on this phone if i had the America's choice plan. What a piece of [...]! I'm returning mine soon

Ed. note: removed profanity


Good Phone; Bad Reviews

 

Jun 16, 2008 by OBXGuy

OK, so the Glyde isn't the iPhone... duh. I could tell you that in a second, but for a concise small, touchscreen phone it gets the job done. After a could weeks of play, I can seem peoples concerns with the touch interface. After tweaking the sensitivity settings, I've had minimal issues with the interface. It's gotten a little buggy now and then, but no more so than many other non-touch devices. The UI is cool (albeit still the Verizon interface), with a few of the samsung flavors. I could care less about Mobile TV. It's not offered in my area and I'm never sitting anywhere long enough to watch a TV program on my cell phone. Call me old fashioned but on a business trip I'd used my laptop... but I digress.

The new VZ Navigator looks great on this widescreen. Clear and easy to understand. Texting is a breeze on the qwerty, and I have medium-large sized hands. I personally like the full HTML browser. There IS a zoom folks, and the network speed is quick enough to reload fast.

In the Piedmont region of NC the call quality and clarity is what I've come to expect from Verizon, excellent. No matter how many other "cool" phones come out on other networks, being able to actually talk to someone is still the reason I have service. Sitting in my house I have 4 bars 1x and 3 bars EVDO.

Pros
- HTML browser
- qwerty keyboard
- "cool" factor
- 2 MP camera w/flash
- fun interface
- good call quality

Cons
- sometime buggy in the corners interface
- charger port is on the side near the top (weird location, awkward)
- battery time could be better

Advertisements       reviews continues below...


zoom

 

May 13, 2008 by BigSho

Those looking to Zoom in the HTML browser..USE THE VOLUME ROCKER KEYS TO ZOOM IN AND OUT!!!!!!


Not That Great

 

Mar 22, 2011 by npbrat29

I have had some problems with this phone but i have also loved it at other times.I have had this phone for 2 years and i have used 2 different phones of it.

Pros:
small,easy to carry
taking pics works well

Cons:
freezes
turns off sometimes when trying to save a picture from inbox
hard to figure out
touch screen is very off
have to charge alot


Stay Far AWAY!

 

Dec 22, 2010 by narn3049

My gf owned this phone, and it broke 3 times. It restarted occasionally, and the slider broke within 2 months of the last replacement, and she had to get 3 different chargers because they contstantly stopped charging the phone.

She has the Droid, INCREDIBLE now and she is happy that she has a reliable one


Samsung Disappointment

 

Aug 28, 2009 by BookGoddes

This phone looks great on paper, well till you look up the reviews on it. We have had it for over a year and have worked with verizon to try and fix the many issues. Sadly as my military husband is apt to say, you can not polish a turd. The software upgrades other than taking hours out of our day to go and get them done are useless. Verizon will not replace them either.

The screen OFTEN does not respond. Sometimes though it responds too well, such as when I was outside working on my laptop and the wind blew and my phone dialed the first person on the contact list... joy.

Not to mention the time I was trying to add a contact and as the screen did not respond correctly, deleted all my contacts. Joy

The picture and the camcorder are useless as well. Very disappointed in this phone.


Nice Phone

 

Aug 20, 2009 by Timberwolf79

Pros
easy to download songs to
nice speaker sounds crisp
flash for camera
touch screen is responsive

Cons
Small
letters on keyboard close together

I enjoy this phone it is a nice touchscreen phone for people with small hands. However, you can use this phone with bigger hands it just is slower. The touch screen is nice and bright and the responsive is very good. I have not had it very long but I do like it.


In 6 years of experience, NEVER seen a WORSE phone.

 

Aug 13, 2009 by tc2nv

Please, If you are looking to buy a used phone..I urge you to not buy this phone. Even if someone was to pay me $50.00, I would not attempt to use this phone again. For a phone that you need to utilize the touch screen for it to work, the touch screen only works 1% of the time. I have been in this industry for a while now, and I have seen my share of interesting phones. To even say I would prefer using the LG c1300 over this phone would be an understatement. There are no PROS to this phone, only a very long list of CONS. Though, if you have a lot of patience and have been searching for something that will test your patience, use this phone.


worthless

 

Jul 30, 2009 by kimxxchi

I've never come across a phone with so many problems and have them solved with even more problems. Touch screen technology is wasted on this phone. I got the firmware update like others, and found, like others, that it didn't fix anything involving the actual main problem which is the touch screen. there's no way around getting to whatever you need to do (make a call, text a message, etc.) without using the screen. I just feel terrible for whoever bought a data plan with this phone.

pros:
- qwerty is simple and accessed by sliding

cons:
- touch screen is faulty (a euphemism).
- ALL underlying problems are based off of the messed-up screen.
- the battery cover comes off too easily.


not as bad as people are saying

 

Jul 25, 2009 by swsean

Ok, I have to stick up for this phone. I've had it for three months and I really like it. It has it's learning curve, but it's no where near as bad as everyone is saying it is. Or maybe I just got lucky and got one of the few ones that doesn't have problems. Either way, I am really happy with it. I text a lot and I love that I can text with one hand, or slide it open and write a longer message.

Pros:
-choice of qwerty keyboard or touchpad
-good, well rounded phone

Cons:
-vibrate is weak
-lot of clicking around to get to things (but you eventually get the hang of it)

Page 12 3 456...10

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2022 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.