Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola E815 / E816 Hollywood

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.06
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1...343536 37 38

Disappointment.

 

Apr 16, 2006 by zachplaysguitar5

For me, the things that are most important to me is cool features, and call clarity. This phone has excellent calls, I've never had one dropped. Everything that has to do with making calls is great. For everything else...it just plain sucks.

Pros

-Good call clarity/reception

-Speakerphone is good/can be used when closed

-Inside screen looks nice

-Excellent battery life

Cons
-Hardly customizable at all

-Outside screen may as well not be there it has the worst resolution/clarity of any phone out today

-Wallpaper must me same for outside and inside screen

-mp3 player is terrible

-No outside controls for mp3 player

-
Camera takes very low quality pictures especially for boasting 1.3 megapixels

-flash is almost nonexistent

-vibration is not noticeable at all

-no vibrate AND ring feature

-ring volumes are too low

-iTap is very much inferior to T9

-text messages cannot be read on outside screen

-Video quality is terrible

-Banner can be like 2 letters long (trivial but important to me)

-Ring style easily changes in your pocket (it's been set to vibrate but changes and rings in the middle of class in my pocket)

-large

-text messaging is very annoying and slow (it asks what number you want to send to when REPLYING to a previous message!)

Conclusion: Do not get this phone if you care about anything beyond calls. It has very little cool features and the features it does have lack quality. If you want a phone that actually is worth the money get the LG vx8100. Its cheaper, smaller, has way more features and is way better looking.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Poor headset jack performance

 

May 31, 2006 by cmv96

Bought this phone after doing extensive research. Using the wired 2.5mm headset jack is important to me due to heavy business use. However, the built-in headset jack is a piece of junk. I experienced roller-coaster sound when listening, and voice messages sounded garbled.
Switching to a LG 8300 or 8100.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


its alright

 

Mar 14, 2006 by moto777911

This phone is pretty good .

Pros:
*plays mp3
*battier life is good
*easy to text on
*good pics(not good if u want them as back ground

Cons
*charger sucks
*freezes up have to take out battier
*mp3 menu sucks
*front screen and back ground have to be the same
*scratches easily where u flip it open
*vibrates very soft
*vcast is differt then on other phones
*when pic set as back ground its blurried

i would take this phone back in a heart beat if they would let me

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good So Far

 

Oct 20, 2005 by N3077U

Pro...phone works ok.Only had it a week.

Con.Cannot transfer PHONE BOOK to Lexus Nav System..(Verizon Customer)Does work for receiving calls and sending calls however.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


And now the final review of the e815 the only one that is RIGHT!

 

Jul 26, 2008 by truthReviewsafter2years

I'm an everyday joe who does not care what image my phone projects to others, I don't have fancy add-ons not even a wired hands free device just my phone and my hands. or play with firmware, or basically playing with the phones program to "tweak" it. No other cables have been plugged into this phone but the charger. I use my phone everyday and have for the last 23 months. I read all the original reviews from when the phone was new and the latest and greatest. WHY did I give the phone a 2.0 I'll save you time and tell you the WORST part about this phone.
The phones charger connection (plug receptacle) to the phones board is a huge mistake on the part of Motorola. The design makes the actual solder points snap off. You have to plug it in with a surgeons steady hand and lay it on a pillow and not touch it till its charged. Drop lightly with the plug in and SNAP, Your dog steps on it in the car SNAP.
The phone gets a 2.0 because a phone that can't charge or even get power from the plug to make a call is a worthless phone. I will not work. This problem makes even talking about the other features pointless. It was a bad phone and all of them should have been replaced. SO the need for a list of pros and cons is pointless.
I read reviews are suppost to be "nice" this is a nice review.
All cell phones should have a durable charge plug and a battery that will last at least 2 years. Many cell phones have a middle man problem and thats the control chip in the phone that controls how long the battery is actually charged among other important things related to battery charging.
This is the first phone since the brick I have ever had problems with. Every phone I every had I still have and they all worked well till each phones retirement. This phone is loosing its pension and being tossed in the garbage. No other person should have to go Thieu with what I had to go thru.. 5 e815's in total in just shy of 2 years. All suffered from complete charging system failure.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


WORST PHONE EVER

 

Jun 4, 2008 by ryanbromlow

This is the worst phone ever! This phone is a defect! It has the worst batt life and is horrible! I hate this phone and everything on it! Although now I have the V3M RAZR I am in love with this phone! It is the best phone I have owned 4 phones and this is the best RAZR EVER!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I LUV MI NEW PHONE 4 AMPD BETTER DEN DA RAZOR((call me crazy!))

 

Apr 2, 2007 by Dfool12

OMG I GOT DIS PHONE 1 MONTH AGO N ALREADY IM IN LUV QIT IT! LET ME TELL U DA PROS N CONS BOUT DIS PHONE!

PROS: WELL FIRST DI PHONE IS SUPER LOUD LIKE LOUDER DEN BOOST!((call me crazy!))

U CAN WATCH LIVE CONCERTS ON DIZ PHONE 4 AMPD TV SHOW N VIDEO CLIPS!

U CAN RECORD VIDEO UP 2 5 MINS! MuCH BETTA DEN DOZ OTHER PHONEZ!

TH3 DOWNLOADZ R SO FAST!

ITZ MUCH BETTER DEN VERIZIONS PHONE!

CONS

NONE SO FAR I LUV DIZ PHONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just me?

 

Dec 29, 2006 by 821

It's hard to give this phone a good review, seeing as though it's my fourth e815 in about a month. When the phone works, it's incredible and I love it, but the thing dies and refuses to take a charge and doesn't turn on. It's really hard to enjoy the thing when it won't turn on. I have let the phone completely die for four cycles before I charge it, but that's as far as I've gotten. It sucks because I haven't dropped it or anything! To make matters worse, my wife has the same phone ans hers works flawlessly. Based on my experience thus far, I would save yourself the headache and get something else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Short and Simple review

 

Nov 30, 2006 by LayLay12

This phone is cool, its not a Razor or anything but its cool

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Clunky Contact List

 

Jun 8, 2006 by Cell-ery

I love this phone, except for the one thing that makes me hate it.

The contact list is set up in such a way that you must have a separate entry for each phone number, not each contact. That means that, if Fred Smith has Cell, Home, and Work numbers, as well as an email address, you must have 4 Fred Smith entries. That's 'Fred Smith' listed 4 times. That, in itself, is bad enough. But then, when you bring up your Contact List and mash the button for 'F', it jumps to the beginning of the 'F's. So far so good. Then when you mash the button for 'R', it jumps to the beginning of the 'R's!!! All those 'F's and you can't even narrow it down by spelling more of the name you want!

I know, all you Motorola customers are saying "So what's the big deal? That's how it's always been done."

Well, on an LG phone, each contact can have multiple numbers listed and an email or 2.

Maybe it's just me. I'm too set in my ways. Like I said in the beginning, I love this phone in all other respects. I just can't settle for this clunky Contact List issue.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1...343536 37 38

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2018 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.