Home  ›  Forums  ›

Shop Talk

all discussions

Not all customers are bad

coganc

Mar 29, 2005, 3:35 PM
I posted in the lounge earlier about a customer yelling at me first thing this morning. It was supposed to be here but I messed up and clicked the wrong forum.

Anyway, the customer just came and apologized to me for his behavior and asked what he needed to do to get his phone fixed. I have been selling phones for almost five years and that is the first time a customer has apologized and admitted he was wrong. I was very impressed.
ElmerFudPucker

Mar 29, 2005, 3:55 PM
That's pretty cool, I had a customer throw a bundle of collateral at me last month, because he bought his phone somewhere else and I told him that I couldn't replace it with a new one!
However, I'm downtown and in the inner-city, so it is actually expected that they will do worse, people hate it when you tell them something they don't want to hear!!!
Disgruntled Rep

Apr 1, 2005, 1:46 PM
Yeah, they really don't. Usually that's when you get the "I don't like your attitude!" comment. But we all know, in most cases, it's not the attitude that they don't like - just that fact that they are being told no.
It's true that not all customers are bad - it's just really rare that we get to talk to the good ones. Mainly b/c they aren't calling - they know how to use the phone, know how to read the bill, etc .... they also realise that when they do have an issue to call in a/, yelling at the person you're seeking help from would be counter-productive. I wish that the rest of the cust would realise that. somedays I would love to tape a cust who's taking the immature strance of yelling at a rep, play the tape back for them - see if they w...
(continues)
bk77

Apr 1, 2005, 2:11 PM
I have a had customers bring me flowers, and ballons, and cards for their apology. It is always nice. Now that I work in a kiosk, people are a lot nicer to me now that I am here. But I have had my fair share in four years.
Vox Dei