Instagram Gives Users More Control Over Comments and Followers
Instagram today expanded the number of tools people can use to control their experience within the app. First, Instagram will allow people to turn off comments on their posts. The feature will be added to the advanced settings menu. Instagram says people will be able to turn comments back on whenever they wish. The social network also plans to let people "like" comments by tapping a heart icon that will appear alongside comments. Users will soon be able to remove followers from private accounts, too. People will not be notified if/when they are removed. Instagram believes this is a better alternative to blocking. Last, Instagram is adding a way for people to anonymously report posts that suggest a user may injure themselves. Instagram says the new features are rolling out gradually through an update to its Android and iOS apps.
Facebook Makes Sweeping Changes to Data Collection Policies as It Admits Cambridge Analytica Breach Impacted 87M
Apr 4, 2018
Facebook today made significant changes to its platform as it continues to deal with the fallout from the Cambridge Analytica breach. To start, the company now believes Cambridge Analytica was given improper access to the data of as many as 87 million people, mostly U.S.
Instagram Has a New Filter for Posts: Spam
Jun 29, 2017
Instagram today introduced two tools it hopes will help reduce toxic and spammy comments on users' posts. First, Instagram is adding a filter to block offensive comments that might be made on posts and videos.
Facebook Overhauls Privacy Tools Visibility and Ease-of-Use
Mar 28, 2018
Facebook today made new controls available to uses for managing their account, settings, and data. To start, Facebook says it redesigned the entire settings menu on mobile devices to improve discoverability.
Instagram Introduces New Security and Verification Tools
Aug 28, 2018
Instagram today said it has introduced three new features that are meant to help keep its one billion users safe. To start, a new "about this account" section will appear so people can see when other public accounts were created, where it is located, if the screen name has been changed, and what ad campaigns the account might be running.