Phone Scoop

printed September 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=800

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC 2125 / 2100 (Faraday)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.69
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Little mentioned Extra Pro's

 

Nov 2, 2006 by JimS

Here are some of the more valuable things i really like about the 2125. Cingular came thru with the $150 rebate. I only very rarely drop calls, and generally its the distant end with the problem. The Blue-Tooth is very clear with my Plantronics 640E, has great audible feedback with voice tag dial out, and is consistently successful in dialing the right PhNo. I can say "Voice Recorder" and easily launch and record audio ToDo reminder clips. Say "Work Voice mail", it dials in sends the extension and passwd and retrieves my voice mail on the system at work as i drive with zero hassle pressing any keys. I like the fact I can listen to good stereo MP3 music or podcasts, and have the BTooth going at the same time, but unplugged and when an incomng call comes in it pauses the WM player and Resumes as I end the BlueTooth Phone call. The Active Sync keeps ALL my contacts, Calendar appointments and ToDo Lists up to date at Home and work all the time. A 2Gig miniSDMem card actually works with over 1.9MB available and I sync all my Photo's MP3's to the Stoarge card very easily without wasting Phone Memory. I have a couple extra add-on Aps running and and still have 10Mb or free RAM on the phone. Its very small and light and fits easily in the belt clip in front, not at the side where other phones caught on things, and I'm a big guy at 250 lbs. Only complaint: dialing an un-voice tagged No at night in he dark on those tiny keys is not possible, and certainly NOT safe in a car while driving..so I have to voice tag almost every PhNo.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Aug 4, 2006 by chadghant01

This is a great phone. I have owned it for about 2 months and the only problem I have had with it is not even the phone, its the cingular wireless service. They claim to have the least dropped calls, but I am having to call back clients at least 5 to 6 times a day, but regardless, the phone is absolutely brilliant.

PROS:

Small, great big bright screen, Windows Mobile 5.0, MP3 as ringtone.

CONS:

The speakerphone is NOT loud at all. The included earphones are a bit big for the ears.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best SmartPhone I've Owned

 

Feb 10, 2006 by SmartPhoneUser82

WELL I'VE OWNED A MOTO MPX 220,Treo 650,Audiovox SMT 5600,Siemens SX66 FROM ALL FOUR I HAVE TO SAY Cingular 2125 IS THE BEST OS IS FAST AND THE PHONE IS EASY TO USE ONE HANDED.

PROS
- Bluetooth(Moto 850 Headset volume increase a lot)/Transfer speed good
- Good reception
- Good speakerphone
- Good microphone
- Nice screen
- Expandable
- Reasonable camera (much better than the Audiovox SMT5600 or Motorola MPx220)
- Battery Life Decent

CONS
- No camera flash
- MiniSD in back of battery
- Only Two Color Scheme and program not
available yet for window mobile 5.0

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Smart phone yet...

 

Feb 19, 2006 by Jeffa112

2125 dominates any phone i have had to date. My last smart phone was a mpx220, the 2125 blows it away. Bluetooth is way better. voice quality is much better. All sounds are better. And it has windows mobile 5.0 If you are looking for new windows phone pick this up... u wont be disappointed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This is a great phone!

 

Jan 11, 2006 by rbasch

I have owned the phone for only a few hours and must say this is a great buy!

I have owned the Kyocera 6035, Kyocera 7135, Treo 600, and Motorola MPx220.

Pros:
- Bluetooth
- Good reception
- Good speakerphone
- Good microphone
- Nice screen
- Very customizable
- Expandable
- Reasonable camera (much better than the Audiovox SMT5600 or Motorola MPx220)
- Large selection of applications (many Smartphone 2003 apps work).
- Small form factor
- Quad-band GSM support with EDGE support
- Not application locked (Verizon tends to application-lock their phones, whereas Cingular does not)

Cons:
- No camera flash
- Power button is difficult to press
- Phone lacks any way to see who's calling you just by looking down at your belt (I miss that feature from the Kyocera 7135).
- Text entry via T9 is cumbersome.
- Limited default ringtone selection; many phones include more ringtones.

I am still in my honeymoon period, but I have already decided this is a better phone than any of the others I have evaluated or owned.

Of course, to take full advantage of this phone, you have to be willing to add applications, and customize the phone (some degree of technical background is suggested). I do not think Smartphones are the best value for the casual phone user who does not want to "customize" their PIM management and other phone features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I love this phone!!!!!!!!!

 

Dec 16, 2005 by EXcingularslave

I recived my 2125 today and after using it I must say its the best phone I have ever owned( and I have had a few- treo 650,razr,s710a,smt5600,v551,v400,mpx220)but to say the least I am very impressed.
Pros
-The os is great
-windows thus far has been great
-Camera is improved 1.3 megapixel
-media player is easy to use and work great on the phone
-reception is very very much improved over the smt5600 now haveing the 1900 band it even gets better reception than my s710a
-size is still great small but with a large screen

Cons
-No flash on the camera or light(not a huge deal
-The factory ringtones are not very good(you can just download your own or use a mp-3)

The cons are really not that bad this overall a great phone/pda and is worth th money which is a rareity.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love/Hate relationship

 

Dec 28, 2006 by Hookem

I'm not a big fan of this phone, but I must admit it does have its value points. In fact, I read some other reviews first and find myself now questioning some of my frustrations. So here are my key bullet points:

Pros:
-Great reception (Cingular/most of TX and many other states)
-Extensive info allowed, including multi phone numbers, within one contact record
-Provides 5 quick navigation buttons on Home screen (last 5 used)
-Displays upcoming tasks/calendar items on Home screen (easy reference)
-Power button actually offers some cool, quick access features - i.e. key lock, volume settings, flight mode, etc.
-Camera is decent, but I can't seem to easily transfer pics via USB - must email individually.

Cons:
-Key Lock doesn't hold. Major frustration! A device lock option can be used instead but that requires typing a 4 digit code each time to access the phone. Nuts... I'm always finding that the phone creates new Contacts (named ****) that I later have to delete or clear the active screen.
-Some dropped calls
-Sometimes doesn't hang up
-Choose a number in history and dialing never gets anywhere, i.e. it seems to get lost in la la land...start over or reboot.
-Battery life poor, I recharge every night
-I can get email via MS Exchange Server but can't read emails from my co-workers sending from this server - that stinks.

Like I said - love/hate relationship.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great, but sticky

 

Sep 19, 2006 by miershpedankl

I've had many phones and carriers, but I recently dipped into the Smart Phone category and I like the size vs capability of these phones. Particularly I like the 2125, but I have some issues. Here are my thoughts...

Pros:
- Easy to use
- Decent camera for my use
- Good sound quality
- Screen size & Quality
- Expandable memory
-

CONS:
- Middle button doesn't want to cooperate when I am using it to navigate and I won't be surprised to see it fall off one of these days
- NO WIFI -- c'mon Cingular, the T-mobile version has it!!!
- If screen is "locked" sometimes when I push a button to answer the phone it just hangs up
- Only 1 alarm setting
- Fickle mini usb plug, won't charge unless you have just the right plug (i think it's an HTC conspiracy! :))
- MiniSD slot under battery
- T9 always generates "th3" when I am trying to type "the" (that really gets annoying)

I like this phone, but I readily get the TMobile unlocked version if I could justify it. Otherwise it is a pleasure to use. :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Really Cool...

 

Mar 22, 2006 by sam912

After stalking this phone for several months, I finally broke down and bought one. This phone replaced by Nokia 6682 which I only liked for about two weeks.

PROS:
--Call Quality.
--Reception.
--Volume: earpiece and speaker phone.
--size.
--screen.
--Features.
--Overall quality.
--Looks nice.

CONS:
--No HSPD.
--Voice tags have to be added.
--Power button.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Upgraded to 2125 after owning an SMT5600

 

Jan 8, 2006 by eamorales

I just bought the Cingular 2125 after owning the Audiovox SMT5600 for about 7 months.

What a FANTASTIC phone! I am impressed by the "upgrades" vs. the 5600, and feel really hit a home run with this phone. Overall, I've very pleased.

PROS:
- The new QVGA screen is awesome, looks much better than the 5600's screen.
- The new rocker "nub" is easier (for me) to work with than the 5600 rocker switch
- Windows Mobile 5 works well and is a bit easier to navigate through vs. Win.2003SE
- Overall, number keys "feel" better, and have a better more positive response when pressed
- I'm able to "turn up the volume" a bit more, the 5600 sometimes was hard to hear in crowded areas (airports)

CONS:
- not many at all...
- I wish the Bluetooth functionality (on/off) could be made a Speed Dial key without buying extra software
- On/Off Power button is a bit awkward, but not THAT bad
- It would be nice to be able to change background screens and color scheemes a bit easier, requires some external software to do this

I've owned several phones and do quite a bit of online research prior to purchasing... and I can tell you this phone does EVERYTHING I need, and I'm impressed so far.

Hope this helps!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1