Phone Scoop

printed November 27, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=800&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC 2125 / 2100 (Faraday)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.69
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4

Kills SIM cards, buggy/laggy MS UI

 

Nov 27, 2006 by maxx233

I'm an IT professional, I'm used to getting down and nerdy with my toys, and I usually love new gadgets. That said, this phone has been the biggest pain in the [...] since I got it 3 months ago.

Within the first 30 days a problem came up that I now have come to find is a known issue. The phone will display "searching..." for carrier, although it has a perfectly good signal - up to 5 bars. Basically what this means is, although the phone should work great it's rendered useless - can't dial in, can't receive calls, no data connection, etc. If you go into cingular and force them to replace the SIM card it'll start working again, with no guarantee for how long. They'll likely try to get out of it saying that's not what the problem is, but be persistant - *that's what the problem is* ;) This happened *twice* over my thanksgiving weekend - thanksgiving day it was down and out for about 8 hours but managed to come back around 10pm (it usually won't ever come back.) Today it finished what it started thursday. For more info on this issue see here: http://smartphonethoughts.com/forums/printview.php?t=10344&start=0&

I can't have my phone non-op, I rely heavily on it for work, personal, and emergencies (I have no home phone.) So I finally caved in and did a ROM update tonight, the supposed fix for this problem. It worked for about an hour without showing "searching...", but now my phone won't even boot, it gets stuck at the cingular splash screen.

Other problems with this phone: WM5 is a laggy piece of [...] - If you txt quickly, this will most definately screw that up for you. Hit '4' 3x to get an "I", and you'll probably get a 4. This is *not* because the hardware keys weren't pressed well, too much, or consistantly enough, trust me. The whole UI in general is very laggy, and tries to be *too* "smart", putting things in inconsistant locations, making it impossible to operate without constantly checking what it's registering. Do not want.

Ed. note: removed inappropriate language

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Oct 14, 2006 by chunkysoup

This is a great phone. The INTERNET is pretty fast and the screen is nice and large with a great resolution. The only thing i didn't like about the phone was that the speaker phone was not loud at all, battery life was great and the reception was incredible, i got more service with this phone than any other phone. Great Phone!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


2125

 

Aug 16, 2006 by SLRMcLaren

When I first ordered this phone I was extremely excited about it. Everyone that I knew that had had one said what a great phone it was. I never bothered to ask why they no longer had it. I enjoyed the screen and the MSN mobile thing...That was about it. I only had the phone for 2 days but I knew it wasnt for me or my line of work.

PROS

Beautiful screen
Easy manuvering

CONS

Buttons are WAAAAAY too small for someone with not so skinny fingers. I kept hitting random buttons.

Couldnt get the bluetooth to pair with ANY bluetooth item i owned

VERY limited space for downloading like... anything

Did I mention the buttons?

I give it a 2.5 but nothing more. I enjoyed it for the most part but the buttons were a definate problem.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent Phone, after 7 months

 

Jul 20, 2006 by thrudacus

I have found that most phone reviews are made soon after the phone is purchased/acquired and the "newness/excitability" puts a bias in the review. I have been using this phone for the last 7 months. This is what I find:

Good phone, but on the expensive side:

Phone can be slow to respond. I recommend rebooting your 2125 often. Also go to Task Manager and "stop all" applications. Do this twice, since it will display more free memory on the second time.

Many people who I am talking to have reported not hearing me clearly. I have never been told this when using other devices. I believe the sensitivity of the mic and how I naturally position the phone is the culprit

Text and email message alerts cannot be interrupted by pressing a key. This may be more of my lack of knowledge, but I have not been able to find a way to resolve this. Example: setting the alert/ring tone for a text message and email to a 30 sec tone, the phone will play the full tone, you cannot interrupt it by pressing a key.

Dropped the phone and now the 7 button is hard to press

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dreadful Joystick...otherwise great

 

Jul 16, 2006 by Boulderboy

Make sure you test the jostick use thoroughly before buying.

PROS:
Screen
Build Quality
Size
Sound Clarity
Speakerphone decent for size

CONS:
Joystick
Joystick
Joystick

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HTC Faraday 2125 Best Phone

 

Jun 16, 2006 by dvfoods

Excellent Phone!

Pros:
Has number Buttons.
Light and thin compared to the 8125
Bright Screen
Excellent Coverage (Cingular) Better then my Razor.
Excellent Battery Life.

Cons:
Speaker phone is a little quiet.
Can only read Excel Docs, not edit them.
No Wifi.

This is still a very good phone and would recommend it to everyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Some good, some bad

 

Apr 12, 2006 by SockMonkey

This is my first smartphone after years and years of Nokias. In comparison to the phone it's replacing, the Nokia 6230, in many ways it's not much of an upgrade. Nokia gives away free software that syncs outlook contacts and calendars much as this phone does..just this is REAL Outlook...frankly, I don't notice the difference. The only nice thing (when it works) is Cingular XPressMail. You set it up on your desktop and it forwards mail to your device. I had mixed results with this app. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't do anything. First time it actually worked, I was like "Oh...this what everyone talks about (getting email on your phone)"

It sounds like I don't like this phone, but I do...it's just that comparing a Microsoft Smartphone with a Series 40 Nokia is in some ways not fair. The Nokia is made to be a phone above all, where this 2125 is made to do a lot of things. Windows on a phone is still a little clunky...it takes extra clicks to do basic things. My basic issues with this phone is that maybe I'm not used to a phone trying to be so many things that aren't calling related.

If you like smartphones...I'd say this is the one for you..it's got it all. I on the other hand am beginning to discover that I DON'T like smartphones. Just personal preference, not the phone's fault.

Pros: great screen, small size, small weight. Good reception. Pocket Outlook, Pocket MSN, Cingular XPressMail (when it works) service and bluetooth status lights.

Cons: center joystick is very touchy, small buttons, not as intuitive as Nokia. very slight background hiss on calls, speakerphone not that loud. Cingular XPressMail(isn't all that reliable)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cingular 2125, A Problem for me.

 

Apr 7, 2006 by DonnaT

I have owned this phone for 6 days.
I am having a hard time turning off and on. I have tried to set up voice connect with Cingular with no luck. After being on the phone with them for 3 hours they told me they had changed the website address and my password and to wait for a text msg telling me my new password. That was 3 hours ago and I am still waiting!
The CD that comes with the phone experienced problems and The Cingular store told me to shut it down so I don't know all the ins and outs of the phone. I could not use the Active Sync on the CD either. I have read a lot of pros on this phone but so far that is all I know about it. Any ideas?
Pros
I own a phone
Cons
You know what I think

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lovely size and has it all...

 

Mar 12, 2006 by texbru

I just got the 2125 after having my Siemens SX66 for more then a year. I love the great speaker-phone and the edge on the 2125. And size does matter a bunch. The SX66 was way to big. I don't have to worry about loosing the darn pen anymore.
So far the 2125 has been a great phone with no cons.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This Phone is Pimp!

 

Feb 23, 2006 by chamomile

I got this phone about 2 months ago and it has proved to be just about everything i expected.
PROS:
-Big and beautiful display screen
-Loud Speakerphone/MP3/video player
-Great Signal Strength/Never drops calls
-EDGE
-Bluetooth
-Active sync
-Windows Mobile 5.0

Only a couple little things i didnt really like.
Cons:
-No Flash on Camera
-Little joystick in the middle makes it a little hard for one hand use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2