Phone Scoop

printed November 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1451

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Glimmer / UX-830 / Vantage / Spyder

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  82  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.68
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

The Glimmer..........its ok

 

Dec 25, 2008 by RuMoRs

The 830 is a great phone, i always get great comments on it and texting and other stuff is GREAT!. But the sound quality on this phone sux, had to get mine repaired, because my speaker went COMPLETELY out and when i got it back the sound was not even better, its OK now but not as loud as it was when i first got it.

Pros:
touch screen
appearance
slide form factor
a lot more...

Cons:
THE FREAKING SOUND QUALITY OF THE SPEAKER IS TRASH!!!

But other than the sound, i would say this phone is superb! (P.S. Lg please make the earpiece and speaker SEPERATE! thanx)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG UX830 (GREAT)

 

Jul 14, 2008 by ta_powell12707

I bought this phone the day it came out and I wouldn't trade it for anything. I was using an old Nokia (a newer one) and it was a very sturdy phone so I was weary of the change but I'm glad I did. Everything about the phone is awesome. I only use the touch screen unless I'm using my recent calls or if I'm driving and texting (so I can feel the buttons). The only things that I don't like are that when i use the screen to txt and everything sense my fingers are big they sometimes hit the buttons below what I'm meaning to hit. It can get a little frustraiting. And, I'm not to fond of the calendar part. It looks nice. Basically it's just not like my Nokia. And I can't change the Default calendar tone so every time I add an event I have to change the tone.

I would definately recommend this phone. Everyone who come's into the office looking for a new phone I recommend it too and I usually sell it. Especially after I let them play with mine!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Amazing (Us Cellular Version)

 

Jul 2, 2008 by calebcowan85

I just bought this phone yesterday, after reading countless reviews online. I was a little hesitant on getting it because of the touch screen, i suspected problems. But, it's WONDERFUL, i use the touch screen to text instead of the keypad. Us Cellular released their Glimmers with fully unlocked bluetooth 2.0, so i can do whatever i need with it, all in all it's a great phone, and i've only owned Blackberries in the past, so after using a blackberry, and saying any other phone is good.. that is really saying something.

Pros-------------
Sleek, Responsive Touch Screen.
Stainless Steel Case.
Slide Out Key-Pad.
Bluetooth Works Perfect.
Great Phone.
Great Texting Device.
WONDERFUL Camera.
WONDERFUL VIDEO.

Cons-----------------

When recieving a call, the ringer doesn't play full sound until about 2-3 seconds after it starts, I have checked for all ways to fix this, and can't find one.

That's it.

WONDERFUL PHONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone!!!

 

Jun 2, 2008 by mooreman

Pros - Stylish design, great call quality and funcional. A2DP bluetooth streams music from the Glimmer to my car stereo flawlessly. Voice dialing works great. Phone won't accidentally come on in your pocket, the lock mechanism is actually pretty intuitive.

Cons - Slideout keyboard's a tad small and can be difficult to type - fat-fingering is common. Scrolling for a contact using the touch screen is almost impossible without the stylus, which I almost never have handy as I don't want it hanging from the phone all the time. TIP - get used to just using the alpha-numeric search instead of the slider.

NOTE!!! Almost everyone here has complained about the ascending ringer issue. Alltel (as of May 22nd) can flash the firmware of the phone (only in the store, over-the-air does not work) and the ringer now goes to full volume at 3 seconds (if you're unsure, check the software version, if the string ends in 05, you have the old software version, and you need the 06 version to fix the ringer). Combine that with the vibrating ringer and it's now comparable to almost every other phone in it's class.
ALSO, Get the data cable and use the current version of BitPim to get your mp3 ringers to work - visit HowardForums for the how-to. Get the phone, it's solid!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG's Getting better

 

May 30, 2008 by kuntryboy80ms

I'm fairly new to LG, but from friends having Lg phones in the past they tried to talk me out of the glimmer. I feel i made the right choice with it.

Pros:
touchscreen very responsive
slide open key pad is a neat feature.
music player is great.
hold up to a 4GB card.
metal case looks cool.
size is good.
speaker volume in call both w/o speaker phone is clear an loud enough.
camera can be up to 2.0 mp.
interactive home screen is cool.
phone has all the key features like alarm, calculator, notepad, world clock, vocie command, unit converter, and tip calc. plus event manager, brew, sms and mms.

cons
finger print magnet, i'm a neat freak an finger prints bug me.
Will not let you use bluetoothed ringers, have to buy them from alltel or realtones.
no full mp3 service. can't buy and download songs directly to the phone.

all in all a great phone. i'm very pleased with it.
now we just need to get a phone like the Vu or the BB thunder.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


An overall excellent phone

 

May 11, 2008 by tand

Cons- ascending ringer- contact alltel to have your phone ring 6 times instead

pros:

Music- Not like the extravagant iPhone or anything, but still nice enough with all the features. One very likeable beature is the background music mode. This lets you do almost everything (except calling and video playback) while listening to music.

Keyboards- I really like having the option to use the on-screen or tangible keyboard. If you let someone else use ur phone, they most likely will not know how to operate the touch screen, sooo all you have to do is slide the phone and BAM you have a standard keyboard to go by.

Camera-I mean it when I say it. You hold it landscape like a normal camera and has functions just like a normal camera such as a flash button!!, color effects (negative, monotone), self timer, up to 2 megapixel (which looks excellent on this phone), and memory card storage.

Web Browser- Full touch screen experience, actually pretty fast to my experience. The reason I like the mobile web browser is that it is affordable, which is much better than the extra for a data plan.

Bluetooth- Very functionable. Speeds are decent and a little faster than most regular phones, w/ stereo.

Extras-Actually announces the name of the person who is calling, Announces low batter, easily accesible clock and alarm on the home page (clock is dragable), features alltel's voice 2 text, T9 support which means very fast texting on the touch screen, unit converter, Convenient notepad I use for logging driving hours, world clock, nice calculator, tip calculator, youtube videos, and many more.

A good decent phone for alltel! =D

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone

 

May 2, 2008 by shocker269

This phone is outstanding in many ways.

Pros:
Excellent photo and videos
Sleek, good looking
Clear screen
Long lasting battery (going on 5th day without charging)

Cons:
Graduated ringer
Stylus attaches externally
Screen smudges easily
No usb cable available
Comes with an earpiece adapter but no ear bud

Found free file converter online to covert files to correct format to save onto mirco-disk then view on phone. But can't send to anyone because of size limit of messages. As far as a carrying case, can use a slide-in case for a razor. Wish I knew what file format the ringtones are supposed to be in.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I LIKE IT I LIKE IT!

 

Mar 27, 2008 by TripleFreeze86

This is a great phone! after using this phone i take it over my v9 for alltell and vz and my voyager rokr slider and lg 9400

now the pros

LARGE BRIGHT CRYSTAL CLEAR COLORFUL SCREEN! ,great reception and touch screen capability! touch screen responds better then the i phone n i touch on command! not to mention the stylus! ...CAMERA IS AMAZING blows away the v9!

CONS

no holder for the stylus easy to smudge up and 1 thing NOBODY has mentioned which i noticed at a coperate store mine wasnt the only 1 to do this but um yea when the phone rings and your ringer is on high and the phone starts ringing low and gradually rasing its volume ..taking to almost the last couple of rings for the phone to ring loudly!

alltel told me its lgs way of preventing any hearing issues on a dropped call considering the only speaker phone is in the ear piece

kind of weird an annoying

but all in all its a way above average phone and i love it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG 830 US Cellular Got It Right

 

Aug 5, 2008 by BigSwole

I've had the phone over a month now and have to say the phone is awesome. I've thrown it a few times somehow got it wet and the phone has not frozen once or had any glitches and I'm a heavy user. I've owned 5 phones in the past 3 years and this phone is my favorite.

CONS - Music player quality is not the best in the world
Reception compared to my previous Motorolas is no comparison. Clarity with the Motorolas and signal strength was a lot better. (I've got US Cellular in the Greenville, NC area)
Ascending ringer is a little annoying but it only takes about 2 or 3 seconds away from the ringer
Texting is a itch on this thing

PROS - Sleek design
Full touchscreen is awesome
Tons of extra features
Not glitching up my past few Phones (KRZR and Razr 2) had software issues I noticed within the first few days
Camera is great just like a digital camera
Phone is pretty durable from what i've seen so far like i said its been water damaged and I've thrown it so theres several scratches and the phone hasn't missed a beat

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This Phone...

 

Jun 8, 2008 by missymaymay9

This phone looks so cool and that is because it is. I may not own it but I mess around on my friends all the time!

~PROS~
+Touch screen
+Easy to axcess apps
+Slide Out key pad
+Nice Camrea

-Cons-
-No QUERKY key board like the voyager
-Attracts Fingerprints

Over All, it is an AWSOME phone!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1