Phone Scoop

printed September 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1162

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola W370

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  87  

Average Ratings

4
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

A Nice Phone

 

Jun 27, 2009 by GameKing23

The Motorola W370 is a decent phone offered by Tracfone. I have never had a dropped call with this phone, nor any problems. Build quality is great the phone never felt like it was going to fall apart. The internal memory is small so if you plan on downloading alot of stuff the phone will eventualy bog down making it harder to use. Plus start up is rather slow. I would reccomend this phonw if not for only one thing with the new Motorola W376 avaliable would be the better buy with its camera, bluetooth and a larger memory 10mb. Overall this is a good phone, but with todays market spring for the W376 instead its the same phone only better.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


my motow370

 

Jul 31, 2008 by VWBOY1992

i bought this phone from tracfone after using virgin mobile and verizon prepaid phone plans and i came to find that tracfone was the best value for what i use a phone for (Talking and a little texting..simple). The motow370 is good for people who want a reliable phone that doesnt cost alot to keep running. I put a card on there once a month and my service wont even expire until late 2010 because each card gives you 90 days more service past what you already have. this means you dont have to be in a rush to use your minutes.
pros-reliable,simple(no camera), indicator lights that tell you when you have a msg, call, etc., and downloadable wallpapers and ringtones to personalize it. you can also order cool faceplates which are plastic covers that come in all colors that serve for style and protect your phone.
cons-slow internet browser and small screen

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


A Best Buy !!

 

Mar 10, 2008 by gab5

Having spent the better part of 30 years in the American Corporate sector, retiring as a Program Mgr, cellular phones became a "must have" item for me in the 80's. That is, I was truly an "early adopter," and remember wireless phones since their infancy.

Having said that, and having "had my fill" of cell phones, the associated contract expenses and an appreciation of privacy, I opted out out wireless phones altogther for a couple of years.

Then, in 2006, I discovered the emerging market of pre-paid phones and decided to purchase one from tracfone - primarily for emergency road service or those 8-10 times a year that I would have otherwise had to stop and use a payphone.

Started with a Nokia 2126 which served me nicely for almost two years. Then, after experiencing problems with the keypad, I bought a Motorola V170 about 3 weeks ago. Huge Mistake. Even at $29.95, it was a very poor phone - the older Nokia, having been far superior.

So....." for $49.95 and bought the Motorola W370. Have had it ~3 weeks~ and am very impressed with it.

PROS: Excellent Signal Seeking Capability
A perfect size, Well Constructed
Volume variation Good->Excellent
Ease of use.......10 out of 10
Features: More than I need
Battery Life - Excellent

CONS: A little slow to "boot up."

In short... a terrific phone for the money.
Hence, my Review Title " A Best Buy."

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


As Good As A Basic Phone Needs To Be.

 

Sep 4, 2007 by zelenka

I really can't find fault with this phone. It IS basic with no camera, etc. but that's just as well considering how poor the vast majority of cell phone cameras are! I still don't get the big deal with bluetooth--so what if you have one thin audio cord? As for doing the things that really count, like having a nice clear display and good audio performance its perfectly fine in a nice elegant package to boot. Just be sure to get the Tracfone version as ATT has managed to screw-up the Cingular website to the point that it's worthless.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Great Phone!

 

Sep 4, 2007 by TracMan

The Motorola W370 is nothing short of great. I consider it to be superior to all prepaid cell phones( which I have had plenty of experience with) and almost all of the of the contract phones. It is pretty and simple and has lots of features. If you want a great cell phone this is the way to go. It is certainly in the same class as the Razr and Krzr and is a lot simpler too. Since it doesn't have a camera, it should be perfect for parents who want heir kid to have a nice phone but one without a camera( there have incidents that were inappropriate involve camera phones.) This is the perfect phone for some one who wants a phone that is simple and advanced.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Works for Me

 

Apr 30, 2008 by dlafrance

Pros:Small phone that opens up to be full sized; easy to see; excellent sound quality.

Cons: no external screen.

I have been a TracFone customer for 5 years. I've read various negative reviews about them but my relationship, for the most part, has been good. The customer service reps may not be well versed in English but sometimes that means just being a little more polite and patient. For someone like me who is not a frequent cell phone user, this is the perfect fit - the way I figure it, for $100/year, I get all the cell phone service I need.

As for the Motorola W370, it was just what I was expecting. Nobody said it was a camera phone or that it could play music or all the other things we see today. It's a phone, and a good one at that. My land line service here in rural east Tennessee isn't the greatest. My mother, who lives in Florida, can't always hear me on the regular phone. I called her on my W370 today. She didn't know this and remarked at how much better I sounded. The price was right - the current promotion is a price right around $50 and they throw in a double minutes for life deal. So, since I buy the $100 annual card with 400 minutes, I now get 800 minutes. That works out to 12.5 cents/minute. I think that's a pretty good deal

Would I recommend TracFone and this particular phone? Sure, but be realistic - TracFone isn't for the person who hangs on the phone 24/7. If you want a phone with all the latest bells and whistles, this isn't your phone. But, if you want a good phone (emphasis on "phone") and you're an infrequent user, then TracFone, and this phone in particular, may be just right for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Good Phone

 

Apr 26, 2008 by Zyrilia

I've had this Motorola W370 (with Tracfone service) for several months now, and I'm very happy with it. It's a HUGE improvement over the Nokia 1100, IMO.

The phone is fairly durable - I drop it several times a month, it seems, and it still works, and has only a few minor surface blemishes due to unfortunate meetings with asphalt.

We've gotten great reception in most areas, and the overall sound quality is good. The speaker phone option is NOT all that easy to hear, but I don't use it often, anyhow, so it's not a major problem. For long trips, the passenger makes all the calls anyhow - I'm going to get a hand-free cable just in case, though.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice, fairly simple phone

 

Jun 19, 2007 by skyscraper61

I've had this phone for a couple of weeks so far and, overall, I'm pretty happy with it. This is my second motorola from tracfone (my first was the Motorola V170) and this one is a major improvement. It has a bigger screen, better texting options, and pretty good sound quality. (The games on it aren't great but they're mildly amusing for a while) The only problem I've had with it so far is that every time I've tried to get on the browser, it says network down or system unavailable. I don't know if this is happening to everyone, or just me. Also, it takes away .3 units to receive text messages as well as to send them which didn't happen on my old phone. Other than that, and the fact that it doesn't have a camera, it's very nice, but I wouldn't recommend it to someone who likes high tech gadgets, since it's pretty simple. Overall, it's probably the best phone tracfone offers.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My Motorola W370

 

Aug 27, 2007 by meemaw1

This is my first time using a trac phone. I got tired of being locked into a cellphone plan. my service provider network was not that great. Phone calls fading in and out when traveling. Also could not talk inside my home, could not get a signal. Since switching to my trac phone, I am able to talk inside my home. When I am traveling, my husband states my calls are very clear and strong. I am really pleased with this phone. It has all that I need, speaker phone, text messaging, voice mail. Not sure how to do the web browser thing yet. I am from the older generation, don't need too many gadgets. The only down side to it for me is keying in the phone numbers are on a slight delay.I have fast fingers, so I have learned to slow down a little bit. Also, using a trac phone, I will be saving over $500.00 per year versus my old cell phone plan. I definitely give it two thumbs up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid with a few flaws

 

Jun 18, 2007 by Sable Drakon

I've been using this phone for nearly a week, and feel that I've had enough experience to pass judgment on the handset. I have kept in mind that this is my first Motorola phone, so there are a few things that I'm assuming are normal with the Motorola brand, such as the lagging menu system. Dispite the fact that TracFone states that GSM phones from them don't work in the Farmington, ME area, this phone and my old Nokia 1100 worked just fine. The signal can be a bit dodgy in areas, but for the most part is acceptable. Call clarity is much better than I had expected, much better than the handset that this one replaced for me. The only annoyances that I have are the somewhat slow menu system. There are times that my key presses are too fast for the phone to process. However, having trained a bit on a deactivated Moto V330, I've come to the conclusion that this is normal. My other complaint is that the indicator lights time out too quickly. Having only a half-hour to respond to the lights before they shut off isn't long enough for me. Over all though, this is a very solid phone and something I'm happy to make use of.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2