Phone Scoop

printed October 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1137&r=24492

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola ic902 Deluxe

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  99  

Average Ratings

3.46
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great Phone

 

Jan 1, 2008 by bo67

Pros:
Great call quality
Clear crisp pictures.
Good camera.
Loud speaker phone.

Cons:
Battery life (I now have the extended, and it performs very well.)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ringtone help????

 

Aug 12, 2007 by TMack8402

Overall I like the phone and everything it has to offer! Does anyone phone how to use the MP3 songs on the external card as ringers? If I go to file manager it recognizes them, but when I look in my sounds it says no ringers?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


maybe

 

Aug 2, 2007 by TRC5050

I've been an indirect dealer for Nextel for over eight years, sold over 3000 Motorola's. The ic902 could be the most advanced phone Motorola will ever come out with. BUT; it does have problems!

Cons;
Battery life (short) dies fast; too fast.
Speaker (low volume)
Camera Freezes, and locks phone up.
Receiving pictures from another IDEN phone (Nextel) is almost impossible.

Pros;
Hadn't dropped a call yet!
Now as an Nextel dealer not dropping a call is the main thing.
Data; is fast, very fast (EVDO)
Also the smart button works, you Nextel people know about the smart button.

This phone has a few bugs in it, but most new phones do. I will say this, for a phone that works on two different networks, (Sprint CDMA and Nextel IDEN) with two transmitters in one phone it could possible be the most advanced phone to hit the market in the next 2 years. Excluding some of the smart phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Missing key features!

 

Aug 2, 2007 by erock007

Pro's are great service with sprint along with Nextel walkie talkie. Great camera and additional memory card. Alarm clock, calendar blah blah blah. I am a negative person so here are the con's.....It does not tell you how many voice mails. You could have 1 or 20. you don't know and mine is bad with deleting the icon after you have checked it. I also am having voice mails delivered late. There is no way to shut off the two way or phone option. On the 870 you could filter your calls thru the profiles. There are no profile settings. They also managed to stop you from sending pic messages and paying per use. You now must have a Internet package. Another annoying thing you can't hear the ringer volume by pressing the outside button. You have to go all the way into the menu and listen to ringer volume 1, 2 3, etc. When you make a call you have like half a second to press the speaker phone key or else if you do it too late it mutes. I know you can also press the top button but it gets tricky w/ one hand. I wish I waited until they perfected these things to buy one!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wait Is OVER

 

Jul 28, 2007 by chevyg

I Have No Cons Thus Far. I Have Had The Phone For 3 Days. This Is The Best Thing Since i95 Days. Thats My 2 Cents.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


wow what a phone

 

Jul 25, 2007 by robritcomm

i am a sprint.nextel dealer started with nextel ofcourse. i have been using nextel for close to 4 years now, through most of the ups and downs. when i found out about the 902 i was very interested. i have used pretty much all of the resent nextel phones. my last phone was the i580 that was a charm, so i was pretty hesitant on switching to a powersource. but i tried it and i loved it. thats what i carry now ic902. actually get service where my nextel did not, and out here thats few and far between. i have been reading all responses on this phone, i haven't had a freeze up ...yet but hey it happens , you have to remember these are all like computers made on a line, you get good ones and you get bad ones.

pros
reception is a 10
smaller
texting is easier than iden
calculator (minor but useful)

cons

battery ( so i have to get a extend life big deal)

i just love it!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


best nextel ever.

 

Jul 16, 2007 by smg007

First off, I have been a Nextel dealer in GA for about 8 yrs. Ive had almost every new phone that Nextel has come out with almost the first day they released it. This ic902 is without a doubt the best Motorola has ever released for Nextel.

Pros:
outside lcd makes everything easier
large LCD inside.
great color! clear pictures
great 2.0m camera w/flash and camcorder.
bluetooth
mp3 player
decent speakers for player
comes with headphones and belt clip
easy access to cam and mp3 player without opening flip.
good battery life so far
customizable user features
sleek slim phone.
Overall, This phone was an easy transition from Nextel network to Sprint/Nextel networks.
They kept the interface very similar to what you are used to having on a regular Nextel phone. I noticed that my phone service works in a LOT more places than the Nextel only phones. I mean a LOT more places. I have only been in 1 or 2 spots where I did not have phone service. I live in GA. At my house, Nextel service was in and out, but the Sprint phone service is always on now. Huge difference in coverage.

Cons:
soft keys and menus are not programmable.
I mean, for example, all the previous models for Nextel has "Contacts" on the left side soft key, and this one has it on the right side instead.Id love to be able to go into the menus and change the buttons to how I want them. After so many phones with the same interface, you kind of get used to having it one way.
Sometimes my phone says I have new voicemail when I dont. Cannot figure out how to correct it yet.
Sometimes the phone call doesnt end when I shut the flip, especially when Im listening to voicemail on speakerphone.
Other than those minor problems, I havent seen anything else wrong yet.
This is by far the best phone Nextel has ever had.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Greatest Nextel Phone Ever Made

 

Jul 4, 2007 by The_Sprint_Master

I see these reviews on here and see that some people are having problems with the battery life but if you haven't noticed Sprint does offer extended life batteries. If your going to buy a phone thats 300 dollars then spend the extra 40 to get an extended battery. I saw one guy on here saying he doesn't get service in Alabama. Well I'm sorry guy but it states in the contract with Sprint/Nextel that they don't guarantee service at any given location or time due to construction of a building or geographic and geologic features. So if you don't like the service cancel and take the ETF. This phone puts the Upstage to shame! IT has Nextel Direct Connect with Sprints EVDO and Sprint TV. how could you go wrong. Even if you didn't want to buy a Extended life battery. buy a freaking car charger! Plain and simple. I have a phone that Ive had for years and since The battery tends to go with the phone just get something that will make it last longer! For those of you who don't like the battery its OK. No need to fret. there are other ways to keep your phone from dying. For the same guy saying he didn't get service in Alabama, he said it scratches easily. What did you do put it through a blender?! Another thing if your worried about scratching it why not get a case for it as well. Protect your investment that you put 300+ dollars into. I mean would you get a car without insurance or a house without home owners insurance. A case is there as a one time payment back up insurance. If you protect your phone you wont have to buy a new one in 1 or 2 years. The blue tooth is an awesome feature on this phone too. Its just the best phone in its generation. Id much rather pay 300 dollars for a phone that I trust then buy the iPhone which is going to be 500+ dollars plus a 60 dollar rate plan that I can get cheaper with sprint and do the same things on it. The hybrid phones in general are going to be the next step in cell phone technology and the next must have gadget!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THE TRUTH!!

 

Jun 27, 2007 by THETRUTH36

FIRST OF ALL, THE GUY UNDERNEATH HAS NO IDEA WTF HES TALKING ABOUT!

IVE BEEN WITH NEXTEL FOR 5YRS AND THIS IS THE BEST THING GOING FOR NEXTEL:

PROS -
LIVE TV!
SPRINT TEXT/DATA RECEPTION!
NEXTEL WALKIE TALKIE
SLEEK DESIGN
2.0 MEXAPIXEL CAMERA
BLUETOOTH
MP3 PLAYER
EVERYTHING YOU COULD POSSIBLY WANT FROM A PHONE, THE IC902 HAS
BEST RECEPTION NEXTEL HAS OFFERED FOR YEARS (I NOW HAVE RECEPTION EVERYWHERE I DIDNT HAVE WITH MY REGULAR IDEN NEXTEL PHONE BEFORE)
YOU'LL ACTUALLY RECIEVE YOUR TEXT MSSG NOW!

CONS-
PHONE HAS FROZEN ON ME ONCE IN THE PAST 2 WEEKS!
THE CAMERA COULD HAVE HAD MORE OPTIONS
YOU CANT CONTROL EVERY SPECIFIC SETTINGS ON THE PHONE LIKE THE OLD NEXTEL PHONES (DISPLAY CONTRAST, COLOR SCHEMES, JUST MINOR THINGS)

I NOW HAVE SERVICE IN CHATSWORTH, ALL ACROSS MULHOLLAND, WINNETKA, TOPANGA CANYON AND STILL TESTING

THE ONLY BUG/GLICH IN THE PHONE IS THE CAMERA. IT HAVE A SLIGHT LAG FROM WHEN YOU PUSH THE BUTTIN TO WHEN THE PICTURE IS CAPTURED.

IF YOU HAVE NEXTEL YOU HAVE TO GET YOURSELF ONE OF THESE AND START USING THE POWERSOURSE SERVICE!

BEST PHONE NEXTEL HAS EVER OFFERED!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


"Best Motorola Sprint/Nextel Phone Ever"

 

Jun 21, 2007 by Motorola_Owner

Having recently purchased this phone and used it quite extensively for the past few days, I have found the ic902 to be clearly the best phone Motorola, Nextel/Sprint has put together.

You see, I am quite partial to owning only Motorola phones for the past 15 years. They have not only been very reliable and sturdy for me but have also been built with the consumer in mind(ergonomics, ease-of-use, etc.).

The Motorola ic902 quite simply put, has everything that a Nextel/Sprint user needs in order to communicate effectively for both business and/or for personal use. It has the technology to finally combine the best of both worlds - Nextel's(Direct Connect or walkie-talkie mode) & Sprint's(High-Speed Broadband).

In addition, the Motorola ic902 has the best dual-speakers that is out there on the market - they can not only go as loud as you want them to but can also play MP3's(128-bit or higher) very, very clearly. Really, try it for yourself. Unbelievable sound quality and easy-to-use MP3 player makes for another great feature of this phone. When I played several songs in a row for my friends as a demonstration, they were more than impressed with the sound quality of this phone's internal speakers. And, you will be too.

And, yes it has a easy-to-use 2-Megapixal built-in digital camera with a brilliant and bright screen to match. Even in direct sunlight.

It also supports Bluetooth technology(version 2.0 or older) for those that may already have the headsets and is very easy to set-up.

It ships with: the Motorola ic902 Deluxe phone, Standard Lithium Ion(Li-Ion) battery, AC Phone Charger, Holster, 128K SIM Card, MicroSD 128MB and a Stereo headset.

A special thanks goes out to Motorola and Nextel/Sprint for getting this one right.

I do my research and am very thorough with the phones that I choose and that is why this one is clearly labeled the, "Best Motorola, Nextel/Sprint Phone" Built - Ever.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23456

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2