Phone Scoop

printed April 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=101

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola T720 / T721 (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  5  

Average Ratings

2.13
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Solid Phone

 

Sep 22, 2005 by absolut_ian

Why is this phone recieving a bad rating? I owned this phone and this phone had so many great features that were huge for its time. It was the first phone to have a color screen flip and this was the most reliable phone I have ever owned.

It may not have a camera or bluetooth, but this phone was made for a market 3 years ago and this phone was a major success story for motorola phones.

GOOD JOB MOTOROLA, if only the V220 were as reliable as this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Worth the money!

 

Sep 10, 2005 by sober13

I don't know why few others find this phone crap. For me this phone has been great since the past 2 years. I was a great fan of Nokia earlier bcos of their incredible battery life. However, this phone too, has shown almost the same performance as Nokia. Some cool features are password lock for applications, email client, notepad for scribbling numbers, shortcuts for frequently used functions, and of course, the external camera accessory. The Nokia phone that I had (1100) provides unmatched stand-by time (upto 7 days) and very poor talk-time (1 hr).
This Motorola piece still provides me decent standby time of 2-3 days and talk-time of 2 hrs.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Pretty Decent Phone

 

Sep 25, 2004 by JMSA

Pretty decent phone, but I wish it ahd more vivid color display and a camera!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone, but lacking some important features

 

Apr 9, 2003 by B44C CD21

PROS:
* Color screen
* Polyphonic speaker
* Flip phone
* Internet browser
* Configurable email client
* Download midis (.mid) directly from the internet as ring tones
* Download .gif directly from the internet
* Main menu is customizable (I changed my down button to "shortcuts" instead of "games & apps")
CONS:
* Internet browser is very limited. If a page is too big it will error out.
* No ir port
* No multimedia messages
* Slow. The software is too bloated for the cpu. I find myself delayed constantly. My wifes 8390 is lightning fast.
* Internet bookmarks have a length restriction
* Reversed the send and end keys. I got used to my 120t and then they flipped it on me.
* Battery is average. My wifes 8390 has a battery that seems to last forever in comparison.
* The main menu cannot be minimized or disabled. Background pictures must be chosen carefully since the menu hogs the screen.

Overall this is a nice phone. Due to the lack of internet content that utilizes color screens, the speed limitations of AT&T GPRS, the inability of the phone hardware to function as a game controller, and the speed restrictions of the motorola cpu, I would probably buy a monochrome screen phone if I had the chance again. The Nokia 6590 or 8390 would be my choices.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this phone is GrEaT!!

 

Nov 28, 2005 by chelsiscellphonecrazy

i have had this phone for about 4 months now and i think its great! i am 12 years old and this so far has been my favorite phone.the only problem i have had with it is the phone sometimes freezing then turning off, but thats bout it...

PRO'S-
-nice big and brite color screen
-isnt too lite to make it feel like its flimsy
-the keys are nice and big
-got cool screensavers,wallpapers,and some different color schemes
-after being dropped a couple of times, there is only 2 noticable scratches,so its pretty durable

CON'S-
-got to click alot of keys to get to the thing you want
-freezes up
-ringtones are quiet
-no speakerphone
-voice recordings only go up to a minute
small outer screen

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


WORST PHONE I EVER OWNED

 

Oct 30, 2003 by Cingu

The T-720 is one of the worst phone I have ever owned, I would not recommend it to anyone, I have not had it even one year and it has already died on me. From my experience the Motorola phone are not very good phones and the battery life is the worst also. I just received a Samsung and I love the phone would recommend over the Motorola any day.......

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Stuff

 

Aug 7, 2003 by Michael DeMaio

I purchased this phone to get on the Cingular Super Home plan in the north east. I was coming from the V60. I was very happy with the V60 and was reluctant to go to th T720. After reading several reviews I almost brought it back and bought the Samsung. So far I am glad I didn't. All the negative talk about the battery scared me. My battery life is not as good as the V60 but it is OK. I get 2 full days and about 2 1/2 hours of talk time with a standard battery. I would like more but that is decent. I am looking into extended batteries.

PROS: Perfect size
Excellent keypad
Great screen
Easy navigation
Stubby antenna
Excellent sound

CONS: Weak battery
Faceplate that comes with the phone feels very cheap and it cheapens the phone. Change the faceplate and the phone will feel more solid.
Signal is a little spotty but I think it has more to do with the new GSM network and less to do with the phone.
Does not come with a free holster?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Could have been better.

 

Mar 30, 2003 by Dion Lawson

I am employed by a major phone carrier and when this phone launched I was initially happy that we were carrying it. But to my surprise it was not all it was cracked up to be. The reception is pretty good and the color screen is fabulous but the features are not user friendly. It seems like you have to push 4 or 5 keys just to get to the settings menu. I also thought the voice recorder would be alot easier to use just like it's big brother phone the i95. The last thing this phone lacks is durability. Do not expect this phone to work and look the same way in 6-8 months.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good addition

 

Mar 15, 2003 by starscream

Nice addition to the moto lineup. The color screen is crisp, and vibrant. You may also choose a "color theme" and a background. Easy to use, and pretty "fun" too. Polyphonics are great too. my only complaint (and the reason i gave it a 4) is the size and houseing. this phone seems way too cheap plastic like. im affraid that if i droped it, that it would just shatter. give the V60gi a color screen and youve got a great moto!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nothing wrong w/this phone, I don't know what you all talkin about!

 

Mar 29, 2004 by jenn_anger

This phone is the greatest! As you know, I wrote an article in the Nokia 5165 page and now I have moved up w/the times...All things considered in Canada, we do NOT have much of a selection of phones but from all the ones we have, this one seems to be the best bet especially for the price!..the only downfall I have about this phone is that I cannot download a ringtone on the phone yet w/out internet svc...I still have not found a site that will support my phone to be able to do this...also, to all of you people who are knocking AT&T svcs or any other svc providers, don't, it may not be the provider, it may be your area!..I have excellent coverage and I have AT&T wireless here in Canada and it is not teh provider, just the area...trust me!..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234...8

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2