Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sony Ericsson  ›

Sony Ericsson W580 / S500

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.39
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1...91011 12 1314

W580i is an eye-pleasing phone

 

Nov 19, 2007 by mianwaheed

I got this phone from AT&T in early November 2007. It is a nice phone with eye-pleasing & eye-catching design. I have encountered two problems:

one, its address book locks up when I try to scroll down past letter "Z" entries and then after 3 minutes, it reboots itself. It becomes annoying.

Second, it does not have good security features. For example, I was using a Motorola phone prior to this and I was able to lock individual applications on Motorola phone but it not possible on this SE phone. Otherwise it works great and has all the bells and whistles one needs for day-to-day use.


The phone is sick

 

Aug 24, 2007 by nonstop16

1 of the best phones out right now

AD       reviews continues below...


bought for my daughter

 

Sep 11, 2007 by pshaley

I bought this phone for my daughter yesterday, and she is happy with it. but I have some issues with Sony. The phone is advertised to come with pre-installed games, but it does not. It comes with "demo" games, that you can purchase. I called Sony about this, and the supervisor said that they don't say that it comes with the full version games. I said that it didn't say that it comes with a "demo" pac-man either. The phones back cover is very hard to remove, I had to take it to an AT&T store, and event they had trouble. There are some nice things about the phone that my daughter loves. It has a great camera, with some added fun features like special effects, and photo frames. She has not tried out the radio or music yet, so we don't know how that sounds. She is happy with the phone, and probably will not let me return it. I am not happy with the way Sony Ericcson let kids to believe they were getting installed games, that they really would have to buy. I am even more upset about the way they reacted when I called, and tried to justify what they said in there advertisements!!


a pyle and a half

 

Aug 31, 2008 by khudgin

the only thing this phone has going for It is it is really load. the keys started to break after three weeks and the screen went out after five weeks so i sent it in for a new one and i have had it for a week and have already broke the back key. the OS is messed up to. do not buy this phone trust me it is a pyle of crap.


HoRrIbLe PhOnE

 

Aug 30, 2008 by sniper055

it may be pretty, it might slide, it may have some fun games. but this phone is not for anyone that actually uses their phone. withing 2 months one of my menu buttons had broken. all my numerical buttons are CRACKED. its now august. bought the phone last december. this morning the 7th menu button broke. i cant even send a text message. and the warranty wont work because its fallen apart. their fault, not mine, and I'm paying for it. i hate this phone. DO NOT BUY.


Awesome Phone :)

 

Aug 30, 2008 by jlk1538

this phone is awesome!!!after having a non-camera phone, i needed to switch - fast!i was going to get a razr when i say this.it was great for me.i love how i can make my own songs and mixes and its camera is great!but after reading reviews about cracked buttons...well,it doesnt matter that much because ill be using the camera a lot lol. i have a memory stick


Not a bad phone

 

Mar 18, 2008 by brap54

Pros
reception. Able to actually hear conversations at my local sports bar. All my other phones had 1 bar or none for reception in there.

looks. Very stylish. I like it.

No problems here with the buttons. It just takes a little bit of use to get used to them.

Cons
Don't get a magnetic case.
It has a tendency to light up the phone constantly which kills the battery.


Great Phone

 

Oct 21, 2007 by Nayr_Eimaj

Phones nice. Cool light effects, loud sound, radio, shake control and other awesome features. It costs me 69.99 with 2year service and it came with speakers at best buy. The only con that this phone has is probably it does not have flash like my old nokia n75 but still takes better quality pics. Also video quality is not as great as on the nokia n75. But overall I say my Sony Ericsson is better.


Ehh, so-so...

 

Nov 12, 2008 by OMGgurl22

Well, it was awesome at first.
I loved it and it was in great shape and it looked cool and it pretty much rocked.
But then the paint started peeling off and my voicemail got messed up and my friend got the same exact one as me and I got fed up, so I asked if I could return it and they said no.
That was that--I went back to verizon and I love my enV. It was seriously a kool fone without all the technical and friend difficulties, and I feel horrible and guilty because my mom was so proud she bought it for me and, well, I'm in the process of paying her back. It was a bittersweet experience...


Mixed Feeling

 

Sep 18, 2007 by slhgkh

I purchased this phone last week. Kept it for a week and returned it. The phone is ascetically pleasing but craftsmanship is very poor. Battery door is a hassle, getting the SIM card in/out is a hassle and the door covering the M2 card is crap. The M2 card is only kept in place by the door, which looks like it could fail at any moment and then your out of luck. It doesn't lock in like the W300i. What were the SE engineers thinking. The phone advertises that 2 games are included, but all games are demos, which expire, nothing is included. The MP3 player also failed after about 4 days. ON a positive note, The FM radio is nice, and the light effects are cool. Battery life is very good. But overall, very dissatisfied, going back to Nokia.

Page 1...91011 12 1314

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2021 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.