Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sony Ericsson  ›

Sony Ericsson W580 / S500

 

Info Photos News Forum  100+ Reviews  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.39
Overall
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1...8910 11 121314

It's Perfect!!!!

 

Dec 15, 2007 by Kharma217

I believe this is the first 5 rating I've given. I usually base my review on how the phone works with the options it came with. This phone is just perfect all around!!! I am learning how to cope with not having a flip phone(which protects from accidental dials) and this is a perfect transition. I did call someone from my pocket once, but with the key lock there is a combination to get through before it dials and I managed to do it once-probably won't happen again.
So my PROS are:
-Reception & Clarity-perfect
-slide is smooth-not cheap feeling
-screen is bright & beautiful
-loud ringer, my friend thought my radio came on by itself when the phone rang!
-camera is actually pretty good(not DSLR, but the best I've experienced) it also has night mode and in-phone editor for light, contrast, etc. AND panorama mode is awesome!
-My husband got the gray/teal, its nice-looking, but the white is the only version that comes with a memory card. I like the white better anyways.
-can switch of photos from porttrait to landscape.
-Its pretty thin and fits in my pocket without much bulk, but it is sturdy.
-You can turn on fitness app, which counts your steps throughout the day, it shows the amount on the screeen. Pretty cool. It has a whole line of fitness apps-but I don't use them extensively.
-Light effects-which I love because I'm a girl!!!
That's the things that I like about this phone. I trade quite often, but I'll be keeping this one for a while. The most important to me are reception & clarity-and this phone delivers both perfectly....


Very nice phone

 

Dec 8, 2007 by Aerobaby

I've only had the phone for about a week from ATT. I've read many reviews and to go along with my experience- I'll rate it accordingly.

Pros:
- Nice 2MP camera, takes great pictures
- Stereo Bluetooth
- Very nice mp3 player interface
- Decent sounding; loud speakers
- The slide works great, not to loose and doesn't take to much effort to open
- Gorgeous 2 inch screen, and the phone looks awesome itself
- Expandable Memory
- Small
- Ability to have themes, animated wallpapers, and more.
- Good battery life (in my opinion)
- Comes packaged with headphones and USB cable

Cons:
- No LED flash or autofocus
- Feels awkward to text with
- The light that glows is always this ugly green color; it changes with theme but once you play an mp3 it goes back to green
- A lot of features have been disabled, removed, or changed because of ATT (this doesn't affect the score, but is a nuisance)
------------------------------------------
I had absolutely no problem taking off the phone cover or removing/adding the SIM card (took me like 40 seconds) but it might be because my fingernails aren't trimmed. The way people talked about it, I thought I would have to go buy some special tool- but once I got it, I easily removed and reapplied the back cover of the phone and the inactive SIM card with my SIM card.

The buttons aren't as pronounced as like the w810i, but I haven't had any problems with them (such as cracking). The reason I say it feels awkward to text is because my thumbs bump into the part of the phone that's above the number pad.

Overall, for the features I think it's very reasonably priced and it does everything great. I wish the phone had LED flash and my biggest problem with the phone is the things ATT did to it. I love Sony Ericsson walkman phones and it is packed with a lot of great features.

AD       reviews continues below...


W580i: Imitation Chocolate? No, better!

 

Dec 5, 2007 by will54880

I upgraded my phone from the SE W300i to the 580i today with no regrets. And seeing it is on the Cellular One GSM system makes it even better than that LG phone on "the network".

I would give it a full five stars, but I didn't like the battery cover design (tricky to remove), and the memory card and power button could have been located elsewhere.

Great camera
Great screen resolution
Great sounding music, including a radio!

Buy this phone!!!!


rock on

 

Sep 16, 2007 by joe222

its flippen awesome dude


AT&T Is Loosing Out...

 

Aug 21, 2007 by Tauro72

I have not found anything wrong with this baby, and the battery is more then long lasting.

This is for sure a Chocolate Killer, so what exactly is AT&T thinking about this phone? No idea, this should be in their line up but is not, so they are loosing out of a great product to offer to their customers..


Keys

 

Dec 9, 2008 by bmarsh

This phone has a good mp3 player but the keys are lacking when you use them on a regular basis even not texting, the keys tend to break.


So Far, So Good

 

Aug 25, 2008 by dhobbs_2000

My 850i took a swim and this was my replacement from my insurance. I read reviews from several sources and was leery before I even got the thing. The last ones I read said the key breaking problem was solved, so I was relieved. I haven't had any problems with it yet, although it's only been a month of usage.
Pros:
Good construction and light
Clear screen and bigger than my last Sony
Bluetooth music options -this was my big want, I just need to find the right bluetooth wireless headphones
Equalizer pre-settings and manual is awesome
I think it sounds better than my IPOD

Cons: None so far
Maybe somebody can confirm something: I tried out a Sony Bluetooth Wireless Headphone and the equalizer did not seem to effect anything I played.


Keylock unlocking

 

Jan 18, 2008 by eikiji

I just got my w580i yesterday and I am in love with it. However, I noticed that sometimes the keylock would turn itself off from inside its case, once catching it in the call history nearly making calls. I had read a few reviews that said they had this happen to them, but I assumed it had just been bad luck until it happened to me as well.

I just figured out what was causing it.

The magnet on the latch of the phone case disables the keylock.

If no buttons are pushed, the keylock resumes once the phone is taken away from the magnet. If a button is pushed, for example, the call list, it turns off the lock entirely.

I'm currently trying to see if I can remove the magnet from my case and replace it with some velcro. Just thought future and current owners may want to know this.


Nice phone overall, BUT

 

Jan 10, 2008 by SaphFire

I got this phone about 1 1/2 months ago and have been pleased w/ it so far EXCEPT for the fact that the keys are cracking right down the middle, so far my 1,2, and 6 keys have cracked. I was told that there is a new keypad but I would have to send it back to have it repaired at my expense which should not be the case as I have not physically damaged the phone. Otherwise, at this particular time that is my main complaint other than the fact that I can't find how to change around the "soft menu" keys only the navigation keys I have found that I can change. If anyone knows how to do this please let me know!

Pros:
Light Weight
Easy to Use

Cons:
Keypad build is not good (as mentioned above)


started well ended bad

 

Jan 4, 2008 by sowillsays

pros
- great music player
- awsome camera
- amazing battery life
- easy to use (user friendly)

cons
- terrible build
- buttons and keys dont last long
- not a texting type of phone

when i received this phone it was amazing no complaints... after about two and a half months the lights stopped blinking, the pictures werent saving, the keypad lights stopped lighting up, the sound became terrible when i tried using the phone, and the back, select, up, and middle button stopped working.

Page 1...8910 11 121314

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2021 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.