Home  ›  Forums  ›

Techs & Trends

all discussions

show all 9 replies

Carriers and phones

Operaman

Nov 23, 2004, 8:30 PM
I'm pretty new to all this, so please forgive my ignorance, I'm working on it!

Phones listed here on PhoneScoop have this "Offered By" section on their "Specifications and Features page.
Is this the list of carriers that will sell you the phone directly (or will sometimes throw it in with a phone service deal)?
Or is the full list of every major carrier that would let you use the phone?

For example, the Nokia 6600 is a GSM phone.
It lists only T-Mobile in it's "Offered By" section.
https://www.phonescoop.com/phones/phone.php?p=338 »
Does this mean that T-Mobile is the only major carrier to sell this phone?
Or does it mean that T-Mobile is the only carrier that this phone will work with?
I know that Cingular has a GSM network, and ...
(continues)
Rich Brome

Nov 24, 2004, 12:02 AM
"Offered by" means... offered by. 😉 It's the carriers that offer the phone for sale directly.

Compatible is something else. It's not as simple as GSM vs. CDMA.

There are also different frequency bands. T-Mobile only uses the 1900 band (PCS), and that's the only U.S. band the Nokia 6600 supports.

But Cingular uses both the 800/850 band and 1900. It varies by region, but it's safe to say that in many states you would get poor coverage with the 6600 on Cingular, and in some states you would get no coverage at all. You really want a phone with both bands if you have Cingular, and that's not the 6600.

(The 6620 does have both bands, though, plus some other upgrades, and it is offered by Cingular.)

Then there's locking... some ...
(continues)
Operaman

Nov 24, 2004, 12:20 AM
Thanks for the clarification Rich!

With GSM carriers, buy a GSM phone, make sure you the frequencies you need (with the huge variety of phones out there, I think I'd have a hard time justifying buying any phone that didn't support every frequency out there).