Home  ›  Forums  ›

Shop Talk

all discussions

show all 11 replies

Customer Longevity...

MistaBlue1914

Jan 11, 2007, 12:19 AM
Ok here is the question that I have, why do cell phone customers feel like since they have paid their bills on time that it warrants a deal on a new phone, when they are not eligible for an upgrade or just broke their phone and don't want to pay for a new one.

Does the electric company give out free light bulbs, or free months of service for long time customers, no.

Does the cable company give discounts on TVs or let you get the new HD digital converter for half off, no.

Does the car manufacturer give you a major deal on your next car because you have driven their brand for the last 10 years, no.

I work in customer service and have done so for the last 5 years, and that is one thing that I cant seem to understand. can anyone s...
(continues)
jrtool

Jan 11, 2007, 1:35 AM
Give me and Free are the most common words that i hear ALL day long. 👿
MrAbstracto

Jan 11, 2007, 3:37 PM
You're lucky if you hear 'Give me'
I hear 'Gimmie'.
sweetsoprano

Jan 11, 2007, 10:36 AM
Yeah I can shed some light...people don't want to pay for anything. They want everything free. It's the microwave society we live in. 🙄 They seem to think we owe them something. And for long-term customers who pay ON TIME and don't give us a whole lot of trouble, I agree. But just because you got mad at somebody and threw your phone against the wall and it broke, or you dropped it in the toilet and didn't purchase the insurance when it was offered to you, or you've had it a whole three months and now want the next new hot thing, does NOT obligate the company to cater to your ever-changing whims. And, just to make the customer realize how stupid they're being, I frequently use some variation on the analogies you've listed.
krickt

Jan 11, 2007, 11:39 AM
Actually, Ford sends me discounts (on top of my X plan) about a year before my last car is paid off.