Home  ›  Forums  ›

Shop Talk

all discussions

show all 45 replies

Anyone have advice on how to avoid the $175 cancellation fee?

ucsb93117

Oct 28, 2006, 9:42 PM
Hey everyone,
I'm not a cell company employee but I figured a lot of the people on this forum might be able to offer some much needed advice.
So I'm a college student & I've been with Verizon for the past three years, where I've never missed a payment or done anything to be considered a negative customer. My contract doesn't end until June 2007, but yesterday I ordered a new phone & service from cingular because i get a discount thru my new job....SOOO on Monday they're going to port my # over and then vrzn is going to charge me the fee....
I'm wondering if there is any excuse I can give them to avoid paying the $175...as a near-broke college student it would help me out tremendously to not pay that much just to get out of a contract. ...
(continues)
chainsaw

Oct 28, 2006, 9:45 PM
Your pretty much SOL. Your situation is self imposed unless you want to lie and say were called for military service or something. But that is illegal.
ucsb93117

Oct 28, 2006, 9:52 PM
my friend's brother did that but only because the situation was legit...and they had him fax a copy of his assignment and stuff..
but i wouldn't really have have a huge moral complex and lose any sleep over lying to a phone company...
Crapbag

Oct 28, 2006, 9:57 PM
As far as i know you would need deployment papers. In your case, as the port is in progress, i don't think you have much hope.
ucsb93117

Oct 28, 2006, 9:59 PM
are you sure the port in progress? i was told that when i activate the new phone when i receive it that's when things are put into motion?
chainsaw

Oct 28, 2006, 10:32 PM