Home  ›  Forums  ›

phonescoop.com

all discussions

show all 14 replies

Hey Rich...

HeroPsychoDreamer

Apr 12, 2005, 2:16 PM
Out of curiousity, I was wondering two thing:

1. Do you work in the wireless industry, or is running this site your full time job?

2. What prompted you to start this website? Obviously, you have a liking for the cellular/wireless world, but was it something more than that?

🙂

By the way, this is the greatest site on the internet in my books. Love it!
speedywalk

Apr 12, 2005, 2:27 PM
And does running the site full time make you a de facto eployee in the wireless sector?

Speedywalk
"It ain't broke, it just needs duct tape!"
HeroPsychoDreamer

Apr 12, 2005, 2:32 PM
Call me stupid... but what's a de-facto employee? 😕
Rich Brome

Apr 13, 2005, 9:54 AM
This is my full-time job.

It started as a side-project just to keep busy between jobs and keep my web skills sharp. My background is IT and web development. Phones are just something I was interested in, and there seemed like a need for a site like this.

Thanks! 🙂
HeroPsychoDreamer

Apr 13, 2005, 9:56 AM
Cool, thanks! You're doing a great job, keep it up!
uNt0uChAbLe

Apr 13, 2005, 11:22 AM
Rich, So how do you get into all of those wireless conventions that show off all the upcoming phones? I thought you would need to be someone higher up in the wireless industry. Will you sneak me in?
HeroPsychoDreamer

Apr 13, 2005, 11:24 AM
These conventions are open to the public. Like a car show, for example. 🙂
Rich Brome

Apr 13, 2005, 6:40 PM
Sort of, except admission starts at $120, and goes up to thousands for some shows... They're really more for people in the industry (who attend on business) than the public.
HeroPsychoDreamer

Apr 13, 2005, 6:42 PM
I think I'll stick to the auto shows... 😕
Rich Brome

Apr 13, 2005, 6:55 PM
Most trade shows offer free admission for noteworthy members of the press.