Phone Scoop

printed September 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=798

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola V190

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  69  

Average Ratings

3.95
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Excellent Phone

 

Jan 23, 2009 by dkgunte

I have to say I am very happy with this phone. I was looking for a phone, and this was perfect. I don't need to take pictures, do video, etc. I had the Ericsson Z310A, and the V190 is much better. Before I had to charge the Z310 pretty much every day. So far I have only had to charge this phone 6 times in 2 months of use.

Pros: Battery Life
Great reception anywhere
Easy to use/navigate
What a phone should be :-)

Cons: None so far

Would definitely recommend this phone to anyone who is looking for just a phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I like it

 

Dec 16, 2006 by shoreezy90

I like this phone...its pretty cute, its light, it realible...its off da chain..nice lil cheap phone worth ur money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great little phone!

 

Sep 1, 2006 by callie

I love this little phone! I bought it off of eBay recently and am thoroughly impressed with what it does. I originally bought it as a back up phone in case my dad's or my Nokia brand cell phones quit working for some reason. This phone is lightweight, small, and it has all of the features I could ever want. Who cares if it doesn't have a camera? That is what a digital camera is for! :) I can download mp3 ringtones onto this phone, unlike my Nokia 3120, and I can download themes, etc. So what if this phone is an entry level phone? It works great for what I need it for. I used to own a Motorola V180, which was unlocked, had a bad operating system, which was why it would always say I had no service. This phone works just fine and is unlocked,

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Basic Phone

 

Sep 1, 2006 by outrageous320

This summer has not been good to my mobile phones. I have washed my 1st Razr, dropped the 2nd, and stepped on the tiny C139. What am I to do?

I picked up the v190 at RadioShack and I am very impressed. The phone reminds me of the v300 minus the camera. The keypad is alot better than it looks and it has a satisfying click when pressed. The screen is CSTN so it's not as crisp as a v557, but it serves it purpose well. Connecting to MEdia net is a snap with the dedicated browser key and I can connect in a matter of seconds. Voice quality is amazing. If you are using the speaker phone function, keep the volume below 6 because the speaker starts to crackle. It uses the Motorola OS and it only takes a few minutes to become familiar with it. I don't think there is anything that makes this phone stand out in a crowd because it is so basic. This phone is perfect as a starter phone or as a temporary replacement.

$60-RadioShack

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great for entry level

 

Jun 10, 2006 by opdaddy

i bought this phone as a replacement. bought it as a gophone for only 60 bucks. its well worth the price. love the quad, love the speakerphone. love the mp3 ringtone capabilites. here's what i thought..

Pros
battery life is great
keypad lights are good
mp3 ringtones
quad band
fast GPRS
video playback
great reception
loud ringers
not too heavy
nice design

Cons
wish the screen resolution was higher
sometimes phone squeaks when opening

other than that. this is a great value. one of the best entry level phones i have encountered.

and for only 60 bucks, you can't go wrong.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I Love It

 

May 22, 2006 by softtouchmoto

Man,I just love this phone. i got it yesterday and have had NO problems. it has an M on the front that lights up blue

Pros:Light on cover
soft touch cover
big key pad big screen
mp3 ringtones
The list goes on

Cons:none so far i dont think there will be any

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blinded by the Light

 

May 19, 2006 by GravityFails

Much like anything else, when it comes to phones, there's an awful lot of crap out there. You've got to be careful, otherwise you'll wind up with a lemon that you can't return and can't use for its intended purpose. That's why I'm grateful for this site.

If you're looking for a kitchen sink-type affair with a camera and 6 gigs of memory, obviously the V190 isn't for you. Not that there's anything WRONG with those kinds of phones, but sometimes you just want to make a call, y'know? You don't want to spend $400 on something that can crawl across the floor and plug in the electric blanket for you.

Welcome to the V190.

It's got an STN screen (slower, not as crisp as TFT), but it's the best STN screen I've seen. It doesn't have a camera. It does, however, have fine reception and absolutely awesome battery life. (One week on standby in a low-signal area.) It's durable. The buttons are large and easy to read. It's lightweight and easy to jam into a pocket. (Guys? You'll be glad to know that the external antenna is unobtrusive and, uh, "easy to ignore.")

Call quality is good, and the speaker can be used with the flip closed, which is a thoughtful feature in an entry-level phone. It's got a standard 2.5mm jack on the bottom (kind of awkward), and the charging port is a mini-USB interface.

Both displays are clear and bright, so much so that the internal display outshines the one on my Slider, and can be used as a flashlight in a pinch.

Gripes? I guess I have a few. It's impossible to silence the annoying low-battery warning without silencing the entire phone, ringers and all. That's a Motorola thing, from the V190 all the way up to the Razr and Slvr. Okay, only one gripe. Sue me.

All in all, Motorola has crammed a lot of value into this cute little $60 package. If you're after a Cingular prepaid phone, there's really no reason to look at any of the others, including the Nokia 6010, the Sony Z300, or the T290.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good On Day One (temporary replacement phone)

 

May 15, 2006 by hexydes

I'm probably going to approach this review differently than most people, but hopefully others in my position will find it useful. I currently have a contract with Cingular. My old phone (LG C1300) died (OLED display cracked), and thus, I needed a new phone. I was not eligible for the phone discount with Cingular for another 6 months. Well, I can't go another 6 months not being able to see my phone's display. After discussing with one of Cingular's in-store rep's what my options were, they said I could either do a partial renewal of my contract (1/2 discount), swap it with another family member's phone that does not need the display, or buy one of the pay-as-you-go "GoPhones", swap the SIM card in my current phone into that one, and use that. I opted for that option.

I did some looking around for phones. I wanted a good one that I wouldn't mind using for the next 6 months, but not a super one, since I will be getting a new phone with my contract renewal anyway. I just needed something to get by. Cingular had some cool ones in-store, but they said they could not sell them to me without a contract (super lame, my personal opinion). I checked WalMart in-store, but their phones were lame. I checked online and found a Sony Ericksson that looked ok, but then I checked RadioShack, and found the Motorola V190. I checked it out in-store, and it looked pretty good. I asked them to make sure I could return it if the SIM swap did not work, and they said that I could, so I went ahead and bought it ($59.99 after $10 instant rebate). I took the phone home and charged it. I swapped the SIM card out, turned the phone on, and instantly, it had found Cingular's network and set me up. Absolutely painless.

Well, I'm down to 250 characters left. Uhm, the phone has IM support through ICQ and AIM (and Yahoo but I don't use that), which is cool. The charger doubles as the data-port, which is just a standard USB (so I was able to make my own ringtones and wallpapers), which is cool.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent basic phone

 

May 11, 2006 by pamela80

This is definately a great phone for someone who is looking for "just a phone".
Currently it is only available for Cingular Prepay at Radioshack however you can get it unlocked or buy one on ebay unlocked. Hopefully Cingular will carry this in their stores for post paid accounts soon.

Pros:
-Excellent reception
-Excellent call quality
-Bright lighted nicely spaced buttons
-Ringtones sound quality is great
-10megabytes of memory
-Loud speakerphone
-Nice black rubber for easy holding
-Bright screen
-Bright caller id lcd
-Great battery life
-Quad Band
-Fast mobile web

Cons:
-Wish screen wasn't STN, but it's a nice STN
-At 7 (highest volume) the speakerphone crackles, anything under 7 and this does not happen at all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


pretty good for motorola

 

May 5, 2006 by bestnetworkmyfoot

i would have to say that motorola did pretty good for themselves with this one. this is my 6th phone, so i guess i know my way around phones pretty good, but i have to resort to the manual more often than i think should be neccessary on a new phone.

pros:

i like the external display
vibrant screen
battery life is great (considering my last phone had about an hour talk time...and this one gives me about 4)
i like the black rubber stuff on the cover and battery

cons:

I have dropped a few calls....
takes a long time to load browser at times
NO BLUETOOTH!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1