Phone Scoop

printed September 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=730

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera Slider Remix KX5 / Slider Sonic

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

2.81
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Not my favorite but ok for kids

 

Jul 5, 2008 by nothing61486

I got this phone last july from U.S Cellular, and I loved it at the time. I think that kyocera shouldn't be out in the market because they need to update their software. It doesn't have alot of features, it's just simple, but that's always not a horrible thing. If you are a kid or an older person, i would reccommend this phone to you. But, if you're looking for a good phone with the "latest and greatest" this is the phone for you!

Pros:
Lightweight (can fit in pocket)
sliding feature-handy
Voice dialing
Micro SD card
MP3 player
Graphic Smileys

Cons:
this phone does not have covers for it.
The mp3 player is hard to use,it is also hard to find the card "title" in your computer
The camera takes HORRIBLE pictures

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone for a couple months

 

Nov 28, 2007 by jeff96784

this phone is great iv bough two of them both new. i had the first one it was great worked great till i broke the screen finally after 4 months i got it fixed it worked great then i had my first ear piece problem. so i switched back to my old fone since i hated talking on speaker phone all the time. so i had my old fone for 3 months and bought another one off a website it was brand new and this time it came with a extended batery great since the orignal battery sucked after 2 months of use. so i had this one it worked great but for only 2 and a half months before it had eirpeice problems. i researched that problem some more and found out that it has to do with the OEM(i believe thats correct) and since its a sliding phone some magnet moves it out of place and messes it up. also the restarting of the phone when trying to listen to music is due to the name of the song if it contains (-, &*%$) any of those it will no work so you need to go through and manuely change them which is a pain but worth it in a sense
_____________________________________________
PROS
-very cool looking
-nice large screen
-has a great txt feutre which is recent list (it list the last ten people youv txt so you dont have to look them up)
-great service (i use us cellular and am in the chicago reigon)
-nice camera
-expandble memory (mini sd slot)
-cusotm ringtone (if you know how)
CONS
-horible battery life (buy extended battery)
-sliding motion can be easily screwed up
-earpiece stops working after a while (can not be fixed at the store i went to they said phone was trash)
-only 6 txt tones and they suck
- doesnt charge while on the fone only holds a charge
-silence all doesnt silence it it only silence the call if phone is on vibrate for txt still vibrates( and to even get to silent you have to go through a bunch of menus cant just hold the volume button
_____________________________________________
all in all this is a great phone if your willing to buy a new one every month

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not as good as i hoped, however still a decent phone

 

Jun 27, 2006 by sneek24

So i just got this phone/Service (Remix through Cricket) about a week ago and have had some time to play with it. I had the Sony Ericson se710 through Cingular before this phone, and the LG VX600 before that phone. I got this new setup with the Flash card, Stereo Headset, and data kit also. Here are the pros and cons that I've found thus far.
also i work in the cell phone industry so ill try to be as helpful as possible. lol
_____________________________________________
***Pros***
LOUD speaker (pretty clear also)

Display is bright and very colorful

Great slider lock (doesn't accidentally slide closed)

Pretty Good Camera (as long as the light is good)

ITS BLACK

MP3's sound amazing with the headset and just off the speaker on the phone

Standard 3.5 Headset plus (not brand specific)

Buttons are perfect sized for a big handed person like myself and i like how the buttons are lit when opened.

Battery life is pretty good

The antenna is set in place, don't have to pull it out
_____________________________________________
***Cons***
Trying to make your MP3's ringers is almost impossible

the pics are good, but not great

flash isn't great, but at least it has one

The Volume is either to loud or to quiet, no happy medium

You cant have it Ring and Vibrate at the same time (you either have to have it ring, vibrate, or Vibrate for a while THEN Ring)

When i was putting stuff on the memory card for some reason when i tried to access a song on the phone, it would reset. i took out a couple songs and it doesn't do this anymore and I'm still not sure what was causing it.
_____________________________________________
In my opinion its a decent phone for Prepaid service (Cricket) but not a spectular phone. I like being able to use a data cable and put music on my phone and make it my ringers and put pics from my computer on the phone also, however its almost impossible on this phone.

Hope this Helps.
=-)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone/Lots of options.

 

Aug 25, 2006 by A King

Working for the Cellular Industry for 2 years and owning a slider have proven to me that this phone is a great buy. For 130.00 you get a 1.3MP camera, media player (mp3,midi,jpeg,bmp,asm), and a unique design hat will set you apart from the other phones. You have the ability to go up to 512mb storage via Micro Flash. The speaker plays exceptionally and has no "hollow noise" like most other media phones. You also get blue-tooth 1.3 which is always a plus for on the go people. Great customization options include taking pictures and setting as wallpapers/screensavers/caller ID (also supports .jpeg/.bmp/.png from your computer via USB cable included), Ability to set MP3s as contact specific ringtones or startup sounds, and editing of your softmenu to your hearts content. Overall a 4.5 for lack of a bigger Flash chip included.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall I love this phone

 

Jan 26, 2006 by loser_kid

From the first time I opened the box I knew I was going to love this phone first I'll start with it's Pros:
I love the style of this phone
The sound of the phone is fantastic. It's loud and there is litte distortion.
I love the camera on this phone it was way better then anything i've had before
The speaker phone is very loud also.
Cons: The only cons I could think about was that you can't use MP3's as ring tones. Also the battery life could be better.
Overall I give this phone a 4.5. I don't think I could be happier with any other phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


KX5's from Midwest Wireless

 

Oct 26, 2005 by KLDick

Pro's: Menu's easy to use, transter of pictures and contacts was a breeze. Phone was very clear. I have been a LG6000 user for 2 years and it was a tough, great phone. I'm looking forward to putting this one to the test.
I think this is going to make a great X-mas gift for lots of kids.

Con's: I think they could still simplify the software (phone tools)they could take a couple tips from Susteen.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Never judge a book by it's cover

 

Feb 9, 2007 by jamie.ccms

I hated this phone at first, really I did.

I hated the way it looked and how big it was. I was also very skeptical about it being a slider.

Kyocera's earlier slider models had a glitch that caused the screen to go out after opening and closing it after a couple times because of wires inside that would disconnect. This phone was a breakthrough for Kyocera, along with the Xcursion, as a new line of newer and better improved phones by Kyocera.

After taking the phone out of the box and playing with it, I learned to LOVE it. Seriously, after the first 2 minutes of playing with it, looks didn't matter to me. I fell in love with the slidy-ness again. The 1.3 megapixle camera worked really well, and looked nice.

The MP3 player is a nice add on with the feature, and was one of the first phones that US Cellular offered with the MP3 player, so was a big seller and had a lot of fans.

The style of the menu also adds to the coolness factor, the wheel, which has always been a classic with the Kyocera phones, has been upgraded and looks really awesome.

Another really nice added feature on these phones is the games. Nokia also has games on them as well, and some of the older Motorola's, but the Kyoceras seem to always come standard with actual fun games that you don't have to spend extra money to download, which is always a plus.

The screen is bright and vibrant, good color on the screen, goes hand and hand with the camera, which is always a plus.

Really, I love this phone. A lot. Nothing I could find wrong with it. Besides the style, which, eventually, I learned to love. So, it goes to show you, never judge a book by it's cover.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Virgin Mobile Slider Sonic - Excellent!

 

Nov 16, 2005 by bry1023ny

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Alltel Kx5 Slider is GRREAT!

 

Jun 28, 2006 by Drakkon

I recently converted over from a tmobile account to an alltel account. What a nightmare...tmobile didnt want to give up my number for 3 days. Anyways through tmobile i had a v300 that broke its antenna but always had poor to no reception constantly dropping calls.
Now i got this kyocera kx5 through alltel and its like ngiht and day. I can actually stay inside while talking on the phone, coverage is great, connection is great. Phone is superior to my v300 in just about every way, but kinda falls short when its touted as some music listening device as they dont provide enough memory on it to do much.

Pros
colorful screen
great reception
exandable memory (but they only give you a 16mb microSD card /w the phone - enough for maybe 2-3 good songs)
takes great pics for a phone

cons
keypad took some getting used to - arrow/ok buttons kinda hard to click
not enough memory - touted as an MP3 phone to me but only 16mb of storage
provided data cable but no software
provided device to play music but no songs on phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Alltel Slider

 

Mar 21, 2006 by GravityFails

I was skeptical when it came to trying out the Slider. Kyocera doesn't even appear on my tech radar, so imagine my surprise when the Slider turned out to be the finest phone I've ever used.

Yes, it's awkward at first. The sliding motion initially seems unnatural, but it soon becomes second nature and you'll find yourself wondering how you ever lived with a standard bar or clamshell. The phone need not be open to be used; all basic features, including the menu and camera, can be accessed with slide closed.

Pros:

+Superior voice quality
+Beautifully smooth screen
+Excellent speaker
+MP3 Player
+Good Camera
+Decent battery life
+Solid feel
+Crystal-clear Bluetooth
+Expandable memory with micro SD cards
+Small footprint, low profile
+Great accessories included
+2.5mm jack, in case Bluetooth ain't your thing

Cons:

-No FM radio
-Limited customization of menus, colors, and buttons
-Won't wash the dishes or cook supper

It's hard to review a handset and give an objective, reliable opinion, because there are simply too many variables that contribute to a phone's overall value, with the largest among these being the carrier. Do not expect the same level of satisfaction from Virgin that you'd get from Alltel; for our purposes here, these are two entirely different phones and the only one that I unreservedly recommend is the one from Alltel.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234...7

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2