Phone Scoop

printed November 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=730&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera Slider Remix KX5 / Slider Sonic

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

2.81
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 567

This Phone is TERRIBLE

 

Aug 2, 2007 by bigirish_34

I've had this phone for approx. 8 months and I haven't been happy with it at all. As a matter of fact I almost threw it out the car window yesterday. If you carry it in your pocket, as I do, you'll spend a big part of your day turning of the recording message feature because the external buttons are very sensitive. The internal buttons are small and hard to use if you've got any size to your fingers at all. When I try hitting the OK button, most of the time I'll hit one of the directional buttons and have to back up and try again. I live in a rural area and most of my co-workers have better reception on their less expensive phones then I do. The slide feature is way too sloppy and tends to slide back together while using the phone slide apart while carrying it in my pocket. I've tried carrying it in the holster they provide (which is a whole other story) and in one that I've purchased and the experience isn't any better. I'm sorry, I didn't want to be so negative and I think I've given this phone a fair shake by keeping it as long as I have but Saturday it goes bye-bye.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lame...

 

Jul 17, 2007 by sarahbellum22

This phone was a waste of money. I dropped $200 on this phone and I regret it so much.
I got this phone from Cricket and about 4 or 5 months after I got it the buttons on the front of the phone just stopped working. Not even the call button worked, it was a chore just making a call. Then my earpiece went out and I could only talk on speaker phone. It would turn off whenever it felt like it, even on a call. It just was a nightmare. I went to Cricket to get a new phone and they told me if I filed a claim I could get a new slider remix, but I refused to get another one. And Now I'm with TMOBILE. :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


totally discusted

 

Jul 3, 2007 by mdon67

I got the kyocera slider remix. Looked great and has many features. I have had it just about a year. I had to get it replaced 8 times. Either the scroll don't work, shuts off, freezes, or/and can't call out. Each time I had it replace it cost me $85 with cricket warranty plan. This phone cost me over $600 just to have it replaced on top of the cost. I would never buy another kyocera phone. (just don't judge a book by its cover)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Kyocera Slider Remix....Ick

 

Jul 2, 2007 by sammi30

Well, I too, loved this phone....at first. Love the look, MP3 player, takes good pics...However, after my third replacement I think I will get a different phone. Everything was fine until one day when some of the keys stopped working. Annoying, considering the send button was one of them. It also always had an issue with freezing up when listening to the MP3 player. I would have to take out the battery and replace it and then turn the phone back on to get it to unfreeze...again annoying. So after my first replacement, I figured I would be OK. Not so. After about 3 months the same thing happened and happened a third time after my third replacement. What are the chances of me getting the same issues out of three phones....?

I also have 3 friends who have the EXACT same issues with their phones.... Hmmm, makes me think there are known issues with this phone.

I would be curious to know how long the positive review customers have had their phone.

So...I think I will get a Samsung.....Never had any problems with those.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I Really Think it takes a big stp back compared to some other newer ones

 

Jun 29, 2007 by marcc

well lets start by say i would take the motarola v23i over this phone any day. the worst thing is you cant use bluetooth i have tried it on mulity phones it just rejects them that sucks

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


slider remix

 

Jun 24, 2007 by momma2

when i first recieved the phone it was so cool i loved it...it was bright and loved the bubbely options it had it was just a cute fun phone...well now its been less then 6 months since ive had it...i had a car charger it came apart...then some of my phone buttons just stopped working on my phone, so i could only answer with speaker phone button! cant scroll down anymore to read and get my texts...its wierd now i cant make calls out, well i can but i cant hear anything but they can hear me...and calls come in and i can answer but same thing i cant hear them but they can hear me.so if you are looking to get this phone i would say dont...buttons dont work,...cant answer it...and also the camera part always freezes up and the flash just stays on and i have to shut the whole thing off and start over! i will never spend this much on a phone again! dont waste your money!!! its cute but not worth it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Owned & Loved

 

Jun 9, 2007 by Tailz2k7

Other than the Helio Ocean using this phone with the cricket service was my best experience in mobile phones. This phone exceeded all my expectations. If you use all the features it will consume battery life but to add an additional hour or two buy a extended life battery. Mp3 feature works superbly. Sound is good and drops very few calls. You will definately enjoy the quality of this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wasn't Happy

 

Jun 2, 2007 by CTownBabyGirl

In the beginning i loved the phone. It has alot of extra features and I was impressed for a Kyocera phone. In the beginning here's what i thought:

Pros:
Loud Speaker
Clear Sound
Loud Ringer
Music Player
Decent Camera
Nice Display
Bluetooth

Cons:
Short Battery Life (does not last as long as it says)
Delay When opening the phone to show the display
A little bulky/heavy

Well after a couple months everything started falling apart. For starters the buttons on the front of the phone would only work if the phone was open at a certain place which took forever to find if you know what i mean. Then if you started takin multiple pictures on the camera the phone would freeze. Then eventually the buttons on the front of the phone stopped working all together. The charger began to stop working, it would charge the phone only half way and then stop charging. Then when i would call people out of my contacts it would call another person, it was really odd. Also, the media player took forever to figure out and it is really unorganized. Now it has gotten to the point where I have to put the phone on speaker at all times if I want to talk on it, i cant hear anything out of the earpeice. Mind you this all happened in a 6month period. I thought it might just be my phone but i spoke to about 6 or 7 other people who had the same phone and only after a few months the same exact things were happening to them. I would not recommend this phone to anyone it was just a head ache

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Worst phone money can buy

 

Apr 30, 2007 by jim101

Less than 6 months ago we (my family) switched phone companies to US Cellular which is a great phone service. However, I have never had to actually "buy" a phone from any celllular company and I have used over 4 different companies in total.
So, that was a real let down right off the bat.
Anyway, we got a few rebates that softened the $500 plus 4 phone package.

My daughter decided on the Slider which we had looked at in the store.
I check it over and decide that wasn't the best phone to get because the sliding part of the phone would in time (in my opinion) would wear out and not work correctly.
Being it was the "in" phone she mentioned she would use some of her own money to buy it, so we got her that unit. Just last week it went out with the exact reason I had brought up before, and she is now using the phone only in speaker phone mode because the sliding ear/display unit does not work. Her friend has an exact unit that has done the exact thing in less than a years use.
The big problem for me is that I purchase a different phone but was shipped a slider for some unknown reason, so I suppose my day is comming. Do not buy this phone unless you want problems...

pros - nice loud speaker to use when the ear piece goes out.

cons - battery life is horrible, camera is not a 1.3 mp, unit is bulky, there are no good cases for it, ,,,
it's just an inferior quality phone that is not worth purchasing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Eh...its okay

 

Mar 22, 2007 by simplisticmonk

i work in the wireless technology industry, and i wasn't too impressed with this phone. this phone needed special attention when coming to programming, data transfers, and dealing with the memory card. its not fantastic, but its not horrible either

pros:-pretty much up to date on capabilities (mp3, 1.3 megapixel camera, internet access, etc.)
-pretty easy to use menu for the basics, def. different than most cell phone interfaces
-sleek design

cons:
-crap sound quality, sounds like ur speakers are dying a horrible slow death every time you play music
-battery life could be way better
-the buttons/slider function isn't too smooth

all in all, its a phone that works..clear calls, decent camera...nothing to jump for joy over

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1