Phone Scoop

printed December 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=596

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-N330

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.65
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

so far so good.

 

Dec 6, 2005 by theoneandonly

i have owned the samsung n330 for over a month and have had no problems with it so far.

the internal antenna was tricky at first but a slight adjustment in the way you hold it makes all the difference. just dont hold it like a gorilla and you should be all set.

i've read other reviews and one concern that kept popping up was that you cannot see the time w/out having to slide up the screen. this is not true.. if you patiently hold down the volume adjust on the right hand side for a second the time will light up. rocket science i know.

this phone has great service compared to my previous LG camera phone and it is overall incredibly easy to use.

4 out of 5 because i have yet to see what a little wear and tear will do to the phone but as for now im thoroughly pleased.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Okay Phone...

 

Jun 20, 2006 by caesar6591

Ok, I am writing this review on my brother's user. I have the SCH-n330 and it is a really cool little phone. After you get over the "pop-up screen" you start to see the bad points of the phone.

PROS...

--- Bright screen.
--- Easy to use menu.
--- Ringtones are good.
--- Size is perfect.
--- SPEAKERPHONE (although works poorly).

CONS...

--- I have had 3 of these phones.
--- Wallpapers are really bad.
--- Sound quality is horrible.
--- Buttons are to small and not spaced well.

Other than that, this phone is okay but it does not really work well. I can't hear what other people are saying and they can't hear me. It is a really cool phone, but bad bad bad sound quality.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Very Impressed

 

May 21, 2005 by StarbucksSam

I read the mixed reviews of the Samsung SCH-n330 and I was wary about buying it. I resolved to spend no less than ten minutes testing it out in the Verizon store and I fell in love with it. So did my Mom, so I even ended up paying more for it because she used her one-year contract promo price and I paid retail - but that's okay because this phone is worth the money.

It's a cute but not obnoxious-looking phone and while some of the pics online are close to the way it really looks, none of them do it justice. It's a very attractive phone in real life and it's smaller than I thought it would be... EVEN WITH THE SCREEN FULLY OPEN.

PROS:

Crisp call quality
Cool and well-designed "pop" mechanism
Great speaker phone - very impressed
Easy but not annoying side keys
Ability to answer and talk with phone closed
Internal antenna
Enhanced Messaging w/ included graphics
Get It Now
Mobile IM with AIM Yahoo and MSN
Impressed the cute waitress at Cheeburger Cheeburger
Three-way calling - you'd be surprised how many phones you'd think would have this DON'T
Samsung build quality - A-grade!

NEUTRALS:

Screen is nice but not QUITE as crisp as the Samsung A670 I used to have
Cannot dial with phone closed, however can close phone and continue call (dependent upon your settings)
Voice/Digit Dial is complicated if you don't have it to your ear

CONS:

Touching antenna area does significantly reduce reception and may stop you from receiving a call if your finger is over it
Keys are on the small side but still - my Mom has a hard time because she has to use her fingernails as she can't really use her tip of her finger - may be a problem for some women. I find pressing with the SIDE of your finger is very effective
Cannot play (not setup to play, anyway) voice ringtones
Cannot change "closed" display as far as I am aware

I don't take off any point for lack of a camera or bluetooth or anything stupid - this is a mid-range phone and it does what it is SUPPOSED to do VERY well. RECOMMENDED.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great alternative to the clamshell

 

Apr 24, 2005 by zws284

Got this phone yesterday afternoon (so this is a preliminary review) and I've definitely enjoyed it so far.

Pros:
-Small, compact footprint in your pocket (I had an issue with antennas breaking on my Motorola clamshell, so this is a refreshing change)
-Solid build
-Great screen
-I like how the contacts are stored and accessed (this is my first Samsung, so I'm not sure if this is typical or not)
-Screen is bright and clear

Cons:
-Ringers leave something to be desired
-I wish there was a way to turn on the backlight to check time when the screen isn't extended (if there is, I haven't found one)
-No analog mode

All in all, I'm pretty excited about this phone - I feel like it's lived up to my expectations and I'm glad I've waited the last 5 months for it to come out.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Well worth the money

 

Apr 23, 2005 by pizpiz80

I got this phone yesterday and im really pleased. I had a sammy a530s and got this one because of the internal antenna and the speakerphone. Call volume is a tad low but no huge deal.

Pros-
nice color (better than boring grey)
well made
pop up screen is nice
internal antenna
bright screen
SPEAKERPHONE!

Cons-
could have been a little thinner
not many ringtones preloaded

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love this phone

 

May 23, 2006 by Timmybung

Have owned this phone for about 6 months now, absolutely love it. The snap-open screen is by far the coolest feature I've had in a phone, love getting calls so I can snap it open. The keypad buttons are a tad small, that's a very minor complaint. I use a hands-free all the time and just tuck the phone in a pocket- it's so nice & small it's perfect for that. The speakerphone is decent too, though I prefer a hands-free headset. Charges up quick, a charge lasts forever, I will agree with some other reviews that the basic ringtones loaded on the phone are a bit limited. Overall love this phone, have never regretted buying it (and at $40 what a bargain!)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This Phone Is My Baby!

 

May 22, 2005 by ursecretlovah

I love this phone. I'm sorry but I can't find ANYTHING I don't like about it. It totally deserves a 6/5! It's uber cute and it has great call quality. The features are just right for the price range and it's a PHONE, not a bluetooth or camera device. It does my TXTing well which is exactly what I need and it has Get It Now to get some cool ringers and wallpapers. I love this phone SO much.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice phone in a small package!

 

May 17, 2005 by CRCinOklnd

Just got the N330 last Saturday for my NE2, which replaced my LG-4500. So far I really like this phone...it's attractive, compact and very easy to use. Here are my pro's and con's...

PROS:
-Great design, love the "pop-up" screen!
-Compact, small...but still able to navigate around on the buttons very easily.
-Good sound quality for both the listener on the other end and myself.
-Nice speakerphone...callers heard me quite well...stated they had no difficulty understanding me.
-No attenna stub to stick me in my leg while in my pocket!
-Nice screen...very clear and easy to read. Nice color.
-Very easy to program and use. Was concerned because I liked the ease of use of my LG-4500...but this is very similar.
-Holds a signal a little better than my LG here in the S.F./East Bay area.

CONS:
-Makes you use 10-digits/area code for programming local calls. Not too big of a deal, but only had to use 7-digits for local on my LG.
-Network roam option always resets to "home only" if you power off the phone and turn it back on. Here in CA., I'm supposed to be on "automatic B". I always leave my phone on 24/7, so not a problem...but this might be part of the reason others are having signal holding difficulty. Check your setting if you power off your phone for any reason. Maybe it's the version of software (currently on YA21).
-Can't have the ring and Vibe-Tonz together unless the ringer is at FULL VOLUME! It would be nice and a great feature if you could have the ringer "low" with the Vibe-Tonz on...be more useful that way!
-No tip calculator...like on my LG. :-(

All in all, I really like the phone! I have 15-days to try it out, so we'll see! I didn't want a camera phone, so it was either this or the Kyocera SoHo (VX1). If this doesn't work, I'll go back to my LG till something else comes out. But I think it'll be a keeper!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


You get what you pay for.

 

Apr 23, 2005 by ferndog

Well, I am really bummed! I had high expectations for this phone. The prelimary reports seemed to be positive but maybe they were given by 10 year olds.
This phone really sucks! The call volume is lousy....really hard to hear. The speakerphone is on par with the 6100( which I feel is lousy). Call quality has lots of static, keypad is made for 5 year olds. Build quality is nice but the colors have got to go. Like the title says...you get what you pay for. The reason for the low price is clear to me. I'll never tell anyone to not buy a phone, but to try it yourself. I am convinced this phone will post more negative reviews in the coming weeks.

Pro's: Hmmmm, I guess the features are ok.

Con's: I need not explain too much, no reason to.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone

 

May 23, 2010 by narn3049

i love this phone.

it doesn't need to have a camera i got a digital camera for that.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2