We're giving away 10 HTC One (M8) harman/kardon edition phones for Sprint! Enter now!
Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=43

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola v120c

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

2.66
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great phone

 

Jun 21, 2012 by crkcallie

I had this phone back when I had Verizon Wireless and I really liked it. Below are lists of pros and cons about the device.

PROS

- durable
- good ringtones (when monophonic ringtones were cool)
- good design overall
- battery life

CONS
- none

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not as bad as most are saying, but bad enough

 

Nov 29, 2005 by dwbdave

I've never experienced some of the problems that have been mentioned in these reviews with this phone. I have the Alltel version, used to have the Tracfone version as well but ditched it. However, you can do better, for less.

Battery life is excellent, but should be, since the battery is almost twice the size of contemporary phones in other brands. I've come across a couple with Chinese made batteries that wouldn't accept a charge; Japanese made batteries seem to perform better. The charger plugs into the bottom of the phone, it has a clumsy connector with three metal hairlike pins that make contact to the bottom of the phone. This did not pose a problem in my experience, but will eventually fail compared to the traditional pin type that Nokia uses.

The keypad will occasionally not sound a tone when you press a button on some handsets, so you have to closely watch the screen to see what you've entered. The small screen size makes this a chore.

There's a zoom option that makes one line of lettering larger, which cuts down on the number of lines that you can see. If you are used to Nokia phones, the button layout will be awkward.

The Alltel version (v120e) has an antenna stub that doesn't retract like the other v120 models, but all are sticking out there, asking to be broken off (but I haven't experienced this).

If you have the Tracfone version, you might want to dump it for the Nokia 2126, it's nearly half the size and weight, and despite the Nokia's size, you'll like the display better. A call to customer service and your units/service can be transferred from an older phone to the newer one, click on my username above and email me for info if you wish.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


It was free!!!

 

Oct 6, 2005 by Static Image

This phone has recently become my emergency phone I keep in my car. It was free from a friend, and it lasted for a while. While I wasn't as rugged on this phone as I usually am on others, I feel it could last through a small explosion. It had good reception for the time it was used in, the layout was odd, but very easy to get used to, and the battery...
Oh wow, this battery just won't die.

So the cons are-
The layout really is odd. It seems backwards, in a way.

The anttena broke very quickly, thought I'm not sure how good it was in the first place.

The charging method gets tempermental at times.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Piece of junk...

 

Jan 24, 2004 by motoxtop

Antenna broke off after owning the phone for roughly 3 days... Totally don't like the interface/menuing... Can't download ringtones... I can go on and on and on... Let's leave it at worst phone purchase I've ever made.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Stay Away

 

Oct 19, 2002 by RORY GANNESS

Just a warning to anyone enticed by the low low price of this phone..... It sucks!!! As the service manager of a bell mobility dealer this phone has kept me very very busy. And if you do get one, make sure and pick up a few extra antennas to save yourself a trip.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Stay away from 120c

 

Oct 24, 2002 by Brian Fedje

As a Verizon Wireless dealer, I will NOT recommend this phone to customers who travel outside of a metropolitan area. It has a poor track record with reception. Nice features and battery life, but not enough to make up for poor ear piece volume, flimsy antenna, and terrible reception. To Motorola: What happened?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Piece of crap...

 

Feb 22, 2004 by aleake

I can't even imagine how some people can even look at this junk, I'm not talking about buying it... Please, stay far far far away from this piece of sh*tty plastic! Don't waste your money! Those who own this sh*t, either do not know what real cell phone looks like or are cheap apes (sorry!). Gee, come on, take off your pink glasses, it's a piece of crap!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Run away!

 

Mar 16, 2003 by Ray Cahill

The only good thing about this phone is the battery time. It is a poor phone drops signal when you get in a area that has a lower signal EX Maine/ or Vermont the phone will start to search for a better one. I was really shocked that this phone even made it to the market.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice features - poor quality

 

May 10, 2002 by Richard Testa

I purchased this phone from Verizon because of the price and features. I was disappointed with the sound quality and inability to hold a weak signal. I had 15 days to exchange it so I went back and got a Motorola StarTAC 7868.

The ST is a much better phone but there are features that the 120c had that I miss. The ST doesn't have voice activated dialing and is not ERI capable but the superior audio/signal strength makes up for the bells and whistles that it lacks.

I suggest that you research as much as you can before buying any phone. Wouldn't it be great if we could "rent" one for a week before buying it?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Okay, not great

 

Jul 29, 2002 by Heather Sherman

I purchased this phone after trying the latest Sanyo phone (and discovering Sanyo no longer provided
ring+vibrate). My previous Sanyo phone was about 3 years old and I was ready for something smaller.

The v120c is disappointingly basic for a modern phone. The v120c phone doesn't have any PDA features, alarms or a speakerphone. My mother got the (discontinued) Touchpoint 2100 for a similar entry level price, but with vastly more features, so I'm contrasting it to that.

Additionally, it's a little bulky for a front pocket, but tolerable -- except for the antenna (mine eventually snapped off).

All in all, I suspect there are better phones out there for the price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2