Phone Scoop

printed July 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1966

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Impression SGH-A877

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  71  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.3
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

great phone, until...

 

Mar 13, 2011 by abrahamv16

the screen stopped working, the space key would also put in a random period every so often, and the texts would stop sending. it was like one of the greatest phones i had(so i thought) but it wasnt. dont waste your money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I liked this phone

 

Aug 19, 2009 by stanthecellphoneman1

Pros
- very nice screen
- very good pic and video although zoom would have been nice
- great internet
- love the big keyboard very spacious especially since i have big fingers
- good speaker and sound

Cons
- the frigin lock button sucks i dont know why they put the lock button like that it sucks thats pretty much the only bad thing about it i just slide it open to unlock

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Impreesed..

 

Jul 23, 2009 by dchao22

PROS: vivid color pixels, finger friendly icons, accurate touchscreen when using your nail, great battery life for a touch screen phone, love the keyboard( the 4 rows gives it a much better, faster texting capable phone), great camera quality for 3 mega pixel WITH NO AUTO FOCUS, excellent bluetooth connectivity with display, and Loud speaker for ringtones, and talk music is exceptional.

CONS: not enough widgets for my needs,and no 3.5mm headset jack.

I just wanted to begin saying that I've had my phone since it's been released and i''m a phone enthusiast. I would highly recommend getting this phone for those who needs a full keyboard text device, and then some. i always charge my phone when the battery is dead, and i get literally 3 days to 3 and a half days worth, that's including internet usage( facebook, google search, and myspace), roughly 60 text a day, and 45 to 60 minutes of phone calls, i didn't give it a perfect 5 because i felt like there were not enough features for me. Thanks for reading.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I love this phone.

 

Jul 14, 2009 by yukonxl

I wanted everything in a phone (preferably), so I was looking for a smart phone; I eventually realized that all I really used my phone for was texting and talking. I couldn't find a new model flip phone that appealed to me, either.

I've used and sampled many phones and this is the happiest I've ever been with a cell phone. I find myself wanting to use it just because I have it. :)

I chose the Impression because I wanted a large screen, but wasn't sure I would like dialing and texting from a touch screen phone, especially after using the Eternity. I also like the spacing and feel of the keyboard in comparison to other phones with full keyboards (incl. smart phones).

The music player isn't anything special, but does its job well. The phone allows you to multitask (play music and text, or text and talk, etc...).

Pros:
Large screen with beautiful display;
Comfortable qwerty keyboard;
Improved touchscreen keyboard compared to Eternity;
Nice set of tools;
Sturdy feel;
Loud & clear call volume;
Good camera and features;
Can be used as an external storage device;
Excellent battery life (compared to my prior phones (RAZR V3xx, LG U500, and a Nokia);

Cons:
Web browser decent, but slightly disappointing;
Must work with existing widget set - no new or user created widgets or shortcuts;
No 3.5 (or even 2.5) headphone jack, must use Bluetooth or proprietary jack.
Can't change themes/skins.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung Impression is ok

 

Aug 23, 2009 by xdwhit

OK I bought this phone for my birthday, when it first came out. At first I thought it was a great phone. Then after a month or two later it started freezing and messing up on me. I would much prefer the old razor over this phone
Pros:
Large Screen

Large keys

Loud Speaker

OK camera

Quick internet browser

Cons:
Does not allow you to change the locked screen saver.

After I send so many texts it wont let me send anymore, and I must restart the phone.

Not a very well built operating system.

Lock key in very bad position.

Keys on qwerty keyboard do not work all the time. Especially the U key.

Not many games on phone.

Overall I would say I could have chosen a better phone then this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Is the Impression that Impressive?

 

Apr 8, 2009 by LinkinIncubus

From AT&T's newest line up of "quick messaging" devices comes the Samsung Impression. At first glance the Impression offers you smooth lines and a brilliant all touch display. The phone fits incredibly well and has a solid weight to it. In using the phone I've noticed the spring assisted slide works a little to well and often while trying to unlock the phone your thumb will begin to slide out the phones physical 4 row QWERTY key board.

The phone features the latest version of Samsung's Touch Wiz interface introduced on the Samsung Eternity. Functionality remains the same however a bit of functionality is added with several new customizable "widgets" on the phones today screen.

The screen is brilliant and bright. It has a very wide viewing angle so movies can be enjoyed by all around and works well in sunlight. Out of the box I found the haptic feed back settings were a little to much and the vibrations were quite annoying. Setting the level down in the 2-3 range made for a much more pleasant experience.

Audio when played through the phones speaker and ear piece reception wasn't bad through major city can't vouch for rural areas.

All in all is a "pretty" phone not as functional as comparable priced phones.

Pros:
Great Screen
Huge Keyboard
Camera Quality
Solid Design
New Widgets

Cons:
Lock Button
Slides TO easy
Pricey for the features

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Simply Amazing

 

Jun 29, 2009 by dany

I absolutely love this phone. It has a beautiful bold screen, nice spacey QWERTY keyboard, and an extremely friendly user-interface. The best part is, it isn't considered a "smartphone" which means you don't have to pay for a smartphone plan! This is truly the best phone I have ever had.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Well, the phone is sweet!

 

May 7, 2009 by thephilster

Love the features. I was able to add my Gmail account as an app, which was nice. The Internet surprised me, getting good 3G reception even on a moving train. I kinda miss my smart phone features, like being able to back up phone numbers and calendar entries, but ce lavie. As mentioned previously, scrolling is a little clumsy. It's a little awkward that the Bluetooth and USB are on the same BUS, so you have to disable one to use other. Overall, I'm having fun with it. Still cheaper than most of the smart phones with internet/texting features.

Have a question for AT&T though. how is it that a corporate store sells the package deal at buy one, get the next half off, and then I find it at a retail store for buy one, get one free? What's up with that? So, watch carefully where you get this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung Impression is Impressive..

 

May 5, 2009 by abtram

This phone has been really good so far. I'm coming from a Blackjack II and a Pan-tech Duo so I miss the PDA. However you can sync your contacts and calender to this phone using the Instinct nps-IB2 PC Studio. I have yet to drop a call (ATT) or had trouble hearing on it. The phone is made and feels very sturdy. It's very user friendly, took me only one day to learn to work everything on it. It has a large clear screen, but little hard to see on a sunny day outside. For my for touch screen the touch is great and scrolls with ease. Large key pad for easy typing. It has locked up on me, however I've learned to restart it every night and it's work great every since.

Pros.
SYNC Contacts & Calenders
Good Signal
Strong and Sturdy
Touch Screen with the comfort of a real key pad.
Large Screen

Cons.
Have to restart it once a day.
Battery life could be better

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very....Impressive

 

Apr 8, 2009 by ested23

This messaging phone is VERY impressive. The touch screen in my opinion is a lot smoother than the Samsung Eternity...and the touchscreen is pretty good considering! The camera quality is pretty good. Messaging, call quality, sound quality, and qwerty keyboard is impressive.

The only thing that I wish it could have been was a PDA phone (windows mobile device). Other than that, a very, very, good phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23456

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1