Phone Scoop

printed September 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1966&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Impression SGH-A877

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  71  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.3
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456

It's okay but not great....

 

Aug 2, 2010 by IzzieRocks

I downgraded from a BlackBerry Curve.

Pros:
Bright screen.
Easy texting.
Touch screen.

Cons:
The bright screen is out of focus ever so slightly.

Touch screen didn't work as well as I had hoped-no calibrating didn't help.

Camera-maybe it's me, but every pic I took was horribly out of focus.

The phone shuts off when you text (send or receive) about 15 texts.

No good ring tones, and getting others weren't as easy as I thought it would be.

Special headphone jack.

I'll be taking this back for an exhcange.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Worst phone iv had

 

Jul 26, 2010 by Badacepaulbeast

This phone was awesome at first. But then I started texting my friends and it was slow to receive and send text messages. And it takes like 10 minutes to send a picture. Sometimes I will go to my contacts and click on a name and the whole screen would go pink. And I'm tired of the camera not even zooming in.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not a good phone

 

Jul 22, 2010 by jlang

This is my 4th Impression thanks to At&t warranty/Samsung since 21 May 2010. Today is 21 July 2010. I have finally given up and had to yell at them. I will finally be rid of this phone in a few days.

Pro's:

(1)Pictures came out clear and clean.
(2)Worked well with Bluetooth

Cons:

(1)Screen kept freezing on all 4 models

(2)Camera would freeze and reboot on all 4 models.

(3)When phone rebooted because of camera, texting would not work and would say "Initializing" on all 4 models.

(4) Pictures and tones that come with phone cannot be erased and a male such as myself tends to get embarrassed when he goes to open his phone and the wallpaper is something "pretty" or "sparkly" such as a pic of sun flowers pops up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Decent Messaging Phone Until

 

Jul 18, 2010 by vvelez

The Impression does everything it promises it will do like send messages, take pictures and go online with rather ease. But the main problem for the phone is the touch screen and this being a touch screen phone I cannot recommend this phone. It worked great for a while until the touch screen stopped responding and calibrating the screen would not even work. I find the only way I could use the touch screen is by pushing down on the screen extremely hard until my fingers hurt just so I can select the menu or internet icon. It performed well before that though. Also the keyboard performed well in the beginning and all of a sudden it started getting glitchy. Sometimes when pressing a key it either does not respond or it enters the letters twice or even three times with one push.

Pros
Decent browser, not great but decent
Great messaging capabilities
Good voice quality
Music Player good
Good Camera

Cons
Touch screen becomes unresponsive
No flash
Keyboard becomes glitchy

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


do not get

 

Jul 13, 2010 by tonxyo

Pros - big screen, keyboard and touch keyboard

Cons- keys freeze and lock, lock button on the side is too small, texts do not always send when desired...or recieved, if you type fast on the keyboard, letters are easily missed.

TOO MUCH OF A HASSLE TO CALL THIS A GOOD PHONE. ive had it for 6 months and have been trying to get rid of it for 5 of them

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


In the Middle

 

Jun 11, 2010 by Mellody25

I got the Samsung Impression when my phone was due for an upgrade last December. At first I was thrilled because my last phone was all touch screen and no slide out keyboard. Then I noticed I had to keep restarting it (as I am an avid texter) because it stopped sending my messages. Occasionally, my screen turns completely pink, and once black, and twice seen I have gotten it, all of the buttons stopped working. I had to take the battery out. I am pleased with the pink cover I got for it; however, when I confronted an AT&T worker over the phone about my phones problems, all they did was send me a new one. No reference to any other's complaints. Let's just say, you can count on me getting a new phone when it's time for my upgrade again next July. And maybe that was their plan all along: attract us with a colorful and perfect-seeming phone, while we have problems and buy a new one at first chance. Overall, it's bearable. I give the Samsung Impression 3.5 stars.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Impressive...

 

Apr 20, 2010 by JustinMcNairy

PRO:
- 3.2mp Camera
- Screen Bright Enough
- QWERTY Keyboard
- Widget
- Everytime I put the phone on my ear, the background light automatic shut off to save battery which is a good idea. The background light will turn back on if the phone not on yo ear

CON:
- Battery Life, charge like everyday because of heavy use. (I already get over it)
- Browser too slow
- Can't change the Lock background.
- No 3.5mm headphone jack
- No Wifi
- This phone has a system bug that if you've sent so many text messages it won't send anymore 'til you restart it. It doesn't matter if you have one message in either of the boxes. It will do it no matter what.
- The lock button is harder to press it. What I always do is slide the phone back and forth quickly to unlock the phone.
- There is no flash for the 3.2mp camera

LOL, that a lot of con, but it is true. Been have that phone for a year and a half. I recommend this phone for texting and calling. There is not a lot of app available for the Impression. If you can get over with this phone lock button, restarting the phone because you text so much, then get this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Idea Bad Software

 

Apr 11, 2010 by nagle387

Ok this phone worked great for like 2 months when i bought it in April of 2009.Great touch screen good picture and video quality. Then it started to freeze up and wouldn't send text messages. I called my provider AT&T and after 4 replacement phones I finally got an answer about all the short comings with this phone. They said that the t9 feature of this phone is the problem and Sam sung is aware of this issue since June of 09' and haven't fixed the problem with their phone. At&t won't exchange the phone all they did was do a master reset of the device and told me to disable the t9 feature. luckily I am due for my upgrade and I am dumping this phone and think I am going to check out a different brand phone. cause if they aren't willing to fix the problem. Why give them anymore of my money ...Gave this phone 1 star only because it was a good idea and if they ever fix the software I would give it five...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I Have Too Have It !

 

Apr 8, 2010 by SomeWannaBeDude

MY Friend Owns This Phone And I Got To Use It For About 2 Hours!(Srry Didnt Have Much Time)

Pros-

Great Screen
Responsive Touch Screen
Im Feeling Pretty Good On Web Browsing
BIG QWERTY Key Bored...Not Too Spacious!

Cons-
Battery Life?
No Wi-Fi?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


An okay phone..

 

Mar 14, 2010 by MoonlitxAngel

Pros:

This phone appears to be an OK phone. It has a nice screen and responds quite well.

The widget is very helpful and it's pretty easy to navigate.

The full keyboard is easy enough to use and very fast.

It has a good battery life.

Cons:

This phone's unlock key is very hard to find and even harder to push without pushing out the keyboard which unlocks the screen.

My provider is AT&T and live in Indiana. I don't reception in many places. I have to have the phone with the top faced upward to get reliable reception.

This phone has a system bug that if you've sent so many text messages it won't send anymore 'til you restart it. It doesn't matter if you have one message in either of the boxes. It will do it no matter what. It's around the 150th message on my phone.

Overall:

If you can deal with re-starting it two-three times a day then I recommend this for you. If not, don't get it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 456

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2