Phone Scoop

printed September 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1966&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Impression SGH-A877

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  71  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.3
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3456

Great Phone

 

Apr 7, 2009 by ninja2205

First off this phone is GREAT! Unlike what the other guy says about this phone it is EXACTLY like the Eternity only difference is the slide out keyboard. The touch screen and all menu items are just like the eternity. So if you like the eternity and you want a full keyboard get this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ehh...

 

Jun 14, 2011 by lulukate

Not a bad phone overall. But for as well received as it was, this phone could have held up better.
I didn't have a single problem with the phone until I had it for about 9 months. There, the battery life started to become shorter and shorter and, to top it off, the touch screen locked up on me. Sent the phone back to the manufacturer and it was fixed (?) under warranty. Fine. The phone hasn't been the same since.
I know this phone isn't sold through AT&T anymore but if you're out there thinking of getting this phone, I would suggest that you don't. Get something else.

PROS: great slide out keyboard, easy to use.
CONS: battery life could be longer

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


dont like

 

Apr 13, 2011 by asiantech314

i don't like it because it barely can handle water. although i know its not suppose to go in the water but it still cant hold water. also there is no light for your phone camera, and kinda big for my taste, its a good phone but I dont like it.
:(

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not Impressed

 

Mar 16, 2011 by Jay139

The phone works great for about 3 months... then everything starts to go... Battery life started great no bugs no issues with anything but after 3 months software bugs, freezes, keypad puts a period after every word,battery goes down the drain, screen starts looking like a fuzzy television, lock button is in a horrible place, screen starts not working properly, so if you want a PHENOMENAL PHONE for 3 months then this is the handset for you

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Impression perception...

 

Mar 13, 2011 by foneologist

I bought the phone last year and was very impressed with it from time of purchase until my touch screen froze.

The PRO's: Signal strength, features, video, and pictures, battery talk life

The CON's: Keyboard texting, no head-set jack, keypad lock button location, widgets, no alternatives if touch screen freezes up.

I cycled my phone on a regular basis. I kept the phone in the greatest condition possible and never dropped it. However, no matter how many times you re-calibrate your phone, when the touch screen goes, that is it. On the keyboard there isn't an alternative to override when screen stops working. You can still view what's coming in, but cannot review your texts, missed calls (unless you use the send button, and anything else. It might as well be touch screen only. I sent the phone in using my insurance and the same thing has happened again with the second. I love samsung products and I will continue to buy them. I have had many phones, but the Impressions has left a bad one on me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dont do it!

 

Mar 8, 2011 by Drummer

I wanted this phone because of the oversize keyboard....but after two in just over a year, im cutting my losses!

Pro's: not many....keyboard is nice and shift and function keys made texting easy for a non texter like myself....when the keys worked!

Cons: I went through two of these in just 12 days over a year, and I am very careful with my phones! First one, touchscreen went DOA after 7 months, second one after only 5 months! 12 days out of warranty!! No remedy from AT&T, so had to use my insurance program to get another phone...NOT an Impression!!! Both phones were dead touchscreens....although the Refurb they sent me after the first died also had problems with dead keys or repeating letters on the keyboard. I also experienced alot of phone call drops out of the second phone! As with everything, I guess there are some good and some bad....But Two?? Not an avid texter but did have problems deleting messages on both phones. Proceed at your own risk!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AAAHHH. NOT A FAN OF THIS PHONE!!

 

Sep 14, 2010 by jessicataylor

Nice looking phone... that's the one good thing about it.
Bought this phone months ago. I wish I had read all of the reviews.
Off the bat I noticed that the screen would not lock even though it was in its 'proper setting'. So when it was placed in my purse many random buttons would be pushed & friends would be dialed.
Now the buttons have stopped working completely!! First it was the main power button and then all others followed, including every single text button.
Luckily the touch screen still works, otherwise I would go ballistic.
Even though the touchscreen works I am still unable to back out of any screen , i.e. text, alarm, contacts, etc.
So I need to remove the battery to get out of screens. So frustrating!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung Impression Review

 

Sep 8, 2010 by akita256

I've had this phone for over a year. Works fine but several things need to be corrected on it: 1) The key lock is terrible as far as trying to press it. A real pain to use. 2) I hate when writing a text message that if you end one sentence with a question mark that you cannot put two spaces before the beginning of the next sentence. Can't be done! 3) The worst thing is the slide out key board. After a few months the keys will begin to either stick and not register or you press a key once and it registers twice. I took my phone back and got a new one and after a few months it began doing this again. The space bar won't work half the time and words are run together. Sometimes the press bar will put a period instead of a space and then the next word in the middle of the sentence is capitalized. After typing a message, I always have to go back through my message and clean it up and correct the mistakes. The springs under the keys or the contacts are faulty. The rep in the AT&T store tried it and got the same results so it's not my fault. The warranty person at AT&T told me they are aware of this reported problem. I would not buy this phone because of these issues.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


why did I buy this phone??

 

Sep 4, 2010 by morningdoe3

This started out as a great phone. I like having 2 different types of keyboard. The volume is fine, battery life is fine. The camera could use some help.

Nothing bad until it started to freeze up. I have had horrible issues with texting. I have to try to resend a text 4-6 times with no luck. I have to take the battery out, wait for a few, put it back in, and finally it will send the text. I have to do this several times daily. My screen has been frozen for 2 days. I took it to my provider and they had no luck with it either. I have sent it back to the provider and am on phone number 4. I will never have another Samsung.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not That Great...

 

Aug 2, 2010 by kyzona

I have had this phone since April 2010 and have used it for 4 months now. There is not a whole lot of customization to this phone. The phone is very glitchy and must be reset every week or so. The keyboard is very laggy or it will often press keys multiple times making texts unreadable. The alarm clock is also very very glitchy. If you are a person who uses your phone as an alarm, this phone can cause many frustrating mornings when it does not go off.

Pros:
Battery
speaker volume
reception
camera

Cons:
Buggy OS
keyboard
no flash on camera
lock/unlock button inconveniently placed
useless widgets
easily scratched

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3456

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2