Phone Scoop

printed September 17, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=177&s=h&p=5

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-4900

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

4.24
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1234 5 

Best Vision phone out there (9/28/02)

 

Sep 28, 2002 by P B

I received the Sanyo 4900 a few weeks ago. Overall, I think it's a great phone for a reasonable price. However, keep in mind that it's a first generation phone with the SprintPCS Vision service, so prices will continue to drop and the quality of the phones will continue to improve.

Some positives notes:
- Great reception!
- Good speakerphone - It's not full duplex (it's difficult to build a full-duplex speakerphone in such a small unit), but the sound quality is remarkably good. Once you acknowledge and accommodate for the fact that the phone isn't full duplex it sounds great.
- Good phone interface
- Call screening abilities (use it like an answering machine)

Some negative notes:
- Large phone
- Display is difficult to see w/backlight off

If you need a 3G phone now this is the phone to get. Otherwise, I'd wait a few months and see what else comes out.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo 4900 returned

 

Sep 5, 2002 by mj nelson

This is the fourth Sprint phone I have had and the only one I have returned. I have had a Samsung 3500 and 2 8500s.

On the up side:
Vivid color display, even in daylight.
Nice display menu.
Excellent signal strength better than most.
Light weight for it's size.

On the down side:
Voice quality was inconsistent and often bad.
Everyone complained that they could not hear me clearly.
I use voice command, and it often did not hear my commands- very annoying.
Sounded like it was not fully duplexed...can you hear me - over.
Speaker phone was so bad I could not use it to talk to anyone without them complaining.
It felt big and somewhat tinny.

I called Sprint and they sent me into a store. In all fairness, I did not give them the opportunity to see if it was a bad phone. I exchanged it for a Samsung N400. I am very happy with the N400.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


The 4900, true workhorse!

 

Aug 25, 2006 by Spartan 104

When I was on Sprint a few years back, this phone was the undisputed RF King. The 4900 was a true workhorse. This phone could practically pull down a signal anywhere and was pretty much indestructible. If all you needed was a reliable phone, this was it. Sure it was a little on the bulky side, screen was a little smallish but like I said before, this phone is a true workhorse. Notable features: Loud and clear speakerphone (probably one of the best speakerphones I've used yet), color screen (leaves a lot to be desired compared to phones now, but it wasn't too shabby back then), and excellent battery life. Again, another winner from Sanyo.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


4 WORDS FOR THIS SANYO CELL

 

Sep 24, 2005 by SiDeKiCk 2

ARE YOU FOR REAL?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


What's so good about this phone?

 

Sep 18, 2005 by pandashekki

Okay, it could be that I got this phone a little late, so it may be just past its prime. But I seriously do not like this phone.

+The colors and display are vivid, I will give it that.

+The menu GUI is pretty neat, the whole cylindrical perspective thing.

-Otherwise, GUI for everything else and the font is just plain ugly.

-The half-duplex speakerphone just doesn't seem useful in any way shape or form. Way too many complaints from people I talk to on speakerphone.

-It's chunky. Lightweight for its size, but big.

-The phone itself is ugly too.

-Short mail instead of regular SMS text-messaging sucks. Sometimes, it takes a really long time to connect to the internet. Ok, make it a lot of times.

-Sound quality is not all that great. I thought Sanyo had a good rep for sound? Not this phone.

-Maybe it's just because I'm in Atlanta. Maybe it's just Sprint.

-Short cut for phone book is the right button?? That's jsut awkward.

-The vibrate option is only available by itself, no vibrate, or with the highest setting of ringer volume. Cannot be used with any other ringer setting.

-BATTERY LIFE SUCKS.

-key guard apparently cannot be set to automatic. You have to set it yourself each time. I'm just too lazy :-P

I'm getting a new phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this ph is ok not great

 

Oct 7, 2003 by nikki rogers

it is ok

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1234 5 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2