Phone Scoop

printed July 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=177&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-4900

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

4.24
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5

BAM!!!

 

Dec 11, 2002 by Abel Fernandez

More bang for your buck. Want the best value in a wireless handset, heres the ticket. Sanyo really hit the nail on the head with this phone. Best in overall quality. Battery (BAM), Reception (BAM), Speaker phone (BAM). This thing is awesome and it is 1xRtt. No question the best phone on the market.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Style Sucks

 

Aug 11, 2002 by roger robinson

I played with this phone and I do not see anything special about it.
It has a speaker phone thats about it.
All the other features are not new. When you first turn it on you would be amazed at the first screen. after that its all down hill.
Plus, the design is cheap and out of date. I do not understand why Sanyo put this model out. It looks like the old one with a color screen. Its too big. This is not eye candy.
Sanyo just needs to come out with the update to the 5150. Also, fonts are not pretty and processor is slow. Games and ringers sucks. The A500 is not any better.
What they really need to do is just make a regular phone and have a much larger screen as an attachment. So if I want to surf I just sit the screen on the top of the phone. Screen size needs to be around 4" at least to make me switch from a PDA.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


cool phone

 

May 31, 2003 by racheybee

This is good phone. It gets good reception and has a wonderful speaker phone. The only things I didn't like about it was the color display was not as clear as it could have been and the browser was a little slow

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SNAYO 4900 ROCKS

 

Apr 19, 2003 by tbrusky

Its a wonderful phone for me who had to switch from the Kyocera 2255 because of hot urning phones issues and got this sweet phone for little of nothing Sprint store told me to pick out a phone because of the problems of the Kyocera 2255, and now after 1 year almost. I still see no problems, never had to update software, but I do get the lastest PRL update as soon as I see it out on many newsgroups. The only thing I wish Sanyo would do is go back to the 4900 and make a few changes and call it SANYO 4900Z, this would include a tri-mode. 1900CDMA, 800CDMA,800AMPS. A bit littler. But other than that a wonderful phone who hate flip phones. I hate 800AMPS when Sprint doesn't have coverage I wish I had Tri-mode and still have digital coverage same quality but on someone else's network, I'm not asking much but it would be nice for an updated SANYO 4900.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Fantastic phone

 

Mar 31, 2003 by saa001

This is the best phone around. Great signal strength, fantastic battery life, extremley dependable. I am seriously considering getting rid of my home phone and going with this phone alone. This is the phone that all other companies should pattern theirs on. This is what a cellular phone should be.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Makes sprint service really usable in Manhattan.

 

Feb 22, 2003 by G C

This is the first phone since I've moved to NYC that can handle the obstacles and tower placement here.

Previous phones I've used here for comparison:
- Motorola Time-port (with the tricolor screen)
- LG TP 5250 (Can't carry signal in my apt)
- Samsung SPH-N240 (can't carry signal in my apt)
- One of the old first flip samsungs with voice dial. (retired of old age)

Pros:
- Buttons are large enough and spaced enough to be usable.
- reception is the best I've ever seen on a sprint Phone.
- I use SMS for work and the one way text alerts do full page alert even on reminders. I prefer that over the long first alert and subsequent reminder chirp phones.
- Vibrate capability (a must for theaters and other places you are called to be polite.)
- I'm not in love with sprint Vision services even though this phone is vision capable. I just don't see the merit in charging me for it outside of the 1 way text messaging.
- You can turn off the processor hog menu that is supposed to be cute and use the normal menus which are pretty quick to operate.
- The phone actually has professional ringers/alerts instead of kiddie music.
- Phone book entry/modification isn't a pain.
- Standby screen is modifiable.

Cons:
- Anything "Vision" that costs extra to use on this phone. (screen savers, rings, other crap)
- Not a flip phone (I like to cover the keys like the flip phones do instead of locking them.)
- Sleep mode on the phone is really dark. I understand it is to save battery since the display is a battery hog, but that could be a con. (Hard to find cons for this phone.)

This phone and the Sanyo 5300 were suggested from the newsgroups by 3 ppl to me. The 5300 currently costs $399 which is unreasonable for me. This 4900 was $149 with $100 rebate (1 yr contract, blah blah)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best of Class

 

Feb 16, 2003 by BillB800si

I don't use all the many features of the 4900, but I do use plain voice and this phone is the clearest (both directions) of any I ever used. Been a car phone user for over 18 years.

Right now you can get it for $50. Can't find a phone with better reception, even in basements.
Get one..........

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Reception - Nice Package, a bit large

 

Jan 24, 2003 by Steve L.

The only drawback on this phone is it's size. While it's not huge or cumbersome, by today's standards it is "large."

Sanyo is currently the only brand I'd use on SprintPCS. I've always had problems with the Samsung phones (dropped calls, etc).

I would prefer the smaller Sanyo flip with camera; however, I can't justify spending another 350 bucks. I picked the 4900 up when it was 50 bucks.

At 50 bucks buying the Sanyo 4900 was a "no-brainer."

If size doesn't matter, the Sanyo is the best for the money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo 4900

 

Dec 1, 2002 by Jorge Besada

Got this phone less than a week ago.
Works great, good sound and reception. I did not select the plan with the internet features.
Speakerphone works very well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


a good phone

 

Oct 27, 2002 by kevin freeman

Iv'e had this phone for two days and I have to be impressed with it's capabilities signal strength pretty strong,clear calls the speaker is wonderful Iv'e had at least 5 previous sprint phones but this 4900 model is by far the best phone I had from sprint. the only thing that bothered me was I had problems with the Internet and the screen was hard to see with out the backlit being on but I would recommend this phone to anybody and I'm not just saying that either.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1