We're giving away 10 HTC One (M8) harman/kardon edition phones for Sprint! Enter now!
Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1282&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-R500 Hue

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  36  

Average Ratings

4.1
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5

Samsung Hue is great overall!

 

Dec 30, 2007 by aodo2014

in august i bougfht the hue from alltel. i was so excited to get my hands on it! when i did i was in love with my phone lol.

pros:
changeable face plates
many different colors to choose from
camera is good
video recording is a plus for me
easy to send text messages
and receive them
good calling quality
memory card slot to store more songs/photos

cons:
um not really any
i didnt go on the web with this phone
and i didnt use the mp3 on this phone

all in all this phone is awesome!
if your lokoing for a sleek flip phone this phone is so totally for you!!!
you're gonna love it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LUV DA HUE

 

Dec 21, 2007 by rocker3800

I love this phone. Had it for about a week now. Was going to get the razr v3a but that phone is cheaply made and seems to be junk.
But the Hue is great!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


I LOVE THIS PHONE

 

Dec 15, 2007 by reiningchic

I love this phone and I have had it for about 3 to 4 months and I LOVE IT! This phone is awesome. I would recommend this phone to ANYONE! The bluetooth works great and the only flaw is that the navigation is hard to get used to and the text messaging is a VERY LONG PROCESS! You have to press like 20 buttons before you start to text!!

I LOVE THIS PHONE

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Alltel Hue - So far so Good!

 

Nov 28, 2007 by shytbyrd

Couldn't get another Nokia with Alltel. I was just looking for a good phone that had Blue-tooth.

First Impressions:
I'm getting used to the flip phone - I appreciate the fact that it's smaller than my nokia 6015 which was a simple candy bar style phone.

Buttons on the keypad have an acceptable tactile feel.

I live in SE Minnesota and so far the reception has been flawless and calls have been crystal clear on Alltel's network.

Note: If you're going to buy extra car or travel chargers, stick with the OEM Samsung chargers. I've yet to find an aftermarket whose plug will fit into the charge port. I'm not saying they aren't out there, just the one's I tried didn't work, so I had to return them. Finally just bought the OEM's.

There isn't much out there in the way of cases for the Hue. If you just want a tough all around universal pouch, I'll highly recommend the Rugged Brand super slim universal pouch. Not the prettiest, but you'll be hard pressed to find anything tougher.

Pros:

Reception (bars) and clarity are top notch. In fact the local Alltel store claimed the Hue had the strongest signal over all their other brands/models. So far I believe that.

Feels really good in the hand - good weight and balance.

Outside LED panel - small, but it tells all I need to know. Doesn't show Pic ID, but does list the name of the caller if they are in your contacts list, # if not.

Camera is OK. It won't replace my digital camera, but I'm starting to think that being able to snap a quick Pic for the inside screen (pic ID) is pretty neat.

Battery Life is OK - I never shut my phone off and it easliy gets me through a day, usually two. It doesn't have the battery life of my nokia 6015, but not many new flip phones do.

Celltop feature is cool, but I wouldn't say it's needed.

No external antenna to catch on things.

Cons:

Directional pad isn't customizable - not a big deal.

Dialing font (numbers) are rather big, but very easy to see.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i LOVE MY PHONIE :0)

 

Oct 24, 2007 by brittneygreer

My fiance and I purchased the Hue about a week ago and I fell in love with it the moment I got it. It's ALOT different than the LG AX355 that I had and the Kyocera KX12 that he had owned. Neither of our phones would pick up at our house, but now that we have the Hue reception is GREAT!!
Here are my pros & cons

PROS:
-LOVE LOVE LOVE the look, I like the fact that I can change the face-plates. I can now match my phone with my personality or even my outfit!

-Easy to use

-Nice big screen

-Small and light, fits in my pocket real nice

CONS:
-I'm a pretty quick text-er and the keys are a little slow, or maybe I'm not pressing them hard enough.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BEATS THE RAZR

 

Jul 26, 2007 by RCERRONE

great phone....i have had it for about 2 weeks. This phone by far beats the razor.. It is slim easy to use and tons of options.....the best is the phone is cheap to buy. The new cell top is great feature.
The only think i didn't like was that you could not change the short cuts on the nav. keys. Other than that mp3 works great camera is the best. Ringers are a little week. But hands down best phone on the market for the price.......

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I was my Alltel Store's guinnea pig

 

Jul 13, 2007 by Doug48189

I returned my Samsung u520 today and took the chance this would be better. I do believe my u520 was simply a bad phone. I experienced problems that I'd not read about here or on other forums. But regardless, I didn't want to take a chance with another one.

So far, so good. Great actually. Excellent sound quality, the stereo speakers are great for their size. Reception is great,too. Nice screens, nice stock ring tone choices. MUCH easier to use navigation controls compared to the u520. Even though they are also basically flush, they're larger and spread further apart. It appears to be solidly built, and has a nice feel to it. It comes with dark blue and a deeper red removable face/back plates. 30 seconds to switch, and the LCD color for the front screen has several color choices, too.

All in all, I'm very pleased, but I've only had the phone about 8 hours.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Yes, Virginia, There is an earphone port...

 

Aug 10, 2007 by ezri

I am looking at this phone as a replacement for my 2004 motorola that has been "repaired/replaced" 3 times now for recalls/factory defects. I noticed that there was not a traditional earphone jack on the phone and asked.

If you look on the side of the phone-(left as you are holding it cover up in your hand) there should be a sliding type cover that has a headphone emblem on it. The lady in the shop said that it requires special headphones which are not included(You'd think they would be- it is a MP3 player too) that use the same port as the charger. It almost looks like a mini fire wire type port. Odd? yes-

~e

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


OH YEA!!!

 

Aug 6, 2007 by RCASTE06

The phone could actually be a lot better, now, lets start with the talk time...very low, i mean come with a nice looking and fast acting phone like this one you would expect the talk time to be at least acceptable, other then that my biggest pro is the features;You got the Blutooth capabillity, Evdo memory, 2GB memory with the memory card storage for all your MP3 songs and photos, files and documents....very sleek, nice modern style look with changeable faceplates..........................Above all the phone is a Pro, gotta love Alltel.....(whisper) I work for Sprint"!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love the phone - not the accessories

 

Sep 4, 2007 by dlkw

Have had the phone for about a month. Lots to love here. Thought I wanted a Razr 2, but in a side by side compare this won out. Have always had Motorolas before-have had several friends say they can hear me much more clearly on this phone.

Love all the gadgets-the Celltop is fun, if not a necessity. The camera is very nice. Posted some photos on my webpage and had comments that readers cldn't believe they were taken w/ camera phone -the camera has lots of setting to help w/ picture quality.

Have always had signal problems in my house w/ every cell phone-but not w/ this one. Good strong signal in all areas of my property.

I use Text Msg a lot and sending a text seems bulky to me (compared to either of my Motorolas). I have to hit 610 buttons to just get to the screen to compose the text. So that's a pain. But I'll live w/ it. The phone is T9 Word ready which makes txt'ing SO much easier and faster.

I have lots of issues w/ the accessories however. The Jump Music Kit is $50 and is NOT compatible w/ VISTA. However, the headsets are not for sale separately - so although I cld not use the JumpMusic kit, I had to keep it to have the headphones (because of the new slim USB port)-so I actually ended up paying $50 for a pair of headphones(that leave a lot to be desired.)

The mp3 player only recognizes .mp3 format which is pain as most music download sites download in .wma.

So if you have VISTA you will need to also have another Jumpdrive and chip (the 256 that comes w/ the JumpMusic kit only holds about 40 songs) - so that's about another $35.

The faceplates are fun but cost another $25 for 3 faceplates that cost about 18 cents a piece to make.

Additionally the USB port is a modified (slim) USB so you will need all new chargers. (got mine on ebay)

All in all - I love the phone - good sound, lots of fun gadgets, nice camera - but the accessories issues has turned it into a huge money pit and I haven't even bought my bluetooth yet.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1