Phone Scoop

printed December 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1282&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-R500 Hue

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  36  

Average Ratings

4.1
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 345

Second Time Not Always A Charm

 

Nov 5, 2009 by gloef27

I had to get a new phone after having my old one water logged so I was told this would be a great texting phone. I was also really into Bluetooth and putting songs as ring tones. I took the phone back to my carrier (Cellcom) multiple times because the ringtones didn't work. Come to find out, the ring tones are incompatible. I ended up switching back to my old phone, but then some how came back to this phone. I like it because it has huge numbers for when I dial and I usually get good service. The down side: I usually always have my phone on vibrate and there is no setting to change the number of times it vibrates. It goes off three times unless you can make it stop before it vibrates all three times. It gets annoying really fast, especially when you're somewhere quiet. Also, texts take forever sometimes to get sent and it doesn't hold many texts. I do like the versatile color cover plates. Overall, it's a decent phone, but for the big texter I am, I rather have something with threading text and something that isn't as loud. Great for general use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent phone

 

May 13, 2009 by alhoward33

I bought my hue used about a month ago and haven't had any major issues with it. The camera doesn't have a flash and the video has a 10 or 15 second time limit which are slight downfalls for me. The phone does turn off once in a while at random times but it doesn't do it too often. the t9 text can be a little bit of a pain in the butt having to re-enter words into the dictionary when you have just done it the day before. call wise, the phone is great. it has good reception and clarity. battery life is pretty good too. it has a bright, crisp display and the key pad seems very durable.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Bad Phone.

 

Mar 31, 2009 by Joseph O

I've owned this phone for six months and already the vibrate doesn't work, the keyboard lights don't work until I hit a button, and the changeable cover slides off when the phone is open and has the opportunity to fall. Don't get me wrong it's a good phone for a couple months but then it's all downhill from there. The text don't get through/recieved all the time. (Which has gotten me in some trouble.) I personally do not recommend this phone, unless you are prepared to buy a new one six months down the road.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty Nice

 

Jan 2, 2009 by truelove

I purchased this phone through US Cellular for 30 bucks. This phone does everything I need for a cell phone. R500 comes with three different face plates that keeps the phone seemingly new (very important for me, I get bored very quickly). The camera isn't up to par but OK use a real camera.

Pros:
Clear Call Quality
Bluetooth Works Flawlessly
Custom Ringtones
Music Player
Stereo Speaker
Memory Card Slot
Large Display and Buttons
Phone Has Good Weight
Doesn't Feel Cheap
Can Purchase Additional Faceplates

Cons:
At this moment, the only con I have is the camera. Can't think of anything else.

Overall I find this phone enjoyable and would recommend it to anyone who wants a basic phone with a few bells and whistles.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Problem with SamsungSCHr500

 

Nov 17, 2008 by sb1951

We purchased a SamsungSCHr500 phone (without the ins. plan) with our new Alltel contract just a month ago. We also purchased the accessory kit which included the clip phone case with the snap on it, and we have been using it. The phone displays disappeared on the face of the phone last week, as some others have commented on this same phone. We brought it back to Alltel where the rep took one look at the front of the phone, & said he couldn't replace it because it had a crack in the front of the phone (he knew right where to look on the front of the phone, so it's happened before). The phone had never been dropped & had been in the case all the time, except when in use. The phone new to replace is over $200.
My husband talked with a former fellow employee this weekend, and found out he'd had that happen with his same phone twice, and that he had the same type of case. Where the snap is on the case is the location of the crack in the phone, and he will no longer use that case. Samsung should replace the phone if it's due to a design flaw in the case. Please advise if you've had similar problem & use that case.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I do not like this phone--I am over 40

 

Nov 8, 2008 by sss0007

The outside screen is too small--to see who is calling. It should be larger. The sound is not high quality. The speaker phone works well--but the sound is below average. I had a motorola and the sound quality was much better.
It is a great looking phone--and the extra color choices are great. The camera is quite good too. If you are older than 45 I would suggest a different phone. Great for the younger folks though. Very durable.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone.

 

Oct 25, 2008 by BrandyIsHere.

I love this phone, but I have a question.
My mom was looking at her's and she said she
found a way to make the songs on the mp3 player
into ring tones. Does anyone know how you do that or is my mom crazy? If you know how please add my yahoo Cheer_gurl40962@yahoo.com

And this phone is the best, you can get this thing where you can a thing to put the memory card or your phone in a plug it in your computer
and you can put pictures on your computer, well my camera is broken and I love taking pictures so I can use my phone as a regular camera, and the mp3 player is awesome.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


*~Fell in LOVE~*

 

Oct 22, 2008 by spradlinc

I love this phone like it was my own newborn baby!

Pros: Great BIG NUMBERS, screen, and i can see the keypad. I love the extra feature of the camera all those cool frames gets me excited lol.. I also like the fact i can change the face plates and it lets me express myself even through my cell phone.
I can listen to my music through the mp3 player. I can even video my puppy and set it as my back round and when i flip my phone up i can see the video...kewl huh

I have great service through Ntelos and it picks up every where i go. I live in Concord, VA.

CONS: i wish that i could set my mp3's off my memory card as my ring-tones. Overall this is great phone for anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent

 

Oct 10, 2008 by khonphusion

I've sold phones for over two years for 4 different carriers and this is by far the best phone I've seen so far. I live in central NC and it receives excellent signal quality (in and out of the city. I have a lot of construction workers who purchase the phone and beat the crap out of it and it still works.

Pros: Screen size, music player, durability, reception.

Cons: Outside screen is small, isn't packed full of all the bells and whistles other phones may have

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Sep 12, 2008 by monica30

My husband has this phone and he is hard on everything he owns lol. This phone is very durable and has great reception. We have alltel. It has a great screen size. The screen is very crisp and clear. The keypads are perfect size. Camera takes great pixs as well. There is no flash on this phone but, it's not too bad. He travels all over the place. We live in a rural area and it works great. No complaints at all about this phone. He has owned it for 6 months now and loves it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2