Phone Scoop

printed July 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1117

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 6300

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  42  

Average Ratings

3.89
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Excellent phone

 

Oct 15, 2007 by dpdist

I have tried many phones over the past three years. This is clearly the best one so far. It is a great compromise between performance as a phone and technical features.

Pros:
- Reception
- Sound quality
- Size and weight (perfect for your pocket)
- Build quality
- Screen (unbelievable)
- Nokia S40 operating system
- Camera is not bad (2MP)

Con:
- Battery (not terrible, but you have to check it every 3-4 days or so with average use.)

Note: Download Opera Mini (Beta Version) on this phone and switch to landscape mode. The browsing experience in this mode is spectacular for a phone of this size.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Harmonious Balance

 

Feb 23, 2007 by epictempo

Chasis-Metal body mixed with shiny black plastic. Feels like the candybar version of the 8800. Very thin, yet not too.
Weight is assuring but not like mercury in the pocket (8800).
Very tight contruction in build and buttons. No creaks.

Reception-Its a nokia, still top in reliability. Coming back from a samsung, its great to trust a phone again.

Menus- Still intuitive as ever, the "active standby screen" is awesome. Loading is a term that cannot be applied, the menus are seamlessly fast.

Performance- Call quality very crisp and intelligible. Loudspeaker is the best I've heard.

Screen- So crisp and clear, it seems 3D, the picture really pops out. Colors are so vibrant and screen is large.

Battery- I played with the phone for 5 hours straight before it died, I think that's quite good.

Camera- 2MP, thought it was fast and fair. I don't care about cams in phone so didn't take but two pics.

Music- I really don't care about this, I have a super small & slim 8 gig nano that last 24 hours.

Vex- the buttons should be slightly separated, or have different texture. Difficult to dial w/o looking. The buttons should also be black, it would make it look less like a slider phone stuck in open. That's my only gripe.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


she's too cool n too hot at the same time !

 

Mar 13, 2007 by Trishia

the slim,clean,elegant and stylish design of nokia 6300 is just awesome.......superb display and mind blowing sound quality...
the operating system is really easy & comfortable......though technically it's not one of the smart phones......but it looks smarter than any other nokia smart phones of these days.

but the battery quality is too poor to stand.

the metal body is as cold as ice when it's on standby but.......but...but....if you talk more than 2 minutes......it gets so hot that your ear may feel like burning.
this is terrible !

the set gets hot frequently and stops responding to the incoming calls.u have to reboot the set to make it work agin.thats quite disgusting !!!

i just don't get the reason to use a metal body for a phone !!!

it seems like she is like a beauty contest winner who has starved herself to be slim n trim.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cool & amazing

 

Aug 30, 2008 by abrahamsuji

Nokia 6300 is a cool& amazing phone.

Beautiful music quality, I spend hours listening to my fav tracks while on the move. Battery life is OK, charging takes a bit longer.

Great concept of common battery chargers for Nokia phones, I save the trouble of carrying my charger while on tours.

Camera quality is good even when I transfer the snaps on my laptop.

Nokia stands out for reliability & ease of navigating the menu. I have three Nokia phones all are working fine without ever paying a visit to the phone-doctors.

GR8 phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone sucks.

 

Aug 24, 2008 by Joe Cool

The loud ringer on this phone starts out as assending no matter what. It isn't very loud at all. The camera on this phone is terrible too. Unless you're in a bright lit up area.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 6300

 

Jul 20, 2008 by hallraker

Overall Phone Rating 4.5

Pros
- clear display
- 2MP Camera which is acceptable for mobile device
- good reception which makes the call conversation very clear (nokia one of the best phone in terms of signal)
- style and interface of the phone
- bluetooth
- easy to navigate
- themes and ringtones are personalizable
- mp3 player not bad
- equipment include with the phone not bad at all
- MMS capable
- very easy to do text messaging

Cons
- the casing is prone to scratch
- battery life
- video

the cons are not pretty bad

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Really great phone, I love it!

 

Mar 18, 2008 by Catz17

I've owned this phone for a few months now and I must say I was never more satisfied with any other phone.

PROs:
-it's really small, fits easily in your pocket, really not that bulky
-Mp3 player and radio
-your can listen to mp3 while doing something else on the phone like texting or playing games (unlike with my other phone 3230)
-the mp3 player can arrange songs by category or genre, so you can play songs in any order you want
-nokia PC suite, the best, you can use the phone as modem [like what i'm doing right now.. :) ]
-lots of games available
-great camera 2.0 MP
-battery life really nice

CONs:
-really shiny surface, it gets smudges and fingerprints once your hold the phone so you have to clean it every now and then, it also gets scratched very easily, that's why i bought a clear phone cover for mine
-no infrared, but there's the bluetooth so that's not a big deal
-when you're talking on the phone for quite a while it gets really hot (metal body) but i use my phone mainly for texting and don't call that much so it's ok

over-all i give it a five because the CONs for the phone are not such a big deal for me. And so far I haven't found any phone that can replace this one yet.. :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Mar 10, 2008 by saishankar_08

This phone is great. It's sleek, cute and very handy.

Pros:-

1)2 megapixel cam is good but fails in clarity without adequate lighting
2)Very light and handy
3)Great Music Player
4)Loud Speaker is awesome
5)Battery Reception is ok
6)Display quality is brilliant
7)Reception is excellent

Cons:-
1)S40 is not as user friendly as S60
2)Battery requires charging everyday if used a lot
3)keypad is not fit for large hands making this a sort of "girlie" phone

Overall this phone is really good. The only reason i give it 4/5 is because of lack of flashlight and user friendliness.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not perfect, but pretty darn close

 

Jul 5, 2007 by BLubak1

Coming back to GSM after fairly brief experimentation with locked-down CDMA and iDEN handsets, I recently started back with T-Mobile with a freebie Samsung Trace SGH-T519. Not a bad phone, especially when free after rebate, but I wasn't totally impressed with reception or call volume. With Nokia being well-known for its superior reception, I decided to pick up an unlocked Nokia 6300b (triband GSM 850/1800/1900) to replace the Samsung. I've got a few small gripes, but overall, it's a great phone!

Likes:

- Both GSM 850 and GSM 1900 are available, letting me make calls throughout T-Mobile's entire network, including 850 MHz roaming areas. Unfortunately, GSM 850 is missing from many unlocked handsets, especially from overseas, so this is a big plus.

- Call quality and reception are great. Sometimes, call volume is not as high as I would like, but it's definitely sufficient. There is no noticeable hissing, distortion, or digital artifacting during calls, unlike my old Samsung. There is also a "voice clarity" option, inactive by default, which is supposed to let you hear better in noisy areas, but this is yet to be experimented with.

- Beautiful 16.7M color, 240x320 display.

- Though a bit cramped, the keypad and directional pad are surprisingly easy to use. The only exceptions are the power button, which is on the top edge of the handset, and the volume rocker on the side, which can sometimes be difficult to press.

Gripes:

- With its glossy finish and stainless steel, this thing is a fingerprint/sweat/scratch magnet, requiring frequent cleaning. Better resistance to such would've been nice.

- The battery cover is very difficult to remove. It's a totally flat sheet of steel, so there's nowhere to grip it. The MicroSD slot is under the battery cover.

- Better resistance to "pocket/butt calls" without using keyguard would've been great. Not the worst bar phone I've used in this regard, but the Trace's flush keys protected against this much better.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


the phone

 

Aug 31, 2007 by hss

i love my phone its sooooo good!! the camera is great but the internet is not so good. it doesn't work from time to time. the layout is easy to use and it has a long battery!!

great phone get it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1