Phone Scoop

printed December 18, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1060&r=25169

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-U740 Alias

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.73
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 1...789 10 111213...16

BEST PHONE I HAVE EVER OWNED WITH VERIZON!!!!

 

Oct 22, 2007 by nextel850

I love this phone... I have had the 5200, RAZR, 8300, Chocolate, and now the u740 and it honestly is the best phone I have ever used

PROS:
AWESOME PICUTRES
BATTERY LAST ME ALL DAY (thats never happened)
Music quality is really good
Flash on camera is really bright
Huge amount of memory w/o a card
Voice quality is superb
THIN THIN THIN
Cool features even with the verizon UI
Cool Design

Cons:
Using the keyboard takes getting used to for left handed people

Overall this phone is awesome and I would highly recommend it!

A+++++

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This is the loaded Phone

 

Oct 20, 2007 by surfacescanner

Small buttons means using your nails to text, other than that what a great package.
It is the swiss knife of cell phones, literally, the same size as a moto razor v3m, with expansion slot on side for small sd. External mp3 touch keys, with the landscape option that allows you to use the querty. No blender, but loaded with everything else including speakerphone that can be used with phone closed. Gave the phone a five, why? because it is compact but fully functional. Great reception, great Audio, Great new PRODUCT!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Love it so far...

 

Oct 14, 2007 by emu76

I just got this phone on Friday, and I've gotta say, I was a little sketchy at first. I did my research prior to purchasing the phone, and read a lot of helpful reviews from this very site, so I decided to give it a shot and take the time to get used to it. After only 2 days, I feel that I'm ready to give my opinion on this phone. So here goes:

Pros:
-Provides the QWERTY keyboard without the size or weight of other comparative models
-Sleek, sophisticated design(love the gold color!)
-Speaker phone works better than previous phones I've had(LG VX8300 being the most recent)
-Call clarity and speaker volume seems to be better than most
-Signal strength is good... about the same as my last phone
-Camera takes decent pictures

Cons:
-Keyboard may be a little small for people with larger hands/fingers... a sacrifice made to keep the phone smaller and lightweight
-Ringer volume is not as loud as I would like it to be
-Selection of pre-loaded ringers and graphics-terrible!
-Could have gone w/ the 2.0 mega-pixel for the camera

My main reason for not rating the phone any higher is due to the poor selection of pre-loaded ringers and graphics. I know that most people will go out and download their own music, but I'm not a fan of music in lieu of a semi-normal ringer. I want something that sounds like a phone sometimes. I can't comment on the MP3 player on the phone as I have not used it yet.

Overall, great phone for the price. I'd definitely purchase it over the enV.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


DO NOT buy this phone!!

 

Oct 3, 2007 by alexamiller

I bought this phone only 4 months ago and i sold it on ebay and got a VX9800 instead.

I hated it.

It looks good, but that's about all.

Pros:
QWERTY keyboard
the look of it
dual flip
camera and camcorder
Cons:
50 SMS text inbox...not enough.
terrible signal. i had full signal and still wouldn't receive texts and would have missed calls from hours ago.
buttons are too small..i have small fingers and it is just too little.
mp3 player is not very good quality
i just really dislike this phone. i wouldn't even pay $30 for this phone if i could do it over again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Great Phone IF...

 

Sep 14, 2007 by rmcnamee

...it fits your needs.

I've had the u740 for about 6 months, and it is definitely a great phone in its own right but it's not for everyone. I like that the u740 is small enough to fit in my pocket comfortably, but also capable enough to allow the user to take advantage of any "extras" like on line access, quick texting, bluetooth, VCast and many other functions that your typical "call or be called" phone can't do. The u740 has some of the same features as the larger-in-size enV or Sidekick, but it's got the convenient size and stylish look comparable to the LG 8700.

Ultimately, just like any other phone, you're going to have to get used to it before you learn to love it.

PROS:
- Small and stylish
- QWERTY keyboard
- Memory card slot
- Bluetooth
- Buttons on the phone with the clamshell closed are very convenient and functional
- Feature loaded; I actually read the manual to find out all the different functions this phone is capable of
- Sturdy design; I've dropped the phone many times and there's still nothing wrong with it
- No glitches

CONS:
- Reception is good, but not as good as my old E815 (in fact, I don't think ANY phone has better reception than the E815)
- Keypad light doesn't stay on while on a call
- Small buttons; once you get used to them they're not so bad
- Internal display could be more attractive; all alerts are displayed in a small blue bar that runs accross the bottom of the screen
- Some functions are only accessible in landscape mode (this also takes some getting used to)
- The same buttons are used for entering numbers whether the phone's opened in landscape mode or portrait mode; that means that if the phone's open in landscape mode, you have to turn the phone sideways to read the numbers

Overall, I love the phone. It's got some quirks, but once I got used to them it wasn't a big deal. There's no other phone out there that combines such a plethora of features in such a small, attractive package.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not bad at all

 

Aug 28, 2007 by PhilSebben

I only owned the phone for two weeks, but it was one of the best I've used. Due to personal reasons I decided to leave Verizon and had to give up the phone.

Pros:
- Slim and comfortable
- QWERTY keyboard
- Decent camera with fun extras
- Clear reception
- Dual flip
- External mp3 keys

Cons:
- Even after two weeks the phone was starting to feel flimsy
- Speaker phone was often muddy and hard to understand
- Plenty of misspelled words

Overall: This is a phone for music lovers and people into texting, but the keyboard takes getting used to. Well worth it though.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THIS PHONE I S THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Aug 16, 2007 by solar_lightning

this phone is the best phone iv ever had but if you dont text message dont buy it

pros:
flips both ways
has qwerty keyboard
has great graphics
cam/camcoarder
great covarge
and many more!

cons:

nothing!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SLEEK, FASHIONABLE & FUNCTIONAL

 

Aug 9, 2007 by puggies2002

Ok, I got the phone a week ago today. I upgraded from the lg en-v.Needless to say, i really,really like this phone. I wasnt so sure at first becuz the qwerty keypad is smaller & different than the en-v. But i dont feel like i'm carrying a block of "cheddar" in my bag anymore! LOL. The phone quality, sound of ringtones/earpiece and camera are really good for a cell phone. Even thought the phone is slim, I usually get a full 2 days of call/txt/pix's on the phone which is pretty good considering the battery size. Although Samsung didnt put many ringtones on the phone, I've downloaded from VZW Tones and the sound & loudness of the tones are very good. I really dont have any cons about the phone. They all seem to be "pros." There are some features that you cant get to through the "flip" mode, you have to rotate the phone to "landscape" mode. The en-v was the same way. It didnt bother me. Overall, I would suggest this phone definately to anyone looking for a slim but functional phone for txting/pix/flix. : )

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


perfect

 

Aug 2, 2007 by littleprincess4u2

As other users, i bought the u740 about 2 1/2 mo. ago, I love it. I was ok with texting but since I got this phone, I had increased my texting. I used to have about 600 messages on my bills, now is over 2000 since i bought this phone. I'm pretty happy I decided to buy it, this is an upgrade from the LG VX9100 and the only thing that i didn't like i used to have more signal around my house with the lg, than with the samsung

pros

qwerty board
elegant design
thin phone

cons
battery doesn't last
doesn't have too many wallpapers
camera was better in lg

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


U740 Review

 

Jul 22, 2007 by slammyham

I gotta say i really like this phone over all. I had a vx8300 which i tought was th ebest overall phone on verizon till now.

Pros: Ketboard
Free wap Hack
Stereo Speakers loud
Nice big screen
Slim and Light
Very nice to watch movies on (i coveret divx to 3gp they come out nice)

camera takes nice pics (for a phone)
Videos come out better than my vx8300

Cons:
Resolution
Volume of ringers
Battery life

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1...789 10 111213...16

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.