Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Droid Turbo

 

Info Photos News Forum  12 Reviews  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
4.5
Reception
5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
5
Interface Speed
3
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.5
Overall
4.86
Reception
4.92
Battery Life
4.58
Hardware Usability
4.75
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.92
Interface Speed
3.92
Audio Volume
3.92
Camera
 
 

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
hide detailed ratings

Droid Turbo is fantastic.

 

Jun 28, 2015 by Nixoncarmichael

So I get to demo a lot of devices and I get a little squeamish when it comes to the Moto Droid series, until one day I turned around and realized I'd been using the droid turbo for two months....

This thing is a beast and delivers amazing battery life, durability and functionality.

Pros:
Turbo comes out of the box with a relatively clean version of Android 4.4.4, aside from the Verizon apps, there's not much BS installed.

Battery life is top notch, I rarely think about charging it when I'm out and about. Also like a lot of other Moto droids, this has built in inductive charging which actually comes in handy for me.

Signal reliability on Verizon's network is second to none, this thing gets reception in places where at&t or sprint devices wouldn't dare to work.

The quad snapdragon processor is just as quick as any samsung device.

Cons:
No sd card is kind of a bummer, but not a deal breaker, with 64gb flash memory built in, I'm cool with it.

Overall this is the best android phone that I've ever used, and I should've switched to the Verizon network years ago. If you need great battery life and great data/voice reliability, there is no other option.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Motorola Droid Turbo - Verizon Wireless

 

Jan 23, 2015 by Cellular Phone

I've had this phone for almost two months now.

Pros:
-Long battery life
-Fast processor
-Screen is crisp and nice
-The turbo charger is amazing, really charges up your phone quickly
-Signal strength is best of any Verizon Wireless phone
-Good call quality
-Very responsive
-lightweight
-Easy to use
-Pure vanilla android

Cons:
-Earpiece volume could be louder
-Camera isn't the greatest, but I found setting it to flash has helped.
-no expandable memory, but it does come with 32 GB.

Overall, it is a great flagship device. If you need a smartphone with a huge battery and that gets reception even in weak areas, this is the phone to get.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best phone I have ever owned

 

Nov 4, 2014 by walpoleauto

Pros:
Super fast
Beautiful display
Beastly battery
Feels heavy and built right
Great camera

Cons:
No volte
No microsd

I just bought a 64gb edition and that suffices. Day 1 of of the battery test and I managed to get it down to 40% and I beat the hell out of it to get it down. My iPhone 6 would have needed 2 full charge cycles to compete. I have finally found the perfect phone for my heavy business needs.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone! (64 Gig version)

 

Nov 1, 2014 by Droid2014   updated Nov 1, 2014

Pros
-Battery (100% to 12% in 24 hours on 1st full charge with moderate/heavy usage.)
-Screen image is stunning and sharp!
-Processor is blazing fast!
-Kit Kat 4.4.4 (almost stock version)
-Camera (takes great standing still pictures)
-Speaker on front
-Hardware build (overall good)
-Internal Memory (64G)
-Gorilla Glass
-Motorola's add on Moto
-Turbo charging (12% to %100 in just 2hr 40min!)

Cons:
**NO MICRO SD**
-Speaker phone and volume are a little to low
-Not sure how the ballistic nylon will hold up over time. (I noticed some minor fraying around Motorola symbol.)
-21 MP pictures are only in 4:3 standard view
-16:9 widescreen are only 15.5MP
-Camera still lacks ability to take motion pics without blurring.
-Dust gets caught around edge of glass especially the upper right and left corners.

I've owed several Motorola smart phones from the original Droid to the original Droid RAZR (my last phone) and this by far is the best Motorola phone I've ever owned! It’s fast and the screen images will blow your mind!

Out of the box it is clearly a sharp looking phone! I’m not the biggest fan of the ballistic nylon back but had no choice because I wanted the 64 gig memory which was a must in my mind being that there is no micro SD card.... I’m not a big fan of cloud storage as Apple has proven that it isn't exactly secure as they claimed it to be! The camera is by far the best Motorola camera ever! Crisp clear vibrant pictures!

I went with the EDGE plan 10 gig being I had to give up my unlimited plan…… I was going to go with the Samsung Galaxy S5 but changed my mind when I saw the Droid Turbo next to it. Although the battery didn't last 48 hours as claimed, I will give it credit for lasting over 24 hours on its 1st charge after moderate to heavy usage on its maiden voyage (I’ll update you later on the batter after I use it more!)

I’d recommend this phone to anyone!


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Wow...Home Run Moto!

 

Oct 30, 2014 by XanPhone   updated Nov 1, 2014

64gig Balistic Nylon

Pros:
Battery!
Screen looks incredible!
Nearly stock Android 4.4.4 KitKat.
Fast User Interface
Features
Major Camera Improvements
Build Quality
Speaker Placement
Full Tactile Buttons

Cons:
Speaker Quality (slightly tinny)
Sound: Volume

After owning an iPHone 5, I decided a few weeks ago to give Android another try. Picked up a GS5 but decided to return it. Have been using a Motorla X (1st Gen) since then waiting for this device.

First, the screen quality and resolution is INCREDIBLE. Colors are vivid, images and text are sharp, screen scrolls smoothly. The over 500 ppi (Pixels Per Inch) is superior to the s5. The phone comes with Android 4.4.4 KitKat pre-loaded. Very fast user inteface, doesn't lag like other manufacturers.
Of course, the battery life is the major selling point of this device.
Some people don't care for the actual buttons on the phone. I prefer the tactile buttons opposed to the screen ones. They are always available to use without having to swipe down on the screen. Don't really remove that much screen real-estate in my opinion.

There are only a couple of small cons that I have sound so far. Even though the speaker is now located on the front of the device (thank you Motorola for listening to your user base!), speakerphone sound is a little quiet for my liking. It's not hard to hear, it's just not as robust as some other phones out there.

The camera is a VAST improvement from prior Moto phones, but still feel it's a little behind Apple and Samsung devices. The gap has been decreased significantly however. Wish there was some sort of image stabilization to go along with the f2.0 lens. The volume buttons and locking button feel slightly flimsy. Don't feel that they are going to break off, just not as solid as others.

Overall, great device released by Motorola! Will update battery life stats as it is used more.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Beast Mode

 

Nov 22, 2014 by pepsijunky

One of the best phones I've ever had, certainly beats the Galaxy S5 in most ways except the camera.

The speed, battery life, horsepower, screen quality make this thing really work.

If Motorola can get the shutter speed sorted out on the camera, this phone will be perfect.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Late to the Party

 

Jul 12, 2016 by KeepNTouch   updated Jul 12, 2016

18 months after launch this phone is blazing fast. I had to pick up a replacement phone, while my G4 goes in for repair. The price was right and the turbo has some bells that my G4 doesn't have. Specifically, the turbo sounds GREAT as a phone, has splash protection. I've always liked Moto Assist and no I don't think Android's offering is better.

The front facing camera on the Turbo, is a joke at 2 MP. The 21 MP does a good job.

The design of the phone is bland, but it does feel as if it is made with quality materials. The software on this device is MUCH MUCH faster than my G4; it is noticeably more responsive with blutooth connections, map directions and researching something on-line. It's connectivity appears to be aggressive. My signal is 10 dBm stronger than what I would get in the same location with my G4.

This device may turn into more than a backup phone.

No WiFi Calling

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Subscribe to reviews of this phone with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2019 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.