Google Photos Uploads Images Even After App Deleted
Google Photos will continue to upload images to Google's online storage service even if smartphone owners delete the app from their Android device. The issue stems from the automatic backup feature, which is controlled in the system settings as well as the app's settings. If the app is removed, but the system settings are left to upload images in the background, the phone will continue to do so. Users who wish their device to cease backing up their photos need to make sure the service is shut off in the Google Settings menu after the app is removed. Google said it is working on an easier resolution to the issue.
Mar 26, 2018
Facebook has been called out in recent days for storing, in some cases, years' worth of call logs and text messages from Android handsets. Users discovered the logs in the wake of the Cambridge Analytica scandal.
May 1, 2019
Google is rolling out a new account option that lets users specify how long to keep location history and web/app activity data. In addition to existing options to opt out or delete data manually, users can choose to keep data for three months or 18 months, after which it will be permanently deleted.
Mar 28, 2018
Facebook today made new controls available to uses for managing their account, settings, and data. To start, Facebook says it redesigned the entire settings menu on mobile devices to improve discoverability.
Jun 4, 2018
Apple today announced iOS 12, its next-generation platform for the iPhone and iPad. Apple says it spent time improving the performance of the operating system, which in claims will work well on iPhones and iPads that went on sale as far back as 2013.
Jan 31, 2018
Samsung today informed those who use its Samsung Cloud service that it will no longer backup data from third-party applications. Starting February 6, 2018, the company will only backup information stored in Samsung-branded apps, including contacts, calendar, internet, notes, photos, videos, music, and documents.