Phone Scoop

printed July 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=999&r=23643

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG VX-8600 / AX-8600

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.91
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1...121314 15 16171819

Drops calls EVERYWHERE

 

Dec 23, 2006 by revlis240

Yes i agree with all of you that the phones menu system is wonderful, the profile is great, batt life is good, call sounds awesome, screens are great...

BUT

upon a month of testing, for *me* this thing droped more calls in one month than 3 years of owning a verizon phone combined. obviously its not my area since no other phone has had this problem..

just my .02

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


May be good for some, not for me

 

Nov 9, 2007 by adamdawson

Although this phone is loaded up with some really great features, it does have some major drawbacks that would keep me from purchasing it again. First, the good:

-Able to store 100+ songs with pretty good playback quality
-Check texts without opening phone
-Slim design, quality look/feel

Ok, that is all I can think of that I like. Now the bad:

-#1 reason I hate this phone is the reception. I drop an easy 7 out of 10 calls. I will have full power, it will drop the call, search for service, and then go back to full power. All the time. Not cool. I would venture to guess that is has something to do with no external anntenae.
-#2 The plug in for the power. What a mickey mouse set up this is. It was plugged in at one point and fell off my nightstand and broke the port. Verizon didn't want to warranty, claiming it was abuse. I claimed it was poor design. They ended up replacing the phone, and now the on the new one the port is starting to weaken and not charge unless you plug it in and wiggle it the right way. This shouldn't happen on a phone only a few months old.
#3- No plug in for headphones. Well, there is, but you need to plug in an adaptor in the port for power, which is a poor design as I already mentioned. I would think with a phone designed to play music it would have a designated port for headphones. I have since lost the adaptor anyway.
#4- The speaker quality is very poor. Talking to most people, I have a very hard time understanding them unless they speak very clearly and deliberatly.

The main 2 reasons that I don't like this phone: reception, and the method for charging. Perhaps this isn't a big of deal for others, but it's a deal breaker for me. I would suggest to those looking at this phone to take a close look at these things for the firt few days of use. You may end up wanting to return the phone. You may end up loving it too.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good but not Great

 

Jul 18, 2007 by soccersteve

Pros:
Good looking
Small
Does almost everything
Outside display (can read incoming texts)

Cons:
Only one color
Paint chips off the phone
Scratches easily
Keypad is flat
No flash for camera
Charger doesn't click when it plugs in
Speaker/real ringtones are not clear
Not the greatest reception

Also, I've had to get it replace twice now. Once because the text messages would disappear and just show a blank box. It wouldn't let me erase or see texts. When I tried to read them, my phone would just reset and it was a vicious cycle. The second time, the paint is chipping off and the phone stopped vibrating. It helped that the phone is black underneath the paint but you can still see where it's chipping. The good thing is that they replaced it both times for free. Kinda wish I knew this was going to happen and I'd get a different phone. Not the greatest reception either. I've had people standing next to me with 2 or 3 bars and I can't even get service.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


lg 8600 is ok!!

 

Jun 25, 2007 by alwayslooking79

The phone is pretty good. I love the look of it.

pros

sounds pretty good
look is nice
good for text messaging
love how you can say what future you want to go to and it will take you there.. dont have to do any button pushing (lot faster)
Camera is good lot better then the 8100

cons

locks up alot
resets its self
speaker phone is horriable
doesnt really get a good signal but i am in roaming all the time so cant expect much
and dropped calls
finger print magnet!!!!
No flash for the camera

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone bad buttons and battery

 

Jan 31, 2007 by vinman

Phone is great...
If it wasnt the fact that it ate batteries I would have given it a perfect score.Talk time sux!!!..The buttons are very hard to feel around also...
So buy a extended battery and shut off the evdo and u will be alot better off...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone!!

 

Dec 8, 2006 by ModelPerfect

I haven't had this phone for one full day yet and already I love it!!! This was a HUGE upgrade from the last two phones I've had, and so much better!!
The only real problems I have is that the volume and camera buttons on the side are tiny and a little hard to find, and the glossy finish is a finger smudge magnet. You'll find yourself wiping alot.
And the pros are everything else!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Fair and Balanced Review

 

Nov 18, 2006 by ferndog

Overall, the phone is nice. Does most everything well and the price is good.

Pro's: Good looking phone, call quality is decent on both ends, both displays are good, bluetooth for me was good, RF is fine, I never have a problem with any phone.

Con's: Speakerphone is below average. Keypad is flat and cheap looking, too much plastic, backside of the phone looks real cheap, front looks great, I thought the krzr was a fingerprint magnet...8600 just can't stay clean. Camera and video are below average.

Bottom line. Compared to a razor or krzr side by side, it looks great, once you pick it up, you can really tell the difference in quality of build and material...with the 8600 falling way short in that category.
I took my phone back and am using my krzr with extended battery again. Would I recommend the 8600? Sure, why not..it all depends whats important to you. Will it compete with the razor? No way.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


8600 is tight

 

Nov 16, 2006 by salesguy

I just got this phone last night it is awesome. I thought i liked the 8300 but after holding this bad boy its a clunker.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not that Great

 

Nov 18, 2006 by sam912

I have this phone for a couple of days and it is going back. The two biggest issues I have is the slow mobile web and the soft volume of the speaker phone.

Pros:
--Very cool looking.
--Call quality.

Cons:
--Mobile web is slow.
--Speaker phone volume.
--flat key pad.
--Feels cheap.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


RECEPTION!!

 

Jun 23, 2007 by peanut4

You cannot beat the reception on this phone! Loving it!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1...121314 15 16171819

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2