Phone Scoop

printed August 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=999&s=h&p=19

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG VX-8600 / AX-8600

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.91
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1...161718 19 

Best non-qwerty phone out there!!!

 

Mar 1, 2007 by rpmhounddog

OK...What's this about fingerprints? Go to ebay, spend $7 or so on a skin and the problems solved! This has got to be the coolest, best phone I could've ever have gotten. I spent $50 with Verizon to get it, got the $50 rebate within 2 weeks! I know the thing shows fingerprints, but wow don't it look great! And you know?...a quick buff and it glistens again! The skin I got is great, and my phone will look as good in 2 years as it did new!

Ok...you know, you can get Bitpim and transfer all your mp3's and make your own ringtones yourself. Piece o cake to do after you get an sd card and a USB cable. Got em all on ebay...cheap! I don't think many people realize the benefit of Bitpim yet. It's too cool! My best ringtone is the Cheech and Chong "Don't pick up the phone!" Too funny, it's loud enough, original, and FREE! Email me if you need pointers.

The screen resolution is top shelf! Never saw any better! Battery life is exceptional too. I bet I could listen to 150 songs without losing power.

And the smooth, flat keypad? Hey, whatya expect in a slim-line phone? It's cool and you can get used to anything, I did! And the menu is the best I've experienced yet.

the only CONS: Speakerphone ain't loud enough...by far. MP'3 player could be louder...but it's ok.

Best phone deal you could ever get!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


VX-8600 File Transfer

 

Feb 2, 2007 by Collector

My favorite phones are my Motorola maxx V6 ones I use on my T-Mobile accounts. I opened a Verizon account last week and bought the LG VX-8600. This is a nice phone but has some limitations that may be due to Verizon disabling certain features. On my V6's I can use my .mp3 files as ringtones. I can't on the VX-8600. I found that I can't purchase or download ringtones from any other source than Verizon for the VX-8600. I suspect this was intentional by Verizon as they have a history with that. Does anyone have any suggestions or explanations about this problem with the VX-8600?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not for Me

 

Jan 19, 2007 by Herd-12

Only used it for a few hours and will be returning it. I was coming from a Motorola E815, which is a great phone and could not adjust to the very small fonts and the very sensitive key pad. It was dificult dialing a number without making errors. I probably could have kept the phone if it had the motorola software, which provides you with larger fonts in the calendar and contact list. I'm sure others who are not far sighted
won't have the same issues.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


awful

 

Jan 8, 2007 by cwbork44

First of all, let me state this is my first and last flip phone. The keypad is smooth and makes it difficult to hit the correct numerals and to text. The speaker phone is useless and my bet is with one drop the phone is toast. Why is Verizon the ONLY carrier to not cary a Candy bar phone with a camera. I am returning this phone and going to get a used Nokia bar phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Poor sound quality

 

Dec 28, 2006 by netter123

My girlfriend and I both got this phone from different places. Both of us have had problems with poor call quality. The phone makes other people sound like they're talking in a tin can, and other people say we sound muddy when on this phone. The phone would get a 4.5 stars without the poor sound quality, but in the end, great voice quality is a must have feature.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


excellent phone =)

 

Dec 3, 2006 by sneezie

I thought that this phone is excellent. I loved pretty much everything about it - ranging from its features to way it looks. Considering that I very pick person and have very high standards for things (especially electronics), this phone is really great!

Since I haven't upgraded my phone for over two years, I got $100 for this phone, plus another $50 off for mail-in rebate. So I was satisfied with the price of the phone. I also got an additional $10 off on the music kit to upload my own music to the phone and another $10 for the 1 gb memory card.
But I definitely like the looks of this phone! It's a lot better than the LG Chocolate.

However, there were a few things I didn't like about this phone. I, being the untech savvy person I am, didn't know much about cell phones and made a few mistakes. For one thing, I bought the 1 gb memory card. I realized that I didn't need that much memory on my phone since I'm very pick with my music and get sick of music pretty easy... so I update it really often. I should have stuck with 512 or 256.
Second of all, I didn't like how I couldn't use my own music I uploaded onto the phone as ringtones. You have to purchase ringtones. Or maybe I'm wrong and you can never do that? Either that, I wanted to record voice memos and use it as a ringtone, but I can't figure out how to do that if I can.
Third, the LG can't seem to handle really high bitrates of music. It tends to lag if I upload a 320 bitrate song.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone but RF not up to Snuff

 

Nov 28, 2006 by dequardo

Sorry to say I received my 8600 today and am returning it (will actually ebaY it). I can live with all the quirks listed elsewhere but RF is an issue for me. I'll preface this by stating I'm in an old PrimeCo area (1900 mhz). Here phones indoors are problematic and Moto and Nokias fare no better than LGs. My 8300 is the best Rf performing phone (of ANY) I've used over the past five years and the only one I can use reliably at my desk at work.

I'm pulling RF Rx power numbers of -104 on the 8600 compared to -99 on the 8300. Not good. For me. If you are in an 800mhz area you will have no problems in this regard.

Mike

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1...161718 19 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1