Phone Scoop

printed October 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=97

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola v60i (GSM) / v60gi

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  5  

Average Ratings

3.74
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

a great phone

 

Aug 24, 2005 by vinnyfrancisco

Today we are custom to our phones having cameras, internet, and 3D games.

When this phone first came out it was top of the line, with none of those features. can you believe it?

I had this phone for at least 2 1/2 years, and it never let me down once. and it was built like a rock. Today our phones are made of pure *plastic*, this phone was made of metal. you could drop it, play ping-pong with it, and it would still be fine.

this is one of motorolas finest.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall, a reliable phone

 

Jan 20, 2004 by jodiaz76

One cannot disagree that Motorola's flagship line of V60's (GSM, CDMA, TDMA) are all well-rounded phones.
I bought mine on eBay and have enjoyed using ti since it fell on to my hands. The signal is great, it's metal casing sturdiness is unquestionable, and the fashionability factor is great, considering it's wide array of faceplates and accessories. The only thing I hate is that it s o m e t i m e s it loses signal completely and the SIM card just gives me an error, but as soon as it's turned off and back on, no problem.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


sweet.

 

Mar 15, 2003 by starscream

Great phone. small, sleek and will do just about whatever you need a cellphone to do, and then some. You can tell its one of the best phones from motorla yet. The only complaint i have is no polyphonic ringtones and no color display. the t720 is nice, but its not as compact and sleek as the t60gi. No one will complain about this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Motorola v60i GSM

 

Nov 3, 2002 by Edwin Song

I got this phone a few months ago, but mine is the Motorola v60i GSM, the little oval shape on the front of the phone is black, instead of white on the phone shown at this website which is the Motorola v60gi. But anyways, yea, i actually like this phone a lot. My service is Cingular, and i dunno about the other carriers, but my reception with this phone is near perfect at most places. I was surprised when this phone started working at places where my OLD v phone, the v3682 didn't work at. Also, i've dropped this phone on cement, tile floors, just about everywhere, and there are barely any scratches, dents, or anything like that. It's built really tough, lots of ring tones, functions are great, it can do lots, etc, etc.
The ONLY thing that kinda annoys me is that it's such a hassle to send text messages, but you'll get used to it after a while.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


motorola at its finest

 

Jan 14, 2011 by watagatapitusberry

this phone and the motorola star tac were the best phones that ever existed

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


V60I - Motorola's Best

 

Oct 16, 2007 by TMBISHOP04

Like the other reviewer, even without the color screen, camera and all the other bells and whistles the V60i is hands down the best Motorola phone I've ever owned. The call quality is superb and I dont know what it is about these new (plastic) phones but they cant beat the V60i for durability, and call clarity. I've tried very hard to find a V60i and I know Motorola does not make this phone anymore. I think Motorola should consider putting this phone back into production just like they made it before. I've had many other phones and none of them could beat the V60i.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very good phone but days are numbered..

 

Nov 11, 2006 by txinsp

I've used various flavors of the v60 line, and they have all been good, reliable phones. Catering more to the business world than for personal use, they provide a good solid menu interface and reliable reception without the color display and all the bells and whistles. I recently bought a set of v60i phones from Ebay to use on Cingular's network in the DFW area. Since these phones only cover the 900/1800/1900 bands they do not work here. Cingular appears to be using the 850 band. I was very disappointed since it was going to be like revisiting an old reliable friend.

PROs
Decent battery life (get the extended battery!)
Easy to navigate
Decent selection of ringtones
Tough (the motorola belt holster clip is as tough as this phone too!)
Changeable faceplates
Good reception
All around tough, reliable and good looking phone with good spacing around the keys.

CONs
May not work in your local network.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Sound Qaulity/Bad Reception

 

Nov 3, 2006 by axnxg

The actual sound quality on this phone is fantastic. Best I've heard. But it has trouble finding reception and with dropped calls (I'm in the dc/balt area). Also ear pieces sound awful (i tried a couple brands).

Pros - sound quality/volume
cons - poor ear piece sound quality and spotty reception.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


They don't make them like this anymore

 

Apr 22, 2006 by MrFlashport

While I like my Razr and V188, there is no comparison to the build quality and performance of this legend. The plastic junk of today reflects the throwaway metality of the industry. The v60g was the last of the "5 year" life phones. No camera, no MP3 player, no color screen, no polyphonic ringers. Just plain quality, it makes and recieves phone calls and does it well. The battery life is incredible, and the RF is about as good as it can get.

I still have one and use it on days when I need a phone that I don't worry if it gets dropped, scraped or bruised. I know it will still be there, and still work as good as the day it rolled out of the factory. If you can find one of these, pick it up, even as a backup phone. It will probabbly be here for another 5 years...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This was the last great Motorola

 

Dec 17, 2005 by idreamoutloud

Remember the days when the name Motorola actually stood for something?

This was the last of the truly great Motorola's. This phone didn't have any remarkable features that made it stand out from any other. But everything it did, it did flawlessly. Crisp sound, absolutely amazing battery life, incredible reception. undeniably the most attractive phone that was available at the time. And the phone was a tank, you could do anything with or to this phone and it didn't care, it just kept on working.

These phones sold like crazy, everybody had one, and everyone loved 'em. I still know quite a few people that are still using the good old v60 and hanging onto them for as long as they possibly can. I can't say that I blame them at all.

What happened Motorola? Got too bored with making good products?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2