Phone Scoop

printed September 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=834&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia E62 / E61

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.09
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5

Good phone with some drawbacks

 

Feb 20, 2007 by PSN81

I recently switched to a Nokia E61 from a BlackBerry 8700G. In most aspects, the E61 is far superior.
I have found 4 major problems/peeves with the device/software:
1) Can't find a way to adjust the text size for the desktop and for the basic applications (can do it inside word processor and Web browser).
2) There is no autotext or predictive typing support
3) The device can't charge through its USB cable; one must use a separate charger cable; seems rather silly.
4) There is no external antenna slot/port. I'm in many locations where my service only works with an external active signal boosting antenna (and just like with the BB, there is no way to connect it directly).
A more minor peeve is that switching between the applications is slow; and the system does hang now and then, requiring a cold reboot (removing the battery, etc.). Also minor is the fact that there are very few accessories for it.
If anyone has found a solution or workaround these issues, please contact me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Disappointing phone

 

Feb 14, 2007 by jhcombs

I like gadgets. I have been waiting for one of these smart phones to come down to a reasonable price. When Cingular had the E62 for $99, I jumped.
The phone is a brick. It is large, heavy, and rectangular. I didn't really mind that too badly at first... I realize that you have to increase the size when you pack so much into a phone. Eventually, I got tired of lugging it around though.
My main gripe is with the response time. When I hit a button, I want to instantly be taken to that menu. I don't think that's too much to ask since other phones do it nicely. For example, when I hit the send button to bring up the log of dialed calls, it would take a full three seconds to fill the screen with that information. Going between menus is slow. I tried out my frinds Treo 650 to see if they reacted similarly. No, the Treo instantly responded to my commands. My wife and I both had this phone and both of them were extremely slow. Having the full qwerty keyboard isn't all it's cracked up to be. I am much faster with my itap than with these little keyboards.
Bluetooth reception was terrible! If the phone was strapped on to my left and my plantronics headset was on my right then I would get static. If I sat the phone down and walked more than 4 or 5 feet away, I would start to get static. My new phone, the Motorola V365, I can set it down and walk 20 or so feet away and it will work great.
This phone has some good features on it... email... internet..etc. I just don't want to pay $40/month to be able to use that stuff. I'm happy with my new regular old flip phone now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best Phone Ever.

 

Dec 19, 2006 by jwaltner

The Nokia E61 is the best phone ever! The reasons are very simple. The battery life is amazing. With heavy use of the phone and data you have to charge it once every 2 days. The best feature of this phone is all the programs and themes that are available. It looks as if it is endless. The wi-i on the phone works great and the qwerty keyboard is laid out beutifully. I really feel this is the best phone out right now. If you are in to the newest and greatest, you MUST pick up a Nokia E61.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


one of the best phone ive own

 

Dec 19, 2006 by freighterdog

loud volume, good battery life... soft keys and not slippery

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


have the phone

 

Nov 6, 2006 by doitnow2007

the phone is a great phone has all the fetuares (besides camera) the only down side to it that loading an application takes a little longer then what a normal phone used to take but im getting used to it

i would tell any one who is looking for a blackberry to skip it and get the nokia e62

forget the fact that the e62 down not have wifi
u do not need it and if u do go and get a laptop

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is DA BOMB

 

Nov 1, 2006 by GIREVIKS

just got my E62 and I really love it. The web browser trounces the blackberry 8700c and the reception and build are superb. The only con is that the phone is a little too wide compared to the blackberry, but its a very minor issue overall. Best smartphone...ever!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia E61

 

Oct 20, 2006 by mgm

I have had the E61 for a few months now and have still got to make the sip (VOIP) side function.

However, I recently purchased a Nokia cable from an airport which replaces the standard data transfer cable that come with the unit, and at the same time enables the E61 to be recharged from the USB. I have found this to be very useful.

On the whole, I still find the E61 among the top phones though the pda side is a little limited as many symbian 60 programs don't work with it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Beware of E62 for international travel

 

Oct 6, 2006 by traveler1604

I have the E61 and love it. I purchased it from a retailer located in New York for about $350 after reading article in Business 2.0 magazine. Having the ability to use the wifi function for VOIP calls is terrific while outside the US. Cingular de-activated this function in the E62 version.

I can plop down in a wifi area and make free (or sometimes very low cost) calls using a VOIP provider. Beats the heck out of pricey international roaming charges by a phone locked to a US carrier.

Also, having the ability to simply pop in a SIM card from another carrier (a lot of countries have free incoming calls, therefore, using a call back service I can call the US for about $0.30-$0.40/min) is a real benefit for the way that I operate.

I have not used the phone internet function in the US, but do understand there might be an issue- you might want to check it out before making decision, if that is a big concern.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


E62 For Cingular

 

Oct 4, 2006 by crackberry

WOW!!! The screen is the clearest and crispest I've seen. I really cannot go on enough about the screen!!! The first thing I did was set up Blackberry connect and it was set up in a snap. The music player is pretty good, but could be a little more user friendly but since it won't be used as an mp3 player by me, it won't be an issue. Also the user interface could be a little faster, but unlike Windows devices and Palm and even Blackberry, I have had no lock ups, no crashes or unwanted reboots... So, I'll deal with a little slowness in exchange for a reliable device.......

***** REMOTE LOCK FEATURE IS GREAT!!! you can preset a lock code and you can send a text from any phone or from the Cingular website and lock the phone......

The reason I don't rate it a 5 is because I think they could have been more intuitive with the mailing inboxs (organization and NO delete all feature)... also, it leaves a 'new' email icon up long after it's been checked (may just be my device though)...

all in all, get it. just go get one...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Device!

 

Oct 3, 2006 by ranlsan

This is an outstanding device, very satisfied. I am a Cingular salesperson and i've carried every single device offered by Cingular. And this is by far one of the best ones.
Pros:
-Feels perfect in the hand, easy one handed operations
-Key pad is perfectly layed out!
-So much memory, 80 something MB
-Holds charge atleast 3 days of regular usage
-Amazing display, 16 million colors
-Fast data transfer through bluetooth
-The Golf ProII game is highly addictive
Cons:
-Symbian operating systems can take a little getting used too
-I wish it had a camera, oh well

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1