Phone Scoop

printed November 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=755&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry 7130e

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.65
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 12 3 

Don't buy this phone until RIM fixes firmware

 

Feb 1, 2006 by lobmeyer

I would like to report a huge problem with this phone to the group. Have other people noticed the problems with battery life. I finally got to a 3rd level Verizonwireless person and the issue is a bug in the firmware for authentication to the broadband networks. Here is what happens. If you are in an area that has limited or EVDO or you loose EVDO when going into a building or underground your Battery is about to be discharged.

According to Verizon RIM has a bug in the code that authenticates you to the broadband networks. EVDO uses a different authentication protocol then the 1G network that uses CHAP. When you switch between 1G and 3G the code gets confused and tries the wrong authentication method with the broadband type. This causes extra communication to happen as it tries to authenticate over an over. At this point you completely loose data connectivity (i.e. no email or web access) and your battery goes into extreme discharge mode. Battery life on my units have been reduced to under 2 hours standby usage from a 100% charge when this happens.

The fix if you notice this for now is to turn your radio off and back on again.

Verizon is waiting on a fix from RIM. They claim it will be out some time this quarter.

I would suggest not buying this phone until this problem is resolved.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very good functional phone/PDA

 

Jan 3, 2006 by taeminn

Got one for my wife who used to have 7520.

PROs
+ Good looking device.. it actually looks like a phone
+ EVDO Yes... it's fast
+ Usage as a high-speed modem (EZ 2 use)
+ Great screen
+ SureType
+ Still a Blackberry
+ Wireless set up on e-mail forwards
+ Bluetooth
+ Speakerphone

CONs
- No camera (all BB)
- free case that comes with the phone is no good. Got a good one at the store.
- No SD slots (for extra memory) (all BB)
- No Asian character support (all BB)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


new to blackberry

 

Dec 26, 2005 by nemadrol

This phone is great. The only reason why I gave it a 4.5 is because it resets sometimes after I upload new software. Other than that the pda and phone capabilities are fantastic. I recommend this phone to anybody that what's a convergence device.

PROS:
-call quality
-phone functionality
-pda functionality

CONS:
-phone resets after a while when you upload new software
-sometimes the screen light doesn't dim out

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not bad but there are issues

 

Dec 12, 2005 by SJD

This is my third BB and it feels and works great, when it works. I have had three exchanges in one day from Bell. My orginal has a changing issue, the next two would drop the cell signal after 30-60 seconds. I now have my orginal back until I can get another.
Bell seems to think there is a quality issue with a batch of phones,

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


No one can hear me

 

Jun 16, 2006 by pittsburgh1

I thought it was the phone. But then i got a new model of this and still no one seems to be able to hear me on this phone. I don't understand it. Maybe everyone else is wearing headsets. The guy behind me at Verizon said his sound reception was horrible too and he uses it as a paperweight. I get so many dropped calls and people telling me that they can't hear me that I hardly use this.

The email also stopped because I am told I went over quota. I updated to new software, spent an hour with technical support and that still didn't fix it.

In theory, it all seemed great. But the reality of the phone seems to me to be expensive and inferior to what is out there. I tried a Treo too by the way and was disappointed in that. In my experience, although I love having phone numbers from my computer in my phone, the PDAs are still not at the level that make it a satisfying experience. But maybe it is just me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It's a hot phone

 

Mar 8, 2006 by kingofholland

PRO's: ** The size is just perfect and it's still a Blackberry! ** SureType is amazing (once you figure it out) ** Superfast browsing ** Easy to make your co-workers jealous **
CON's:
** The case for your belt is cheap-looking and clumsy ** It doesn't play MP3's **

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Personal Preference

 

Jan 20, 2006 by jerseyshore

To select a Blackberry.... it really depends on what your looking for. Myself I like having a qwerty keyboard to respond to e-mails within a minute. Thats me. If you don't mind waiting to reply to your sender by sometimes having to push twice to get the letter you want, then you should have this.

Pros-Great Screen

Cons-No qwerty keyboard, no speaker,

In closing. Research what you want first before your purchase. Speed in response time with less keystrokes, and a good color screen, or slow response emails (double clicking a key to get one letter) with an awesome screen. Good Luck with your decision. And remember it's yours to make.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 12 3 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2