Phone Scoop

printed July 29, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=755&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry 7130e

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.65
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

No Complaints

 

May 12, 2007 by celldog24vzw

This is my first BlackBerry device, much less PDA. I personally got it because I wanted to see why no one in our company liked them. After I played with it for the first couple of times, I really fell in love with it. So, in short...

PROS

Emailing is REALLY easy
Great screen
Easy texting/emailing entry
Awesome volume
Bluetooth perfection

CONS

Froze on me
Power cycled frequently after downloading DST patch

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great

 

Feb 24, 2007 by motoman12345

I had the pleasure of demoing this phone for a couple of weeks via verizon (seeing if we could get out of cingulars crapshoot of a service) and this phone was great it had great call quality and great service even with it being a smartphone the web browser was pretty fast too much faster then the cingular blackberry next to me I would recommend this phone to anybody

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Sprint 7130e

 

Jan 9, 2007 by digital92805

Great evdo speeds.
Telenav works great but needs to be exited by using the soft button. Otherwise I haven't run into any problems with the phone or other applications.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great PDA, Poor Phone

 

Oct 1, 2006 by wryanmcse

I'm using Sprint with the 7130e. The email services is great but the feedback I'm getting on phone calls is that there's lots of popping like I'm breaking up and I've dropped a few calls. I had a Sanyo for the past two years without problems. I really hate to give up the Blackberry at this point. I also noticed that if I move my hand around on the phone during a call, even just lifting a finger off the phone, a loud popping noise gets transmitted to the caller. (Tested with another phone up to the opposite ear ;-) It seems the mic gain on this thing is way too sensitive. My wife always has to ask me to lower my voice when I call her. I'm thinking about switching to the 8700 series hoping that they've made some better adjustments. It seems odd there's no mic hole on either handset like many other pda phones. And I agree the speaker isn't as loud as my Sanyo, but then they're known for their loudness and reception...

Love the email, disappointed in the phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


7130e Sprint

 

Jul 7, 2006 by smartphonepros

I activated my 7130e 2 weeks ago on Sprint with EVDO. It rocks. So far the sound quality has been excellent. The data has also been excellent. i am getting EVDO in places in Texas that I did not know were available such as Brenham - think Bluebell Ice Cream and 18 cows. Wow.

Pros -
-Sound quality
-Screen is beautiful
-SureType is awesome
-BES Server has been flawless
-BIS is running a mixture of 7 POP and IMAP accounts
-Speaker phone
-Google Local, Google IM, Yahoo IM, Blackberry Messenger
-Soccer Scores - Germany 2006
- Bluetooth

Cons -
- sometimes the screen does not do well outside in direct sunlight.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Device

 

May 14, 2006 by CJE3200

This is my second RIM BlackBerry device and I am definitely pleased. I recently upgraded from the 7250 to the 7130e and I am very impressed with the speed and the memory the 7130e has. The screen is very impressive and I love the EVDO along with the new SureType technology. E-mail is very fast and so is the internet browser. There may be a couple cons depending on the user. I suppose they could have put on a camera on it, but I would never use it anyway. I am still used to the full keyboard, but I am adjusting fine to the two letter key. All in all a great phone. I highly recommend this phone as a BlackBerry enthusiast.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Frequent crashes (Assert error)

 

Apr 5, 2006 by bgould

I am very surprised that no one else has identified frequent crashing or that Verizon has removed many of the features built into the device. I can only imagine that most people assumed that eventually they'll be able to figure out how to use the features in the manual built into the phone -- even though the features no longer exist.

I was getting Assert errors about 10 times per day, so I replaced the phone. The new one had the same problems, so I returned it.
I would have kept the phone (I love the typing software), but if I cannot receive phone calls because the phone crashed, it is totally useless.

The technology from RIM looks terrific, but RIM says that Verizon made it unstable when they hacked it to remove the standard features.

As best I can tell, they made it IMPOSSIBLE to load any ring tones that were not pre-loaded (there is no way to load files and get-it-now doesn't work either. It is impossible to load any software not pre-loaded. And features like "get your GPS location" were removed for no reason that can be explained.

Has no one else experienced the crashing?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice phone/pda in small package

 

Apr 1, 2006 by jazzy1986

I give it 4.0 based on that it does not have voice dialing capabilities. I have had this phone since January and have not been disappointed in it's overall performance or what I expected to get from this phone. I have had to wipe it clean once and backed everything up before doing so. When I restored the information everything went back to the way I had it set in the phone, theme, wallpaper etc. What I really like about the backup/restore is what is backed up, all messages, call logs, songs downloaded to the phone, pics, everything that was there prior to glitch. Like I said though, there has only been one incident that I've had to clear it all out and start over. Far less trouble than the windows devices. Maybe the next generation of devices from BB will include voice dial, that would really make this an exceptional device to have.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Owned It.

 

Mar 29, 2006 by zippaul

The 7130e on Verizon's network was fantastic as far as reception and voice quality goes. The Blackberry 7130e does what all Blackberrys seem to do very well, e-mail. Second to none as far as I can tell. The scroll wheel on the side makes moving through the graphical user interface (gui) very easy and selecting from the associated menus just as simple. The phone is light but not as slim as one would think. It is okay in a jacket pocket and somewhat bulky in front pants pocket. There are a couple of negatives, one was a deal breaker for me. No voice activated dialing. For a business centric phone and as my first Blackberry you would think this would be a standard feature. If you are on the road alot, literally driving down the road, it is very difficult to scroll through your contacts and place a call. It is actually dangerous, not good. The web browser even on Verizon's evdo (plenty speedy) isn't very good either. The PDA functions are okay. If RIM were to correct both, especially the voice activated dialing this would be nearly a perfect phone. It has no camera, it has no media functions really at all. But who cares? It is a very good phone overall. If lack of voice dialing does not bother you then this may be the phone for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome phone / PDA

 

Feb 21, 2006 by katin2

This phone is great clear screen easy to use and has a speaker phone. Ev DO is awesome fast Internet for sure. I like how you can personalize the background picture besides the ones that come with the phone. This phone is made for younger audience who have mastered text messaging. 2 letters per key is really easy , but not as easy as the regular blackberry's. I have it synced with outlook and it works awesome would recommend this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1