Phone Scoop

printed April 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=738

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia N90

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

2.97
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Four and a half out 5 for no vibrator

 

Jul 17, 2006 by phholm

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A very functional phone with few bad features

 

Sep 27, 2005 by alzej469

I bought this phone about 3 weeks ago and to this day I am very impressed with it. It's a fairly large phone, but it isn't heavy and where the phone lacks in size it makes up in features.

Other that using the basic phone functions, I use it for listening to music, taking pictures and the occasional video. In all of these, the phone preforms very well - especially as a camera. Just to clear things up, the camera is very good - not as bad as some people make out. If you are a photo freak, buy a seperate camera - if you like taking photos and want a higher quality camera in a phone, buy the N90.

For me, the biggest fault of this phone is the lack of a vibrate function. However, to compensate - there is a very loud speaker built into the phone, the loudest out of any phone i have heard. Also on the cons is the fairly small memory card supplied with the phone, only 64MB - ideally most users would prefer a bit more space. The phone itself feels solid and quality - and all of the twisting joints are very strong.

Undoubtedly, one of the best things about this phone so far is the 'wow' factor it carries. This phone is highly impressive to look at and a pleasure to use. The outside screen (which is tiny compared to the main screen) is about the same quality as most main phone screens at the moment. The phone is expensive, but you do get what you paid for - If you are a hardcore photographer, buy a digital camera! If you like taking pictures and want a phone combined with a good camera, consider getting this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Amazing Phone! Well-Done NOKIA!

 

Oct 21, 2005 by kenny74ca

The video camera is amazing and although not as smooth as a regular video camera (due to frame rate), it is clear and stunning! Better than 6680.

The pictures from the camera show no "pixel squares". It is just like a regular 2MP camera photo!

Sorry to hear that you are still suffering from the 6680's "out of memory, please close applications" issue.

Get the N90 and you will not regret it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


cut the crap.. please

 

Oct 17, 2005 by bp_bindaas

What if some people didnt like the phone, it doesnt change the phone. n i really like it..
This phone has awesome design and features like display which u cant find anywhere else..
Please dont expect a digi-cam from this. Even Mr. Carl Z wont give u much from a 2 mp cam..
Pros:
excellent design,
one of the best displays u can find in a cell today,
great sound,
Cons:
no vibrator but the ringtones can be very loud,
64 MB may be too less for the phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Greatest phone ever

 

Oct 19, 2005 by The Expert

I bought this phone 3 weeks ago and this a great phone it has a got great design and camera is great vibration deos not matter because it has aloud voice and display and the sound quality is great the only disadvantage is that it is big other wise this phone is great

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


about the N90

 

Nov 26, 2005 by deadz74

Check your phone were it's from that probably why your having so much problem if it's says made in findland it's the real deal and if it's says made in Nokia it's a fake reply to confirm thank you all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


In 2006 2MP is not what qualifies the camera

 

Jan 7, 2006 by gsm2006expert

I inserted my T-Mobile simcard and the phone started making calls with outstanding quality (clear, loud and smooth sound).
HOWEVER: For $600 I expected it to have a decent digital camera. Here where the biggest gimmick got revealed to me.

PHONE:
Positives:
-Loud, clear and smooth sound
-Nice Build and mature design (not for kids who likes Sony or Motorola toy phones, LOL)

PHONE:
Negatives:
-No Vibration! (in 2006?!)
(Shouldn't use Carl Zeiss lens then, if they can't cooperate with Vibrating)

DIGITAL CAMERA:
Negatives:
-Sharpness is much worser than on my old 2mp/without opt. zoom Kodak digital camera
-Absolutely no separate manual control for camera! (even to delete a pic, you have to go to a phone menu!)
-No ISO (sensitivity setting) and Shutter priority speed control (that's for a night time or at home shooting). Every lowest digital camera on today's market has those settings!
-Digital zoom is accessed by pressing a joystick (WHAT?! Is this a camera or toy?)

CONCLUSION:
I don't blame Nokia for not being able to create a decent digital camera yet (even Sony can't). But I strongly blame Nokia for overpricing this phone. This phone's retail price must be no higher than $400!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


OMG!

 

Sep 14, 2005 by kyle4km

I just received this phone from www.plemix.com ( paid close to $950, including shipping). I did not know that the phone has no Vibration ( I'm swear I would never order the phone without this basic component).

CARL ZEISS, huge screen, 2mp is all B.S. when the phone is missing the basic function.

I will return this phone ( and will be now charged 20% restocking fee!).
I'm asking Phonescoop. com staff to remove Vibration spec. out of phone specifics.
It is misleading people ( not intentionaly of course).

Well, since I will pay 20% restocking, I played already with the phones camera quite a bit. What a disaster that is as well:
Most pictures came very blurry, grainy, and look like there was a smoke in my room.

SHAME ON!-Nokia
Such a reputational phone brand, and at the same time such a bad n90 disaster!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Its alright

 

Dec 19, 2005 by ILLCOMMUNICATION

Well my honest opinion of this phone is not good folks. I have had 2 in the past 5 days and still having the same problems. Nokia assures me this is not something they have heard of but come on we all know that most symbian based are slow on accessing menus but both of the phones I have tried have been very slow. I am a nokia lover but this phone sucks. It has some overall cool factors but it is not worth the money if you like to have conversations. I put my sim back in my beat up old nokia 6230 and had perfect reception and sound quality where the n90 just plain had weak to no signal.
Pros:
Carl Zeiss 2 mp camera. Which takes a wonderful photo.
Video is pretty good quality(and has plenty of time to record).
Video call(maybe the coolest feature of the phone but alas tmobile doesnt support umts so it will be years before I could use this feature).
Nice crisp and colorful display.
Great photo editor for the phone.
Cons:
Reception is horrid. It never picks up a good signal.
The bluetooth seems to be a little weak with connection.
The firmware is shot and memory resorces are way to low for a phone that has this many gizmo's on it they need a better processor.
What is the point of an outside display with color if you cannot even put a picture to a contacts information for when they call.
Talk time? Lets just say you need a charger for home, office, and car with this phone. The battery life stinks.
The sync was glitchey. I had to do about 3 times before it took the info.

Dont Buy this Phone unless you only take pictures.
I am returning it today.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Big disappointment

 

Sep 14, 2005 by mike78nycc

I'll start for the Basics:

1)Contrary to all rumors and beliefs Nokia n90 has no Vibration.
http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_n90-review-44.php (Main disadvantages list) .
Remember those people from gsmarena.com have the phone!

2) The photos taken by n90 are far behind the photos taken by Nokia 6681/6682
(could it be than in n90 there is a fake Carl? or simply than Nokia and Carl don't get alone very well?).

COMPARE PHOTOS of the same places taken by both phones
- http://www.gsmarena.com/review.php3?idReview=45&idPage=3 ( color is horrible, and not sharp at all! What did you do Carl Zeiss?)

http://www.gsmarena.com/review.php3?idReview=38&idPage=4
( 6681, photos of the same scenes, are more truthful about color and very crisp and sharp comparing to N90).

CONCLUSION:
Now, it is all up to you folks.
Please post more opinion here and if you happened to have a better version of N90, please place the photos taken by it here).

I would not pay ever $900 for a phone that has no Vibration and horrible camera.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1