Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=735&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola i850 / i855

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  53  

Average Ratings

3.59
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 345

i850 Great phone

 

Nov 26, 2005 by klands

The i850 is a great phone. I have read reviews that the i850 is ugly and bulky but compaired to the i730 and other earlier models the i850 this is compact, light, and not ugly.

Pros: Big display, smaller than other nextel flip phones, lots of features, much better looking then the ugly i730 and smaller than the i860.

Cons: camera (needs a 1.3 or 2 mp) back battery cover scratches easily

Conclusion: The i850 reminds me of the i90 when it came out. A great Nextel cell phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Rock Solid Phone!!

 

Oct 13, 2005 by jffranco5777

I`ve only owned one other Nextel phone the i730, obviously where talking apples and oranges. The i850 definitelty has a cool look to it, though not much different in functions than some of nextels latest offerings, what it does do, it does well.

PROS:
1) Great display- very sharp graphics.
2) Very LOUD speaker.
3) MP3 ringtones.
4) Build quality MUCH better than the i860- does not scratch-up as easy as i860.
5) Design does not look antiquated like
that of the 860 or even 930.
6) Key pad is well desinged- superior than
the 860.

CONS:
1) Does not have video playback like the
i860.
2) Wish it had as much memory as the i860.
3) Should have offered cool bluetooth
capability.

Aside from the few complaints, this phone is excellent and I would highly recommend.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


The New i95

 

Jul 15, 2005 by deezmania

This phone is a newer i95. Same old school look.

Pros.
Reception
Buttons
loud ringers
loud speaker
Very durable
BATTERY

Cons.
display to small even when zoomed.
design is damn ugly

OVERALL THIS PHONE IS GREAT THE ONLY PROBLEM WITH IT IS THAT IT IS JUST NOT VERY GOOD LOOKING. IF YOU WANT A GREAT PHONE THIS IS YOUR BEST BET ALL THE FEATURES ALL THE FUN BUT NO LOOK.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I 850 SUCKS

 

Nov 9, 2005 by bmt3584

PROS
- 600 NUMBERS
- THE NEW DIRECT TALK FEATURE IS PRETTY COOL

CONS
- THE PHONE IS BUILT UGLY
- BATTERY LIFE SUCKS
- CAMERA IS THE WORST
- NO ALARM CLOCK OR CALC.
- WEB TAKES TO LONG TO LOAD

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Junk!!!

 

Aug 8, 2009 by billyb0673

This is by far the worst Nextel phone that I have ever had. I have been a Nextel customer since 2003. I have had the i90, the i830, and the i836. My i836 was a good phone except the battery life was nothing to write home about. It was lost about 3 months ago. I have the Assurion insurance policy, so I contacted them for a replacement. They sent me the i850. The first one they sent me was a factory re-furb; I couldn't get a signal on it to save my life. I sent it back. They sent me another re-furb. This one wouldn't stay powered up for more than about 30 seconds. I called them back and complained and insisted that they send me a phone that worked, a new phone not someone else's problem (re-furb). Now this one is only about 2 1/2 months old and looks like it's 100 years old. The finish is wearing off, the antena base is cracking, and the flip part of the phone flops back and forth like a flag in the wind. It's, in short, a piece of junk. Also, the signal strength is terrible. I called Sprint/Nextel and told them to fix it or I was just going to eat the early termination fee and go with someone else. They got me in touch with Assurion again. The man who talked to me tonight was very nice and very appologetic. He is going to send me out another phone. I told them "DO NOT send me another re-furb, or another i850. They are sending me an i580. I very much hope that this is a better phone. Although, that wouldn't take much. I had a Motorola brick phone year sgo that was a better phone than this thing. I will say that the graphics screen is kinda cool, and the camera was a nice change for me because it is the first camera phone I have had. But, that little camera does not make up for the bad quality of the phone. It seems to me to be a cheap piece of junk. A two month old phone should not look like it completely falling apart like this one does. Those of you with positive reviews of this phone, I don't see how you could like it. Each his own, I suppose.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


worst phone

 

Jun 4, 2008 by frenchwhorne

has no pros.

cons

bad internet browser
dust easily gets in screen
no easy way to sync to a computer
no flash for camera
no video
bad graphics
no sms sending
junk trial apps
no built-in calculator
small screen
bulky
limited cell service
cant make voice recordings ringtones
no main menu scrolling
useless memo app
unable to enter URL into the mobile browser
usually bad phone connections
bulky antenna
many useless apps
bulky

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sales Warrior Review of the 850

 

Aug 6, 2006 by riverdale rascal

First of all, I am a sales rep in the Hampton Roads area of Va. I use this phone extensively. I am with Nextel. I have used this phone for 4 months now so I have had ample time to evaluate this phone.

Quality of signal has left me wanting. I often drop calls. When I do have a signal, quality of sound is great. I use this phone for business, so here is what I base my pros and cons on:

Pros:

Love the voice memo. When I am on the road and receive a call, I can jump to the voice memo to record my thoughts without having to stop to write down particulars. I can retrieve the notes later.

I like the top buttons for silencing a call when in my holster, if I am with a customer.

The shortcut buttons are easy to set up and makes my life easier when trying to access certain areas of the phone that I use the most.

Like the voice activated dialing. Just wish they would take more than twenty entries. I would utilize this more.

CONS:

Hate the buttons on the keypad. I am often hitting the wrong button due to my thumb being too big. I had the I-730 for the longest time and I liked that keypad better. When you are driving and have to use the keypad to enter a number, you have to be careful to ensure you are entering accurate information.

Miserable reception in this market.

Radio Frequency messes with my wireless router when I am at my desk. Causes a big inconvenience when I have to walk away from my computer due to poor reception and have to take my paperwork to the other side of the room to answer a question for a client on the mobile phone. I often find myself having to call the client back from my land line due to the poor call quality on the mobile line.

Camera is not worth having. Although you can download the pictures to your PC via the data cable fairly easy with the software download from Motorola.

Wishes and Wants:

A way to download the voice memo's to a file format that can be e-mailed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Boost i855

 

Jun 12, 2006 by Sylmar Spartan

I've had this phone for more than a week now. The i855 is a very solid phone. The camera takes good pics at dim places with the "Low Lighting" setting. It supports mp3s, Wav, and Midi ringtones. You can take alot of pictures with this phone, it has 10 MB of memory.

Pros:
-Decent VGA camera
-Good signal
-262k QVGA screen
-LOUD rear speaker
-Relatively light for its size
-Abundance of memory 10 MB
-OK battery life
-Screen readible in direct sunlight
-Messages section are now accessible offline
-and many other Pors that i dont have time to write

*(Some of these cons only refer to the BOOST version*)
Cons:
-No flash for camera
-Completely plastic covering*
-Speaker covering sucks*
-Plastic PTT button*
-No DirecTalk support*
-Sometimes phone will alg and then randomly restart
-Dont buy Mp3 ringtones from Boost/Nextel, they're not loud at all. WAVs are loud.
-Cant get GPS to "Refresh" location

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HOW TO MAKE CAMERA BETTER ON i850

 

Sep 14, 2005 by NEXTELROX123

for all of you who thinks that the camera on this phone sucks..you just have to know the right settings...open the camera... click menu > Camera Setup > and make the Default size XLarge..and Change quality to Fine instead of Normal.. exit the camera and go back..take a second to wipe all the dust on your camera lens with a qtip and a little bit of water.. and i am sure your pics will be crystal digital clear

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Nextel Ive had yet...........

 

Aug 3, 2005 by bda1

Nextel phones Ive owned: i530, i730, i95cl, and now the i850.

Pros:
* Very solid build
* Excellent reception
* Good size and weight
* Good camera quality
* Nice looks imo...reminds me of the older flip nextels like the i90 and i95
* Nice memory amount for java, pics, etc..at 10meg

Cons:
* No calculator (but you can always get a Java calculator)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2