Phone Scoop

printed August 29, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=642

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 7710

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  46  

Average Ratings

4.06
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

N7710 S/W 4.01

 

Jul 25, 2005 by judemarcus

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best PHONE-(PDA/MP3/FMRadio/Camera/Etc)

 

Sep 14, 2005 by jayhomer2004

i bought this phone7710 (version 4.01 - 05-05-2005) last august5 2005. and find it very nice. functionality is great.and things just work out fine. Though i read a lot of negative comments against this unit, i still find no reason to regret...why? because most of their comments arent true.mishandling of this phone is the most common probz,(ofcorz maybe due to old firmware version), it just CONS against nokia, maker of greatest cellphones and gadgets...

if i where you, choose a phone/pda/gadget that fits your lifestyle and yourself. if your an advance user, then go for this, if not, then just find a simple, low cost unit. bcoz all its features were built for tech advance people.

by now im joining the forum.nokia.com for development (j2me and c++ and theme studio). soon ill be sharing w/ you my creation. :-p

Cons:
phone has less software support(apps and themes) unlike my old S60 ver2. unit. apps and themes are sold $10 and more.

for nokia.com -> can you share to us some free ware for this 7710 unit such as themes and games of full version?

thats all folks. Gud luck :D

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


A Wonderful Touch

 

Nov 3, 2005 by spidernet21

Nokia has made a great device, but unfortunately no carrier has selected this great device. It heavily competes with the Treo, Pocket PC, and Blackberry ANY given Sunday (and the rest of the week mind you). I am currently using this phone on T-Mobile GSM/GPRS/EDGE network, which has been great thus far. Do note that it may not work as well on Cingular since they are no longer on the GSM standard of 1900mHz in the US. (In other words, it will work great for some, but not for all since they use BOTH 1900mHz and 850mHz)

Pros:
-Touchscreen allows you to click or travel anywhere, unlike a dedicated key style.
-90MB of memory and expansion slot to increase memory.
-Bye bye ipod, the mp3/aac player is by far superb and can use in conjunction with speakerphone.
-Automatic pulling of email AND attachments with alerts with multiple accounts.
-The web browser is by far the best I've have come across. Mulitple windows, flash, and the opera browser is excellent. Oh, and you can log onto Hotmail. Most PDA's struggle with this. :-)
-Has support for a bluetooth wireless keyboard that will allow faster input for long emails.
-Battery life puts other PDA's to shame. Had to charge the Blackberry twice before the Nokia died. Major points here.
-The camera is outstanding, and the video "will do."

Cons:
-The device could use a faster processor and more ram. It is sufficient and WILL get the job done, but does require patience time to time. Press and hold the esc key for 5secs to clear memory. If you do this, you will have less down time.
-Some say it is big, and yes, it is bigger than your average phone. However, the screen is HUGE. Besides, can you imagine reading email or browsing on a small screen?! NO!
-Series 90 has less apps, but is growing.

Conclustion:
Great phone will powerful features. Missy Elliot had it in her video for a reason; it is HOT! I have not had any major troubles and it has made my life simply "easier." It is my mobile office and mp3 player.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Issues

 

Nov 15, 2005 by vasu4864

I have had this phone for about 3 months now. I thought this was one phone with all features included. But noticed a couple of inconveniences like if you have to dial a number its a painful process. I wish it had an external keypad. Also the phone just froze on me on several occassions. The other thing i also noticed was when i shut the power off and turn in back on, the ringer does not ring even when the profile is set to outdoor and the ringing volume is at 4. This is very strange. I have to actually remove the battery and then do a restart to actually reset the phone to where it starts ringing again. Also, if you do a power on/off some file formats which were supported earlier dont open anymore. Especially the wave files. Again you have to remove the battery and then turn it back on.
I dont know if anybody else is facing the same problem.
I thought i would never change my phone after i had the nokia 7710. I am changing my mind now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome

 

Nov 8, 2005 by p_turney

This phone is an amazing, entertaining phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 7710

 

Mar 2, 2005 by nomad

Bought this phone in February.From day one it resets by itself when changing from one application to another. The clock mysteriously sets itself back in time and date to 2004. Lately the phones vibrator or ing would not work for incoming calls and finally the phone hung up with the screen frozen and lit. Had to take off the back cover and the battery for half an hour before it would work normally. Tried to send this feed back Nokia customer service but after labouriusly filling in all their mandatory field it showed some error and the page was lost. gave up after two tries.
Anyone out there with asimilar problem please let me know.
FIY
*#0000# has the following information:
Vp 02.08.1
08.12.04
RM-12
(c)Nokia

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The SLOWEST phone ever!

 

Feb 23, 2005 by lynch27517

Just purchased a 7710 in China. This phone is so slow that it borders on "unusable." Nokia must do something before releasing any more units because this is pitiful!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


JUST THE BEST PERIOD!!

 

Feb 15, 2005 by cebuboyako

Thank you, Wireless Heaven!
You've shown me the BEST!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THE BEST RADIO PDA CAMERAPHONE

 

Feb 13, 2005 by glinka

Well done !!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2