Phone Scoop

printed August 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=601

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera K9

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  36  

Average Ratings

3.08
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Pretty good.....in 2000!!

 

Jul 9, 2007 by bsrachels

I used to own this phone for virgin mobile service (which i love!) but there are some pros and cons with it

Pros:
good vm service
nice color
backlight is vibrant
battery life was decent

Cons:
no color screen
small screen
games are boring (my opinion)
buttons are small which makes text messaging hard

other wise if your looking for a simple old comfortable to use phone go for this one and virgin mobile in general because they dont surprise you with hidden costs i recommend this phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


pretty nice phone

 

Aug 11, 2006 by iluvmipny888

i have had this phone for a while, but i am finally going to switch to that kyocera jet for amp'd. well, the k9 (which by the way is a bullshit name) is pretty nice if you just want A PHONE. it doesn't have a camera, its just a phone, which is fine for me, but i do want a multimedia phone on prepaid so thats why I'm getting the jet. i usually have 2 to 4 bars, i live in apex, NC. coverage is pretty nice. also the black lighting and flashlight are handy. i love the real music ring tones, and the tetris and brick attack are a bit low standard, but great for late nights when you aren't sleepy and just when your bored on those car trips. the jet looks like it could replace my psp, but this phone probably couldn't. i love texting, and virgin mobile has only .05 C. texting or you can get penny texting. pretty nice. i like the virgin xl, but the jet has a REAL Internet browser, which i am looking forward to. overall its a pretty nice phone, and its nice and reliable. i totally pimped it out with a custom faceplate from a wireless accessories store at the mall and some rhinestones i bought at Claire's. my friends love this phone cause its so small, but they all agree its time for a change :( well ill miss it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


A great phone

 

Jun 21, 2005 by undurable

If you're not up with all the "cool" new features of the newest phones, and could care less about them, this is for you. Sure, it doesn't have color, etc, BUT it gets the job done and it does it well. I get very clear reception for my area and ALWAYS have atleast 3 bars. The features are not too bad, either. Now, the VM site is selling this for 25 dollars. That's a really good price compared to what they did when it first came out.

Pros:
Easy-to-use text messaging
IT'S CHEAP
Nice blacklighting
Cons:
Alarm doesn't work with phone off
Buttons a bit close together

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Starter!

 

Jun 21, 2005 by k9er

I'm thirteen and your looking for a phone for your daughter, well you've found your phone! This phone may not have color, but it has the style! This phone has fun, easy, and simple games to play when your bored. It has a flashlight that is very bright. The ringtones are very loud if you set the ringtone volume. It's easy to type in entries, and was really cheap! It's compact but not too small to handle. It's on a prepaid plan. Which is a major plus. It has superphonic ringtones which is totally awesome. It has a new 10 cents a day plan which I personally think is sweet! Who could resist this deal! Gosh, I wish could give all my friends one, so we could all talk! This is one truely remarkable phone, and it comes with much more. P.S. It says on this sight that it only has 100 numbers (phone capacity) well that's false it has 200 numbers it can store. :) Buy the phone while it's still available. (It's discontinued)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


6+ years, still going strong

 

Jun 27, 2011 by MinimalistGal

My mom got this phone on a pre-paid plan with Virgin Mobile in 11/2004. I "inherited" the phone (my first cell phone) about 1 year later. Fast-forward to now (6/2011) and the phone is STILL going strong. The battery just this week crapped out (only got @5 mins of talk time on a charge), but I got a new battery & it seems fine again. Great basic phone for a basic sort of person (like me!)

PROS: Easy basic phone, no nonsense
CONS: Lint gathers under screen

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not that bad of a phone, simple

 

May 14, 2010 by narn3049

I owned this phone when I had Virgin Mobile. I used that for work mostly. The phone is solid, and good. Back then in the fear of breaking them (after i previously dunked my tnt) I got this. It's a pretty solid phone. I used it a lot and it proved a good phone. Not that bad of a phone, though older it still has some good games, and really solid, good if not great ringtones, and easy to text on for even being a numeric keypad.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Features.....Affordable Price

 

Aug 25, 2006 by bbrndn7

This phone has some awesome features like free wireless web, cool flashlight, and ringtones for the younger crowd. This phone was designed for teenagers in mind. Some of the bad things about it was that it comes with virgin mobile and the quality is bad. I also dropped it in the bathtub by accident and it still worked! It's a good first phone since it's like 20 dollars.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


There is so much better out there...

 

Dec 1, 2005 by thestoiceagle

When I first acquired this phone, it was secondhand because for reasons irrelevant to discuss, my wonderful Nokia 6800 was no longer in my possession. Over the course of four months, it is almost literally being held together by duct tape, bailing wire, and chewing gum!

The antenna came off during use and I had to use duct tape to restick it onto the body. The faceplates are neigh on impossible to remove. The keys got stuck inside the phone and I had to dismantle the phone just to pop them back out. Coming from an excellent 6800 this is a real disappointment. The only hope I hold is that I have a Nextel i830 coming soon for me to replace this piece of junk. I shouldn't complain too venomously, because my cousin let me use this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this k9 is great

 

Nov 21, 2005 by liljon2.0

this fone is very cool i had it for 2 months and it works fine. i don't know what all you people say but it is great. it may not have a camera but it is perfect for beginers in the mobile world. pros should keep off the cool fones and keep with the more highend models. they say it holds up to 100 # but it acually holds 250 for me. my friends love the thing because of it's size and cool ringtones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this phone sucks

 

Oct 11, 2005 by co_Okie

I got this phone because i lost my other one at a friends house and the servisce and the phone sucks it just atomatically makes calls and i lose my mins plus the minuts cost 25 cents. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE buy the samsung p207 its waaaaaaaaay better then this

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2