Phone Scoop

printed September 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=601&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera K9

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  36  

Average Ratings

3.08
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

A great first phone

 

Sep 17, 2005 by chrissyf

I got this phone last year when I was 9.I recommend it for people who don't like to talk much or for kids that only can use it for an emergency. "Santa" got this phone for $20.00.

Pro
>small
>cool colors
>easy to use
>cheap
>bright light

Con
>no color
>small keys
>slipery
>bad ringtones

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My best phone ever

 

Aug 2, 2005 by jje123

this is a really good starter phone here r some pros and cons

pros: Text messaging, prepaid,good downloadable ringtones, blue backlighting, flashlight , games, replace able faceplates!!

Cons: freezes not a color phone ,

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Worst Phone I Have Ever Owned!

 

May 2, 2005 by mikes63737

This is my 4th cell phone, and it is by far the worst one that I have ever owned. I am very embarassed by it. When it's in my pocket at school, the LCD freezes up so that when I take it out I have to remove the battery to reset the phone. The coverage by Virgin Mobile in Hartford, CT is awful! I am outside where the phone gets a full signal and every minute or two it says that the call was dropped. The battery lasts for up to 7.5 days, but on my phone, I'm lucky if I can get to school and back with it. I talk for about 5 minutes and the phone's battery dies. I tried the battery from my KE433 and it's still bad! I got 9 days on my KE433. When it's set to vibrate, it starts making noises, but you can't feel it vibrating. The ringtones are loud, but if you download them, it's "AM" quality. The included ringtones are really bad. If you are a teenager looking for a new phone, go to T-Mobile. They charge less money per minute, and they have much better phones than Virgin Mobile does. Do yourself a favor and STOP looking at this phone. It's the worst phone ever!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


k9 dirt

 

Jun 5, 2005 by mrr426

This phone was an OK of a phone i had it for only 4 months but i got all the talking in i could. The mad thing about this phone is that it has a monocrome screen. This phone's screen will scratch and you will get soo much dirt under the screen, thank the lord there is a way to get it out. you pop off the faceplate and than get a knife and ho under the screen side and pop the actual screen off and whipe it down ... good luck

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Great Basic Phone For Anyone

 

Dec 29, 2004 by soundless

I had this phone for a long time before I switched to a different plan. I enjoyed Virgin Mobile's Pay As You Go convienence. Anytime you needed minutes you just got a Top Up Card. The phone quality is very good. I must agree that battery life was not as long as advertised but mine lasted longer than 24 hours standby. The flashlight was a cool feature and no one can resist Tetris. You should check out Virgin's other phone's like the v7 Flasher Camera Phone, you won't be sorry!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


OK phone if you ask me

 

Jul 26, 2005 by victor28

Pros-has loud ringer,ok games,custom tones,good price.

CONs-no color,easy to ruin(not a flip),and it has no voice records.

Virgin mobiles ok.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


~STINKS~

 

Jul 11, 2005 by sas199923

This phone is a peice of crap! It stinks.... I would write pros and cons but i just did and accidentaly hit reset form but the only good thing about this phone is that it has a loud ringer. Dont buy this

Virgin Mobile makes you pay for little things like:
Checking Voicemail
Checking Balance
Accessing ringtone downloads (and as you go further in they ask you to pay more)
25/10 cents a minute (includes voicemail)

I'm telling you this phone really is for virgins, and people who just want a phone to talk

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I'll Take a Phone That Works Anyday

 

Apr 10, 2005 by IrisMG

I've had my K9 for six months, I keep it nice in a leather case. I use the Happy Cricket ringtone for my best friend. I use mine to make calls, not statements. PROS: Love the blue backlighting. Love the bar style over flip. No dropped calls at home or work. CONS: I wish the SEND and OFF buttons were raised a little so that I could answer the phone without needing to look at it. Also could use a longer battery, but on the other hand, I don't get three hour phone calls that often. Finally, if there were a way to make it wireless headset compatible, that would be icing on the cake. For what I bought it for, however, it works great and reliably. I'll take a phone that works over a phone that's cool any day.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not bad really for a pre-paid phone...

 

Dec 14, 2004 by VirginiaSlim

Forget what the rest said about it being bad,and that user who convinces all not to get it over a damn "telephone styled" ringtone! Who uses that anyway?
Just download more from a site.
Yeah this phone isn't "hot stuff" or "cool video phone included",but for the teen or young adult in college who wants to stay connected it's great. I'm a 25 year old college student,who doesn't have money for all the flashy features. I just wanted a decent phone with basic features of today. If you look around for pre-paid phones most don't have the features that Virginmobile pre-paid has. I had Tracfone Wireless and Freeup from Verizon,so I know!I got this phone for X-Mas from Radioshack. The flashlite thing is okay for looking for keys on the car floor. Dim though for much else. Ringtones aren't bad but some are annoyigly highpriced on Virgin/MTV's site or just annoying. But there's free ones. The keypad is not as good as some,but better than Tracfone models which are hard. The service itself isn't too bad either. About the same as Freeup and better than Tracfone. I found this thing has WAP or net access built in,which is cool although not in color and limited. Tweaking allowed me access to AIM though. I do like that it lets me get song info from Virginmobile and funny wakeup calls from time to time from Spongebob and the Comedy Central cast. Just hold the phone up to a song and bam! Cool too,is that I changed the Virginmobile wallpaper and boring blue backlight to like purple-ish and gave it a X-Mas tree background and it'll play JINGLE BELLS when it rings. Hell yeah I'm festive okay?
This phone has some coolness to it,if you get yours to work for you. If you get a lemon well....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Superstar Phone

 

Dec 6, 2004 by calling_in_dead

Looks good and sounds even better! Blue backlighting is hott! One of the only phones I know of with Superphonic Ringtones - download actual song clips, instead of cheesy midi versions. Built-in flashlight is ultra handy, and 3 pre-loaded games are fun on the run!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1