Phone Scoop

printed December 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=535&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera SoHo KX1

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.24
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5

Well......

 

Apr 22, 2005 by porkchopf150

I got this phone the first day verizon came out with it. The four days i had it, it never dropped a call, and functioned well most of the time. The software did lock up on me three times,haveing to remove the battery to reset the phone. Other than the lock ups, I was pretty satisfied with it overall. I ended up takeing the phone back,tradeing it for a lg vx 8000. This would be a perfect phone for a teenager or someone starting out with cell phones or wants something basic in a color phone.

Pro's:
Good Reception.
Good sounding speaker phone.
Felt Sturdy.
Nice color.
Reasonabley priced.

Cons:
Battery life was fair, seen better.
No pull out antenna,Just a stub.
No belt clip provided with phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


P.o.s. ththe tenth degree.

 

Oct 11, 2006 by chocolateman85006

I had to take this phone back 6 times. Wtf?! Should a person have to go through all of that?

Pros:
It was in color

Cons:
It was under Alltel's service
No camera
Crappy reception
Can't charge and talk at the same time (That's a Kyocera thing)

The phone got me to where I am now; but man, was it crappy!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


SOHO is a decent phone

 

Jan 18, 2006 by gmoney44

SOHO is So So. I like the menus, changeable faceplates. The phone is tough I have a tendency to be rough on phones, due to my usage and activities. Has withstood a lot.

I don't like the reception I have gotten on the phone the 2325 was much better. Not for certain if the reception is me or alltel.

Pretty good phone, but from what I have seen with others phones if you have alltel you might want to get a nokia or motorola in a flip.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Junk

 

Jun 27, 2005 by ereview

KX1v SoHo has a feature set of a solid compact basic tri mode phone, but when I started using it, I realized that the sound quality on this one was the worst I've ever heard.

The phone is made in Mexico by former Qualcomm Wireless division acquired by Kyocera.

I am using cell phones for many years and I had quite a few of them (including Qualcomm phones) and the Kyocera's sound quality is the worst I've ever experienced.

While people can hear me, they often complain that my voice sounds like it's coming out of a tunnel. .
On my end I can barely recognize my friends' voices, they sound as if they were coming out of a tin can and often get chopped and garbled. And all this when the phone shows excellent signal strength.

It's not a defective phone, I've got four KX1v SoHo phones for my family plan. The phones are used in different cities and all of them have the same problem or should I say a design flaw.

It's not the phone's speaker problem either since the sound quality doesn't improve when I am using a pretty high end headset with it.
I also compared the phone with my coworker's LG VX6100 and the LG sounded much better and was not chopping words like Kyocera did.

While the phone looks small, it's pretty thick which makes it quite difficult to keep in your pocket, also its antenna sticks far out and is likely to get caught in something and break. It's pretty narrow and it can probably explain it's tiny navigation buttons.

I think it's pointless to discuss the phones extra features when it cannot perform basic operation the phones are made for, but I'll give it one star for the tip calculator.
I am sending this junk back.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Kyocera not what expected

 

Jan 3, 2006 by muzika0905

I work for a wireless company and have learned and used most of the phones. The Kyocera SoHo has had several problems and have been returned many times due to bad reception that the phone carries.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SOHO IS THE BEST

 

Sep 28, 2005 by cpcdara

i work for a indirect cell phone company and i got my phone through alltel and i have not had any problems with it at all the signal is great no matter where i am i have not had any dead spots yet. it is a great phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice Phone

 

Jul 21, 2005 by Makaveli258

I use to have this phone before I got my Motorola E815

PROs:
Nice and small phone
Nice color lcd screen (inside)
User-friendly interface
Speakerphone

Cons:
Had it for a week so didn't notice any

Over all ver nice phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone

 

Jun 21, 2005 by johnathan757

nice free alltel phone nice speaker external caller i.d. unique

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nice basic phone with good features

 

Apr 29, 2005 by nycphoner

Just purchased this phone 5 days ago from Verizon in New York - so far so good.

Pros:
1) Good speakerphone
2) Good reception
3) Nice keypad lighting
4) Nice tools
5) Fast charging time

Cons:
1) Alarm only works when phone is on
2) No battery low indicator or beep
3) Slow scroll to find #'s on contact screen
4) Verizon issue - must purchase Get It Now to check POP3 e-mail (which salesman did not tell me before purchasing, found out when I called Verizon tech!)

Overall - nice phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


You get what you pay for...sometimes.

 

Jun 10, 2006 by laurenszoo

I, unfortunately, got this phone about a year ago when it was a $70 phone. Now, you can pretty much get them for cheap or even free at a retail store. I would never spend money on this phone. It has been a headache from the start, and I just recently ditched it.

PROS: good reception (Alltel in Mobile, AL), small size, menus are set up logically

CONS: speaker phone went out after only two months, no battery life after about four months, freezes up for no apparent reason, after five months caller id started screwing up(wrong id would show up for the caller), awkward vertical cover screen, scratches way too easily, antenna fell off twice in one year(I was not overly abusive to this phone), phone actually refused to charge on its own after eight months(had to charge battery out of phone on a battery charger), ringtones were pretty bad, I could go on for days...

It would probably be a good first phone for a kid since they will probably want a new one in a year; however, I have a pretty good track record with keeping phone until they just give out from old age. I don't really like to replace them every year.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1