Phone Scoop

printed July 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2320&r=40325

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Droid

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.25
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1...567 8 9101112
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Motorola Droid A855

 

Nov 7, 2013 by Mark_S

Being that this phone is the foundation for many more of this line to come, the reviews have definitely been mixed. For a phone of this type and the time of its release, it is a great phone.
Everything is great, even the battery and camera for this type of Android device. Interface is slower because at release time phones were mostly 3G and the processor was not one of those quad-cores that are out now.
Keyboard I find is the worst layout tactile-wise. Very flat and flush keys cause double-letter errors frequently and stubby fingered individuals need to exercise patience.
Then again the touch-screen more that compensates. Guess it comes down to personal preference and taste. Data works well despite the slower UI and processor. Just make sure unnecessary apps are deactivated which also contributes to better battery life as well. Overall a great high-end CDMA device for its time and still can be used today for those that do not demand lightning speed and the utmost in bells and whistles. There are newer Droid models to choose from but the original stands the test of time.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SKYPE

 

Feb 29, 2012 by VICTOR425

Does Skype work on this phone?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


droid 1

 

Jun 14, 2011 by chris2112617

when i first got the phone i love it. because it could run with the iphone.

year half later. i hate this phone apps keeps force closing, freezes up all the time. Any app i use does it.
i drop it once and the corner of screen is cracked.

pro's

has keyboard
lot of apps
battery life is good
navigation it awesome.

con's
3g comes and go's
all apps force close
keeps freezing up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Never Going Back

 

Jan 16, 2011 by WorkingOnWise

First, the only reason I rated it so low is because it is 2011 and there are wayyyyy better representations of an Android based phone today. This review is more about Android 2.2 that about the Droid, but the phone is in fact the best I have ever had.
But, I had to have a PDA, and cant afford a contract and such. My cell now is a walmart cheapo. I found my Droid at a flea market for $80, and since I was seeing 70-125 for a straight PDA, it was a no-brainer to buy the Droid. It took all of 20 minutes for me to question how I ever lived without Android.
Apps to do everything. The thing takes my PULSE!!!! Great camera for everyday use, and being able to upload a video i take on the phone, from the phone, is awesome!
It has no service right now, so everything I am doing with it is either no internet connection, of WIFI. Simply awesome. Contacts, calendar, tasks, email, CRM, diary, health and fitness tracking, camera amd camcorder, music player (streamed off the net or my own music), pic viewer, navigation (without connection if u get the right app and do a bit of work) and on and on. And it performs flawlessly! The 550mhz cpu struggles a bit sometimes, but with the current Andriods sporting 1GHZ dual cores, I don't think lag is an issue anymore.
I finally have a device that does everything I need it to do, and it does it all very well. It finally is a PC replacement for 70% of my work! Oh, and the voice recognition vie Google is so good I can dictate my book to my cell, upload it via wifi to google docs and share it with my publisher... all from my cell! Oh, and since Google yanked Docs offline support, Android is the ONLY platform you can seamlessly work with Google documents both online and offline.
No, there really wasn't life before Android!
And yes, I have used WinMo, Palm, iPhone and Symbian, and Nokias Maemo and whatever is on the N900. None of it holds a candle to Android 2.2

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Junk! get a Droid 2

 

Dec 3, 2010 by Reddevil1876

after going through 3 phones being replaced by manufactures warranty Verizon upgraded me to a Droid 2 and I love it.

- physical keyboard fell apart
- horrible battery life
- wouldn't accept software updates
- poor signal/reception
- slider felt loose and cheap
- keyboard layout poor
- screen rotate would not work

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My First Smart Phone

 

Oct 17, 2010 by waffletrip

This is the first smart phone I have gotten and I'm glad chose the Motorola Droid.

Pros:
-Great screen
-full slide out key pad
-good size for me
-Lots of Apps and features
-I like this over the Iphone
-Good camera for a phone

Cons:
-Does get warm during calls, but all my phones have.
-Battery life during heavy usage (although, pretty good when compared to my GF Black Berry Storm2)
-The interface does lag at times (Iphone is more smooth when it comes to that)

Bottom Line:
I liked Motorola when they first started making cell phones... then they started making not so good phones for a while. This was my first Moto in a while and I must say, I'm impressed. Good Job Motorola for making such a good phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Shouldn't be considered a Smartphone!

 

Oct 1, 2010 by scott141

I got this phone dec of 09 and I had that phone for a good 7 months till I traded it on craigslist for a blackberry storm 2. I mean thats pretty much says it all.

I have to say the only pro about this phone was the free gps that the phone offered. This phone in my eyes was very far off from the title smartphone the specs of the phone screams amazing and versatile but the actual use when you get into the meat and potatoes really sucked I gotta say.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Fantastic Phone....

 

Jul 25, 2010 by sam912

This is probably the best overall phone that I have ever owned. This is my second Android OS phone. I had an Incredible, which I liked, but was not impressed with the look and feel of the hardware and I wanted a key board.

Pros:

-Android OS
-Call Quality
-Volume
-Reception
-Screen

Cons:

-Lags from time to time if too many programs are open
-No mobile broad band

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not the best...

 

Jul 7, 2010 by likfishn

The phone has it's issues...
This phone has great potential however, I have folks repeatedly tell me that they can't hear me and it doesn't matter where I am. I have a verizon cell tower inside the building where I work so it's not the signal. This is from many different callers.
The battery life stinks unless:
You have an app killer and use it after every function. This is an absolutely ridiculous function to have to do. Even after getting a phone call, you have to undo the screen lock and push the app killer widget to save your battery life. I have forgot to do this and my battery is dead in 30 minutes. (no kidding)
The screen is an absolute dirt magnet.

The browser and speed is second to none.
Not sure why Google can't fix the problem with the apps always running.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


perfection has a name!

 

Jul 3, 2010 by sleven kelevra

Although this phone isn't perfect it honestly is close. Blazing fast with an amazing screen.

pros: screen
Apps are amazing
Keyboard after 3 days of usage is already close to the comfort of my env touch :)
Mulitasking is epic
On screen keyboard extremely user friendfly
And please trust me lots and lots more

Cons: sadly just like avatar the last air bender I ws dissapointed haha. But only with the camera quality. In some lighting my env touch 3.2 megapexil looked better than that of the droids. Video quality maes up for it somewhat.

Bottom line....get the freggin phone! You won't be sorry haha

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1...567 8 9101112

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2